Search for articles on your topic:
For the most recent information regarding your topic you will want to look for articles. These can be found in the periodical databases covering your subject. For more databases, see the (FTT Subject Guide).
Academic Search Premier – Coverage 1975- - a scholarly full text database including indexes and abstracts.
Film Literature Index – Coverage 1976-2001 – contains citations to film, television, and video articles, reviews and book reviews.
Expanded Academic ASAP – Coverage 1980-current – Contains articles in scholarly journals and general interest articles.
MLA Directory of Periodicals - Presents detailed information on more than 5,800 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
MLA International Bibliography - The MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures provides citations of journal articles, ... [more] books, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film since 1926.
Periodicals Index Online – Coverage from beginning thru 1995 – Index to articles in arts, humanities, and the social sciences.
Project Muse: Searchable collection of over 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts and social sciences.
Reader's Guide Retrospective: Coverage 1890-1982 -- Coverage of most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
Online Access to Reviews in Newspapers –
Lexus Nexis Academic – newspapers and magazines from 1980-
Select “Arts and Sports” and news source “Book, Movie, Music, and Play Reviews”
Proquest Historical – can be searched as one database or as individual titles
Boston Globe (1872-1923), Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), Los Angeles Times (1881-1985), New York Times (1851-2003), Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), Washington Post (1877-1990)
If the article you find is not available as a full text article don't fret! You can get that article throught the Interlibrary Loan department. This service is easy to use and it is free. All you have to do is click on the "Find Text" button or go to the ILL website and use this form.
Please keep in mind your timeframe. Generally articles can be retrieved in two-three days. Books, however, can take up to a couple of weeks or more. Don't wait until the last minute to make your requests! In most cases articles will be e-mailed to the address you provide so make sure that if you have used the service before that your information is current. If you have not used ILL before be sure to put in an email address that you check often.
Interlibrary loan items that do not come to you via your email can be picked up at the circulation desk in the library. The circulation desk hours can be found here.