Facts
Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.
---- Online
- CQ researcher
- weekly reports on contemporary issues, a great place to start
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
- Oxford reference online Premium
- access to dozens of Oxford University Press online reference tools
- Gale virtual reference library
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- Reference Universe
- access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
- access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
- Wikipedia:
- Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions especially conflicts situations. Use it but use it with caution!
Selected examples of print reference sources. All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library)
- Encyclopedia of the stateless nations D 860 .M56 2002
- The Penguin atlas of diasporas GN 370 .C43 1995
- Encyclopedia of modern ethnic conflicts GN 496 .E56 2003
- Encyclopedia of modern separatist movements HM 716 .H48 2000
- Historical dictionary of refugee and disaster relief organizations HV 640 .G66 2000
- The state of the world's refugees, 2000 HV 640 .S675 2000b
- Immigration and asylum: from 1900 to the present JV 6012 .I56 2005
- Encyclopedia of diasporas JV 6225 .E53 2005
- Poverty, gender and migration JV 6347 .P68 2006
- Facts about American immigration JV 6465 .B73 2001
- Encyclopedia of American immigration JV 6465 .E53 2001
- The handbook of international migration JV 6465 .H25 1999
- World at risk: a global issues sourcebook. JZ 1242 .W67 2002
Stats
Here is a selection of statistical sources of potential value for Peace Studies research and Anthropology. Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by following the path "Reference Shelf | Data, statistics and survey results" or by going directly to Data, statistics and survey results.
- United Nations Statistics Division (demongraphics)
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics (cultural)
- World development indicators (economic)
- Africa Development Indicators (economic)
- Source OECD (economic)
- Infonation Advanced (graphs)
- Lexis/Nexis Statistical (all categories, charts)
- LexisNexis statistical datasets (5.2 billion data points)
MAPS
- A to Z maps online (political, physical, outline & others)
- United Nations Cartographic Section (all regions but not all countries)
- All the Worlds Maps (detail and type vary)
- Atlapedia Online (regional)
- Blank & Outline Maps (outline only)
- Google Earth (no printing)
In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).


|
