Facts
Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.
International Political Economy
- CQ Global Researcher
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
- Europa world
- CIA World Factbook
- Economist Intelligence Unit
- Business Operations Report -- Concise fortnightly business briefing
- Country Commerce -- Guide to business ... environment, regulatory framework, trading risks, key economic indicators, including level of foreign direct investment
- Country Finance -- In-depth analysis of national financial conditions and instruments, comprehensive guide on how to maximize return on overseas investments, case studies of foreign and domestic companies.
- Country Monitor -- Weekly briefings which highlight key developments from around the world affecting global business.
- IHS Jane's defense and security intelligence and analysis Security: Country risk
-
- Encyclopedia of applied developmental science. HESB Ref. HQ 767.84 .E52 2005
- Encyclopedia of education and human development. HESB Ref. LB 15 .E473 2005
- The Statesman's Yearbook. HESB REF JA51 .ST29
- Political Risk Yearbook. (e.g. Vol. 8 Central & South Asia) HESB REFJQ 98 .A1 P64
General
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
- access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
- Oxford reference online Premium
- access to dozens of Oxford University Press online reference tools
- Gale virtual reference library
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- e.g., Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education, 2009
- Reference Universe
- access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
- access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
- Wikipedia:
- Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions especially conflicts situations. Use it but use it with caution!
Stats - U.S.
Major Sources for Domestic U.S. Statistics
- Statistical Abstract (U.S. Census Bureau) (stats with cites)
- Proquest Statistical Datasets (data sets & graphs)
- Proquest Statistical (stats, charts & tables)
- Polling the Nations (public opinion stats)
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) (data sets)
- USA.gov > Data and Statistics (Find data and statistics by topic)
- Finding data & statistics (Subject Guide)
Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.
Stats - International
- United Nations Statistics Division (demongraphic stats)
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics (cultural stats)
- International Financial Statistics Online Service (IMF financial stats)
- World Development Indicators (economic stats)
- Economist Intelligence Unit (See country reports)
- Infonation Advanced (stats and graphs)
- OECD iLibrary (economic stats)
- Human Development Reports
- World Bank Data
- The World Factbook (CIA)
- World Christian Database (religious affiliation)
- World Religion Database (religious affiliation)
- Finding data & statistics (Subject Guide)
Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.
MAPS
- A to Z maps online (political, physical, outline & others)
- United Nations Cartographic Section (all regions but not all countries)
- All the Worlds Maps (detail and type vary)
- Atlapedia Online (regional)
- Blank & Outline Maps (outline only)
- Google Earth (no printing)
In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).


|
