FACTS
Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.
ONLINE
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
- recent, authoritative general encyclopedia of peace, conflict, justice, etc.
- Political Handbook of the World
- Country by country assessment (from CQ, Congressionial Quarterly)
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
- access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
- Oxford reference online Premium
- access to dozens of Oxford University Press online reference tools
- Gale virtual reference library
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- Reference Universe
- access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
- access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
- Wikipedia:
- Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions especially conflicts situations. Use it but use it with caution!
PAPER
Examples of reference tools available in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).
- The Palgrave concise historical atlas of Eastern Europe, 2001.
- G 2081 .S1 H8 2001 Non-Circulating
- The Europa world year book.1989-
- JA 51 .E89 Non-Circulating
- The International year book and statesmen's who's who. [1953-
- JA 51 .E89 Non-Circulating
- The concise encyclopedia of democracy, 2000.
- JC 423 .C667 2000 Non-Circulating
- Encyclopedia of democratic thought, 2001.
- JC 423 .E54 2001 Non-Circulating
- European political facts, 1900-1996, 1998.
- JN 12 .C637 1998 Non-Circulating
- Political risk yearbook. Vol. 7, East Europe.
- JN 96 .A1 P64 Non-Circulating
- Elections and parties in new European democracies, 2003.
- JN 96 .A95 R67 2003 Non-Circulating
- World at risk : a global issues sourcebook, 2002.
- JZ 1242 .W67 2002 Non-Circulating
MAPS
- A to Z maps online (political, physical, outline & others)
- United Nations Cartographic Section (all regions but not all countries)
- All the Worlds Maps (detail and type vary)
- Atlapedia Online (regional)
- Blank & Outline Maps (outline only)
- Google Earth (no printing)
In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).
STATS
- Statistical Abstract (U.S. Census Bureau)
- LexisNexis Statistical Datasets (data sets & graphs)
- LexisNexis Statistical (charts & tables)
- Polling the Nations (public opinion)
- United Nations Statistics Division (demongraphics)
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics (cultural)
- International Financial Statistics Online Srvice (IMF financial)
- World Development Indicators (economic)
- Infonation Advanced (graphs)
- OECD iLibrary (economic)


|
