Facts
Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.
---- Online
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- Oxford international encyclopedia of peace
- Political handbook of the world
- Europa world
- CQ Researcher
- Oxford reference online Premium
- Blackwell reference online
- Gale virtual reference library
- Reference Universe
- Wikipedia
- Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect when it comes to "how and why" questions especially those involving conflict situations. Use it but use it with caution!
Selected examples of print reference sources. All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library)
- Encyclopedia of the stateless nations D 860 .M56 2002
- The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures F 1218.6 .O95 2001
- Encyclopedia of anthropology GN 11 .E63 2006
- Ethnic cultures of the world: a statistical reference GN 495.4 .P37 1997
- Encyclopedia of modern ethnic conflicts GN 496 .E56 2003
- National cultures of the world: a statistical reference HA 155 .P37 1997
- Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict HM 291 .E625 2008
- Encyclopedia of modern separatist movements HM 716 .H48 2000
- World at risk: a global issues sourcebook. JZ 1242 .W67 2002
- World encyclopedia of peace JZ 5533 .W67 1999
- Encyclopaedia of war, peace and global security JZ 5588 .E53 2005
MAPS
- A to Z maps online (political, physical, outline & others)
- United Nations Cartographic Section (all regions but not all countries)
- All the Worlds Maps (detail and type vary)
- Atlapedia Online (regional)
- Blank & Outline Maps (outline only)
- Google Earth (no printing)
- ONCs (Operational Navigation Charts - small scale with worldwide coverage)
- "Google" "Operational Navigation Charts" and select vendor OR
- Consult the Libraries map collection
In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).
Stats
Here is a selection of statistical sources of potential value for Peace Studies research and Anthropology. Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by following the path "Reference Shelf | Data, statistics and survey results" or by going directly to Data, statistics and survey results.
- United Nations Statistics Division (demongraphics)
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics (cultural)
- World development indicators (economic)
- Africa Development Indicators (economic)
- Source OECD (economic)
- Infonation Advanced (graphs)
- Lexis/Nexis Statistical (all categories, charts)
- LexisNexis statistical datasets (5.2 billion data points)
Additional Resources
- Anthropology subject page
- Sociology subject page
- All Subject Pages


|
