Facts
Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any historical topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.
ONLINE
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- Oxford reference online Premium
- Gale virtual reference library
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- Wikipedia:
- Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions -- especially conflicts situations. Use it -- but use it with caution!
PAPER
Selected examples of print reference sources. All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library). Browsing the reference collection using the examples listed below as starting points can be very effective.
-
Annual Register... 1758 - Hesburgh Library General Collection D 2 .An78 & Hesb Ref
-
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, (60 vols) 2004. Hesb Ref DA 28 .O95 2004
- Dictionary of American History, 3rd Ed., (14 vols) 2003. Hesb Ref E 174 .D52 2003
- Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates E 174.5 .C31997
Maps
ONLINE
- A to Z maps online (political, physical, outline & others)
- All the Worlds Maps (detail and type vary)
- Atlapedia Online (regional)
- Blank & Outline Maps (outline only)
- Google Earth (no printing)
Examples of specialized atlases available in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection. The Libraries also have a collection of large, detailed maps published by various U.S. government agencies.
- The Routledge atlas of African American history E 185 .E125 2000
- Historical atlas of the United States G 1201 .S1 H57 2003
- Times Atlas of World History Atlas Oversize Cases G 1030 .T54 1994


|
