MARK 30500: Advertising and Promotion (Moore)

Company, Brand, and Industry Profiles

Company Profiles

  

Business Insights: Essentials

  • GREAT company histories
  • Analyst reports available from ‘Investment Reports’ link in "Related Content" section
  • Rankings, products, and associations relevant to company (when available, as not all companies are ranked or appear in ranking lists)
  • SWOT analysis from GlobalData (not available for all companies)

 

Factiva

  • Select 'Companies/Markets' tab from top, then 'Company'
  • Can quickly scan articles by specific topic about a company
  • Quick download of ‘Company Report’ in PDF

 

LexisNexis Academic

  • ‘Company Dossier’ includes brands, competitors, subsidiaries, intellectual property information, and more
  • Can find some information on private companies as well as international firms
  • “Analyst Reports” link from 'Financials' section on left side of screen

 

Value Line Investment Survey and Research Center

  • One-page reports including stock charts, historical key financial figures, business background, recent developments, and commentaries on 1,500 companies
  • Focus is financial information, but recent developments can be useful 

 

Mergent Online

  • Provides information for the largest U.S. companies and over 6,700 non-U.S. corporations in 107 countries
  • Financial data, annual reports, news, and stock reports are some of the types of information included
  • On the Basic Search tab, search for a company by name or ticker symbol

 

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

  • Includes SWOT analysis for company (if available)

 

Market Research Reports

 

MarketResearch.com Academic 

  • Thousands of full-text market research reports, many with global coverage
  • Includes reports within categories such as business services, consumer goods, food and beverages, life sciences, demographics, and technology/media
  • Reports can be as long as 300 pages and require Acrobat Reader to view



Mintel Oxygen

  • Reports cover US and international (primarily European) marketplaces
  • Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles
  • Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market
  • At time of login, you will be asked to read CONDITIONS OF USE - ACADEMIC and click the "I Agree" button," to access the product.
  • Requires one-time creation of an individual profile.  Use your nd.edu e-mail address when creating your profile.


PassPort GMID

  • Global in scope and provides business-related statistics, market research reports, and more
  • Coverage includes information on 205 countries, their consumers, and markets, with extended data and analysis for 80 countries 
  • Identify and compare statistics/reports for demographic, business strategy, market, consumer, industry, and company research

 

Industry Profiles

 

The following sources contain information about industries. Information available may include such things as background, trends, projections, market share, trade associations, sales figures, etc. The amount of information will vary by industry.

 

IBISWorld

  • Wider range of industries covered than Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
  • Some of the many sections in a report include:
    • Industry Outlook
    • Industry Life Cycle
    • Products & Markets
    • Operating Conditions


Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage

  • Contains Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys, a quarterly publication that provides excellent profiles of 55 major U.S. industries and their leading companies
  • Some of the many sections in a report include:
    • Current Environment
    • Industry Trends
    • Key Industry Ratios and Statistics
  • From within NetAdvantage, select 'Industries' from the tabs at the top of the screen. From the 'Industry Surveys' pull-down menu, select an industry.
  • When you are viewing an industry report, look near the top of the screen for 'Archived Surveys.' Looking at these can give you some history about an industry.


Business Insights: Essentials

  • In-depth industry profiles from such publications as Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries, Encyclopedia of American Industries, and Encyclopedia of Global Industries
  • Looking at the 'Associations' for an industry can lead you to other potential sources of information about an industry

 

Mergent Online

  • Source of industry information at broad geographic level- North America, Asia Pacific, and Europe
  • To search for an industry, select the Report Search tab, and then select an industry and region from the pull down menus
Last Update: January 23, 2013 17:47 | Tagged with: advertising promotion marketing