AFST 20613: African American Politics

Primary Sources

A primary source is a document or other sort of evidence written or created during the time under study, or by one of the persons or organizations directly involved in the event. It can be a textual document or an artifact; it can be in any format such as print, digital or microfilm.  Some examples are : Diaries, journals, speeches, interviews, letters, memos, manuscripts, sermons, newspaper accounts, records of organizations or government bodies, photographs, paintings, drawings.  See also:  Primary Source Research at Notre Dame

 American black journal   Recognizing the unique historical value of the 40 year run of the series now known as American Black Journal, Detroit Public Television (DPTV) has worked with Michigan State University (MSU) to develop a $1.4 million plan to catalog, preserve, and provide broad public access to the entire corpus of the shows

American history in video  Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles

Black thought and culture   Source for the published works of numerous historically important black leaders. Along with well-known works, the collection features approximately 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive and never before published material.

Declassified documents reference system  The database ranges from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970s. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others.

Presidential recordings of Lyndon B. Johnson  Consists of three series: War on Poverty, 1964 (edited by Guian A. McKee); Civil Rights, 1964 (edited by Kent B. Germany); and Vietnam, 1964-65.

Newspapers:

America's historical newspapers  Allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922 [and beyond], including titles from all 50 states. African American and Hispanic newspapers can be searched as distinct collections.

Ethnic NewsWatch  Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.

LexisNexis academic
Newspaper coverage 1980-current; also includes legal material

Nineteenth century U.S. newspapers   Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles;

ProQuest historical newspapers  Full text of major English-language newspapers, including the following African-American newspapers:

Atlanta Daily World: 1931-2003 
Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975) 
Los Angeles Sentinel: 1934-2005 
New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 
Pittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002

See also: Newspapers: A Research Guide

 

 

 

Last Update: August 29, 2012 15:26