U.S. Gov. Docs
- USA.gov
- Docs from all branches of U.S. government
- State. local and tribal docs.
- ProQuest Congressional
- Congressional branch docs
- Digitized "Serial Set"
- Thomas (Library of Congress)
- Congressional docs
- Congressional docs
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
- Executive branch docs
- Executive branch docs
- GPO Access
- Executive, legislative and judicial branch docs
- Only publications of the Government Printing Office (GPO)
- Digital National Security Archive
- Previously classified executive branch docs
- Declassified Documents Reference System
- Previously classified executive branch docs
- Foreign Relations of the United States (Dept. of State)
- Online from 1968
- For pre- 1969 see Hesbugh General Collection JX 233 .A3
Non U.S Gov. Docs
The following webpage contains several regional guides to non-U.S. governments and their publications.
- University of Michigan Library
- http://guides.lib.umich.edu/cat.php?cid=1471
Alterately "Googling" the official or common name of the country and a topic or agency name and limiting your search to the .gov domain and the country code using the "Advanced Search" option should usually provide a link to official publications.
For example a search for < ("united kingdom" OR British) and foreign and site: .gov, .uk > retreives British Foreign Commonwealth Office (FCO) Home at http://www.fco.gov.uk/en as your first hit.
A list of Internet country codes is available at Internet Assigned Number Authroity (IANA) "Root Zone Database" page at http://www.iana.org/domains/root/db/ .
In addition to governemnt documents increasingly being made available on the Web, Notre Dame has several online and print collections of documents that may be found by searching Catalog Plus or Catalog Classic (ND Catalog) or by using the Databases tab on the Libraries homepage.
Sample Collections
United Nations
United Nations documents may be located online and on microfiche using Access UN and in paper using the Catalog Plus or Catalog Classic (ND Catalog).
- Access UN
- Indexes UN documents from 1946 to date
- Contains the fulltest of many documents
- Provides UN documents number for documents in the Hesburgh Library Microtext Collection (Lower Level)
Additional documents may located or identified at the UN and affiliate organization websites.
- Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
- International Court of Justice (ICJ)
- International Labour Organization (ILO)
- United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
- United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
- United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, Office of the (UNHCR)
- World Trade Organization (WTO)
- World Health Organization (WHO)
See Alphabetic Index of Websites of the United Nations System of Organizations for additional organizations.
IGOs
A helpful directory listing IGOs can be found in::
Open Directory
- Path: Open Directory > Society > Government > Mulltilateral > Regional
- http://www.dmoz.org/Society/Government/Multilateral/Regional/
Another means of accessing IGO publications is to "Google" their name (i.e., search for the name of the group enclosed in parentheses, e.g., "european union" and then use the navigation or search system of their web site. Reports and analysis from IGOs are often available free of charge from their websites.
NGOs
An excellent guide to locating NGOs and their documents can be found at:
- University of Michigan Libraries Research Guide: NGOs
- http://guides.lib.umich.edu/ngo
Another means of accessing NGO publications is to "Google" their name (i.e., search for the name of the group enclosed in parentheses, e.g., "human rights watch" or "amnesty international") and then use the navigation or search system of their web site. Reports and analysis from NGOs are often available free of charge from their websites since part of their mission is often to disseminate vital information to the general public. In many cases we have older publications in paper or microfilm.
For example:
Amnesty International Country Reports
- Online at http://www.amnesty.org/
- 1990-1991 to date
- Microforms [Lower Level] Serial Microfiche Collection (Microfiche S91)
- Section A: Country Dossiers, 1975-1986
- Section A: Country Dossiers, 1988-1993
- Section A: Country Dossiers, 1998-2009
- Section B: Publications, 1962-1986
- Section B: Publications, 1988-1992
- Section B: Publications, 1997-2009


|
