Getting Started - Articles
OneSearch
OneSearch is a brand new service as of August 2012.
- It allows you to search simultaneously for books documents, videos, etc. AND articles in journals, magazines, periodicals and newspapers.
- It includes records from Notre Dame's Hesburgh Libraries and the Kresge Law Library -- and from the Bethel, Holy Cross and St.Mary's College libraries.
- It does not yet contain all of our periodial (journals, magazines and newspapers) subcriptions.
- If you don't find books that you need, try searching in the ND Catalog or Catalog Classic. (See the "Books" tab.)
- If you don't find periodical aricles that youi need, try searching in appropriate databases. (See below for details.)
- For some topics this may not be necessary.
- For other topics it may be essential!!!
- It does not yet contain all of our periodial (journals, magazines and newspapers) subcriptions.
Peace, Pol. Sci., Econ. & International Relations Databases
- Peace Research Abstracts Journal (EBSCO)
- THE database for scholarly articles in all aspect of peace and conflict studies
- includes interpresonal, intragroup,intergroup, intrastare and interstate conflict
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (CSA)
- merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, and ABC POL SCI
- 1700 + journals
- 2/3 published outside the United States
- 1975 to date
- International Political Science Abstracts (EBSCO)
- 1,000 + journals
- 1951 to date
- ProQuest political science
- Full-text access to selected journal literature of political science and international relations
- Includes comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy & others.
- EconLit (EBSCO)
- Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature.
- Compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes.
- Incorporates the Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics (AWPE) database.
- Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature.
- ABI/INFORM global
- Article citations and abstracts (some full text and image) for 1600+ U.S. and international business publications,
- Covers business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, etc.
- Article citations and abstracts (some full text and image) for 1600+ U.S. and international business publications,
- CIAO: Columbia international affairs online
- Contains current and older working papers, policy briefs, etc.
- Contents are produced at think tanks and policy institutes.
- Perspectives from left, right and middle.
- Has strong U.S. coverage.
- Is produced at Columbia University, New York.
- International Relations and Security Networdk (ISN)
- Contains current and older working paper, policy briefs, etc.
- Has strong European coverage.
- Is produced at ETH (Eidgenoessiche Technische Hochschule) Zurich
- Is similar to CIAO
Dissertations
- Center for Research Libraries
- Non-U.S. dissertations
- Dissertations and theses, full text
- Full text of U.S. dissertations -- if not restricted by author.
Multi-disciplinary Databases
- ProQuest social science journals
- Citations and abstracts with some full text, covering such topics as anthropology, sociology, political science, communication, education, ...
- P.A.I.S International (Public Affairs Information Service) (CSA)
- mix of articles, reports, books and documents
- addresses public policy issues
- includes Anthropology, Sociology, Economics and Political Science
- JSTOR
- mix of major journals in most academic disciplines
- complete coverage of any journal in the database
- Google Scholar
- automatically limits results to acadmic or scholarly sources
- if accessed from the Libraries' website, links to FindText
- FindText links beneath entries take you to ND copies if we have them
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
- mix of popular and scholarly sources on all subjects
- look for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" limit
- complements Expanded Academic ASAP
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- mix of popular and scholarly sources all subjects
- look for "Limit Results: to peer-reviewed publications"
- complements Academic Search Premier
- Web of Science
- can be limited to "Social Sciences" and/or "Arts and Humanities" sections
- features citation tracking, i.e. one can track who cited whom
- strictly scholarly analysis
- IBZ online
- Iindex of scholarly periodical literature in the humanities and social sciences
- 11,500 titles covered
- international scope
International Law
- HeinOnline
- made available by the Kresege Law School Library
- includes hundreds of law journals including international sources
- Lexis/Nexis Academic
- is a subset of the full L/N database;
- has some international sources.
- Westlaw Campus Research
- are made available by the Kresege Law School Library;
- is a subset of the full Westlaw database.
- Other legal databases
- are available from 8:00-5:00, M-F in the Kresge Law Library;
- are available on their website at FIND > Electronic Resources.
Last Update: February 06, 2013 11:38 | Tagged with: economic tools incentives sanctions coercion persuasion smart sanctions banking sanctions terror terrorism


|
