FACTS
Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.
ONLINE
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
- Oxford international encyclopedia of peace
- excellent, authoritative subject encyclopedia
- Oxford reference online Premium
- access to dozens of Oxford University Press online reference tools
- Gale virtual reference library
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- for example,
- CQ Global Researcher
- covers current and controversial issues
Wikipedia
Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect when it comes to "how and why" questions especially those involving conflict situations. Use it but use it with caution!
PAPER
Selected examples of print reference sources. All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library). Please note the call number "pockets." If you go to these call numbers in the Reference Collection, you should find similar titles.
- Encyclopedia of women and gender. HQ 1115 .E43 2001
- Encyclopedia of gender and society. HQ 1115 .E54 2009
- Routledge international encyclopedia of women. HQ 1115 .R69 2000
- Women's studies encyclopedia. HQ 1115 .W645 1999
- Political and historical encyclopedia of women. HQ 1236.5 .E85 E52 2003
- Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict. HM 291 .E625 2008
- Historical dictionary of human rights and humanitarian organizations JC 571 .G655 1997
- Encyclopedia of human rights issues since 1945 JC 571 .L2747 1999
- International encyclopedia of human rights : freedoms, abuses, and remedies JC 571 .M3243 2000
- World at risk: a global issues sourcebook. JZ 1242 .W67 2002
- Handbook of peace and conflict studies. JZ 5538 .H36 2007
KRESGE LAW LIBRARY
The Kresge Law Library has an excellent collection of Human Rights materials and is open to all members of the Notre Dame Community
MAPS
- A to Z maps online (political, physical, outline & others)
- United Nations Cartographic Section (all regions but not all countries)
- All the Worlds Maps (detail and type vary)
- Atlapedia Online (regional)
- Blank & Outline Maps (outline only)
- Google Earth (no printing)
In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).
- The Penguin atlas of women in the world. HEB REF G 1046 .E1 S4 2009
- The Penguin atlas of diasporas. HEB REF GN 370 .C43 1995
- Atlas of gender and development. HEB REF HQ 1237.5 .D44 A85 2010
- Global geopolitical flashpoints: an atlas of conflict. HEB REF JC 319 .A52 2000
STATS
- ProQuest Statistical Insight (fomerly) LexisNexis Statistical) (tables)
- Proquest Statistical Datasets (formerly LexisNexis Datasets) (5.2 billion data points)
- United Nations Statistics Division (demongraphic stats)
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics (cultural stats)
- International Financial Statistics Online Service (IMF financial stats)
- World Development Indicators (economic stats)
- Economist Intelligence Unit (See country reports)
- Infonation Advanced (stats and graphs)
- OECD iLibrary (economic stats)
- Human Development Reports
- World Bank Data
- The World Factbook (CIA)
Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results. There are also paper compilations in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection such as:
- The world's women...: trends and statistics. HESB REF HQ 1154 .W952
- Political Risk Yearbook. (e.g. Vol. 8 Central & South Asia) HESB REF JQ 98 .A1 P64
- SIPRI yearbook: world armaments and disarmament. HESB REF UA 10 .I55


|
