"Amnesty International is a worldwide campaigning movement that works to promote all the human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international standards." (from the site)
International Monetary Fund
IMF working papers, Staff Country Reports and Papers on Policy Analysis & Assessment are all available here in full text. News, fund rates, and information about the organization are also available. The easiest way to navigate this site is to use the site map.
For opposing views, see
Mobilization for Global Justice
The Mobilization for Global Justice organizes people to oppose the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund and the World Trade Organization.
"A non-profit research, education, and action center dedicated to promoting people-to-people ties around the world." It provides a Links page that identifies additional protest organizations. (Note: the site map provides the clearest access points to other topics.)
Information on NATO's policies and structures, official documents, press releases, speeches and publications.
Organization of American States
An organization of 35 American nations working on social issues such as "strengthening democracy, advancing human rights, promoting peace and security, expanding trade and tackling complex problems caused by poverty, drugs and corruption." (from the site)
World Trade Organization
The organization administers trade agreements, handles trade disputes, and facilitates negotiations.
The world's largest source of development assistance.
- University of Michigan Libraries Research Guide: NGOs
Another means of accessing NGO publications is to "Google" their name (i.e., search for the name of the group enclosed in parentheses, e.g., "human rights watch" or "amnesty international") and then use the navigation or search system of their web site. Reports and analysis from NGOs are often available free of charge from their websites since part of their mission is often to disseminate vital information to the general public. In many cases we have older publications in paper or microfilm.
Amnesty International Country Reports
- Online at http://www.amnesty.org/
- 1990-1991 to date
- Microforms [Lower Level] Serial Microfiche Collection (Microfiche S91)
- Section A: Country Dossiers, 1975-1986
- Section A: Country Dossiers, 1988-1993
- Section A: Country Dossiers, 1998-2009
- Section B: Publications, 1962-1986
- Section B: Publications, 1988-1992
- Section B: Publications, 1997-2009
AEI research covers economics and trade; social welfare; government tax, spending, regulatory, and legal policies; U.S. politics; international affairs; and U.S. defense and foreign policies.
American Foreign Policy Council
Issues covered include: Aid to the Former USSR; Missile Threats & Defenses; Espionage, the KGB & the Russian Security Services; Reform in Russia; U.S.-China Relations, and Chemical Weapons.
Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies
Funded by the U.S. Department of Defense.
The institution helps scholars study contemporary economic, governmental, and international problems by financing research projects and publishing their findings.
see specifically Foreign Policy Studies
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Specializes in research on foreign relations and diplomacy, security and defense.
Maintains an extensive publications program on topics such as the federal budget, Social Security, monetary policy, natural resource policy, military spending, NATO, and international trade. Conferences papers are published thrice yearly in the Cato Journal. The Institute also publishes the quarterly magazine Regulation and a bimonthly newsletter, Cato Policy Report.
see also Foreign Policy Briefing
The Center for Defense Information
A private, nongovernmental, and "independent monitor" of the military.
Center for Economic and Policy Research
CEPR was founded in 1999 to "promote democratic debate on the most important economic and social issues."
Center for International Development (Harvard University)
Policy papers, special reports, and data in the area of global political economy.
Center for International Policy
"Promoting a U.S. foreign policy based on peace, international cooperation, demilitarization and respect for basic human rights."(from the site) Topics include Cuba, Arms Trade, and Demilitarization.
Center for Nonproliferation Studies
"The world's largest non-governmental organization devoted to combating the spread of weapons of mass destruction."(from the site) Resources by subject and by region.
Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
Topics ranging from Defense and Preventive Diplomacy to Infectious Disease.
Center for the Study of Technology and Society
A major focus of the Center is National Security.
A local (Cambridge) public policy research organization with current projecs in defense and military affairs.
Council on Foreign Relations
Publishes Foreign Affairs, a leading journal on global issues.
Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)
A public interest research center in Washington, D.C. established to focus public attention on emerging civil liberties issues in the electronic age, and to protect privacy, the First Amendment, and constitutional values.
European Policy Centre
The EPC "plays an active role by bringing together government, business, professional regional authorities and civil society organizations to debate and influence the major policy challenges facing the European Union."
Federation of American Scientists (FAS).
The FAS is a widely respected organization of scientists concerned with arms control issues.see also Arms Control Agreements
Foreign Policy in Focus
"A "think tank without walls" that functions as an international network of more than 650 policy analysts and advocates. Unlike traditional think tanks, FPIF is committed to advancing a citizen-based foreign policy agenda-one that is fundamentally rooted in citizen initiatives and movements."(from the site)
Foundation for National Progress (publishes Mother Jones)
"Celebrating 25 years of raising hell" (from the site). A well-known political watchdog group.
Documents, maps, and current news on environmental topics such as toxic wastes and genetic engineering.
Henry L. Stimson Center
An independent, nonprofit, public policy institute committed to finding and promoting innovative solutions to the security challenges confronting the United States and other nations in the twenty-first century.
Openly conservative in its views, the objective of Heritage is to present to policy-makers and opinion leaders, and especially members of Congress and their staff, factual and timely information on major issues of the day. 'Key issues' include matters of both domestic and foreign policy.
Hoover Institution (Stanford University)
Publishes research on political issues, foreign relations and diplomacy, economic
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.
Institute for Global Communications (IGC)
Manages a number of 'Nets', including PeaceNet. Choose 'search documents' to find full-text material.
International Institute for Strategic Studies
The IISS publishes Strategic Surveys focusing on trouble spots around the world. It also issues a World Directory of Strategic Studies Centres.
International Relations and Security Network (ISN)
ISN hosts (with SIPRI) Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST), a free-of-charge database on weapons, political systems, armed forces and peace-keeping activities.
National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR)
RadioFree Europe/Radio Liberty
Supported by the U.S. Congress. The mission of RFE/RL is "to promote democratic valuesand institutions by disseminating factual information and ideas." 'Broadcast Services' are listed by country; reports, overviews and maps are included.
The publications of the Rand Corporation frequently focus on national security issues of all sorts. This Web site provides a searchable index of documents produced by Rand. Includes, citations, abstracts and Rand accession numbers. Boston University currently owns aproximately 1500 of these publications.
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
SIPRI was established as an international independent research institute "to conduct scientific research on questions of conflict and co-operation of importance for international peace and security, with the aim of contributing to an understanding of the conditions for peaceful solutions of international conflicts and for a stable peace."
World Policy Institute
Examines critical world problems in the United States and abroad. Organzed by 'research project', such as 'Arms Trade'. The 'North America Project' explores issues of democracy, human rights, and environmental quality in the context of North American economic integration.
World Resources Institute
Specializes in global environmental and development issues. Arranged by region and by topic.
Conducts "inter-disciplinary non-partisan research onemerging global environmental issues."(from the site)
(with appreciation to Susan Wishinsky at Boston University Libraries)