Facts
Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.
Education, Globalization and Development
- The Vatican (see Encyclicals under specific Pope)
- CQ Global Researcher (international)
- CQ Researcher (U.S.)
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
- New Catholic Encyclopedia
- Europa world
- CIA World Factbook
- Economist Intelligence Unit -- See country reports
- IHS Jane's defense and security intelligence and analysis Security: Country risk
- PRINT
- The New dictionary of Catholic social thought. HESB REF. BX 1753 .N497 1994
- Globalization and security: an encyclopedia.. HESB Ref. D 763 .M47 G56 2009
- Encyclopedia of applied developmental science. HESB Ref. HQ 767.84 .E52 2005
- Encyclopedia of education and human development. HESB Ref. LB 15 .E473 2005
- The Statesman's Yearbook. HESB REF JA51 .ST29
- Political Risk Yearbook. (e.g. Vol. 8 Central & South Asia) HESB REFJQ 98 .A1 P64
General Sources
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
- access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
- Oxford reference online Premium
- access to dozens of Oxford University Press online reference tools
- The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
- Blackwell reference online. Religion
- select religious tradition from middle column
- select Blackwell "Companions" from right column
- The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism
- Gale virtual reference library
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- e.g., Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education, 2009
- Reference Universe
- access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
- access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
- Wikipedia:
- Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions especially conflicts situations. Use it but use it with caution!
Stats - International
- United Nations Statistics Division (demongraphic stats)
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics (cultural stats)
- International Financial Statistics Online Service (IMF financial stats)
- World Development Indicators (economic stats)
- Economist Intelligence Unit (See country reports)
- Infonation Advanced (stats and graphs)
- OECD iLibrary (economic stats)
- Human Development Reports
- World Bank Data
- The World Factbook (CIA)
- ProQuest statistical insight
Provides access to statistics issued by the U.S. government (1973- ), by private and state government sources (1980- ) and issued by international intergovernmental organizations (1983- ). Formerly known as LexisNexis statistical; Statistical universe. - ProQuest statistical datasets
"aggregates hundreds of public domain datasets and several proprietary datafiles and makes that data available from within a single interface, enabling users to combine multiple datasets and customize tables and charts for themselves."
- Finding data & statistics (Subject Guide)
- Google Scholar
- Search books and articles on sanctions that contain references to data sets or statistics, for example:
- ("economic sanction*" OR targeted sanction*" OR "smart sanction*") AND (data OR statistic*)
- Please note the use of paired parentheses, the asterisk (*), paired quotation marks and capitalized logical operators (OR and AND).
- This approach can be used in many other catalogs and databases/
Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.
Stats - U.S.
Major Sources for Domestic U.S. Statistics
- Statistical Abstract (U.S. Census Bureau) (stats with cites)
- Proquest Statistical Datasets (data sets & graphs)
- Proquest Statistical (stats, charts & tables)
- Polling the Nations (public opinion stats)
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) (data sets)
- USA.gov > Data and Statistics (Find data and statistics by topic)
- Finding data & statistics (Subject Guide)
Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.
Maps - Online
ONLINE
- A to Z maps online (political, physical, outline & others)
- United Nations Cartographic Section (all regions but not all countries)
- All the Worlds Maps (detail and type vary)
- Atlapedia Online (regional)
- Blank & Outline Maps (outline only)
- Google Earth (no printing)


|
