Facts
Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.
---- Online
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- Access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
- CQ Researcher
- Domestic U.S.
- CQ Global Researcher
- International
- Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy
- A 10 volumn standard referemce
- Oxford international encyclopedia of peace
- An authoritative survey of issues related to peace making, peace keeping and peace buidling.
- Oxford reference online Premium
- access to dozens of Oxford University Press online reference tools
- select dictionaries & companions from "Subject Reference > Philosophy & Religion"
- Blackwell reference online. Religion
- select subkedt
- select Blackwell "Companions" from right column
- for example,
- Gale virtual reference library
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- for example,
- Wikipedia:
- Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions especially conflicts situations. Use it but use it with caution!
Selected examples of print reference sources. All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library)
- Religion and violence: an encyclopedia of faith and conflict. BL 65 .V55 R45555 2011
- Encyclopedia of the stateless nations: ethnic and national groups. D 860 .M56 2002
- Conflict in Northern Ireland: an encyclopedia. DA 990 .U46 E44 1999
- Conflict in Afghanistan: a historical encyclopedia. DS 351 .C54 2003
- Encyclopedia of conflict resolution. HM 136 .B783 1997
- Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict. HM 291 .E625 2008
- Encyclopedia of activism and social justice. HM 671 .E53 2007
- Encyclopedia of transnational crime & justice. HV 6252 .E53 2012
- The American dictionary of criminal justice: key terms and major court cases. HV 7411 .C48 2005
- The dictionary of criminal justice. HV 7411 .R87 2011
- World Encyclopedia of Peace. JZ 5533 .W67 1999
- Encyclopaedia of war, peace and global security. JZ 5588 .E53 2005
- Religion and violence: an encyclopedia of faith and conflict. BL 65 .V55 R45555 2011
Maps - Online
ONLINE
- A to Z maps online (political, physical, outline & others)
- United Nations Cartographic Section (all regions but not all countries)
- All the Worlds Maps (detail and type vary)
- Atlapedia Online (regional)
- Blank & Outline Maps (outline only)
- Google Earth (no printing)
Maps - Paper
Examples of specialized atlases available in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection. The Libraries also have a collection of large, detailed maps published by various U.S. government agencies.
- Historical dictionary of the Arab-Israeli conflict. DS 119.7 .K85 2006
- The state of the Middle East: an atlas of conflict and resolution. G 2205 .S6 2008
- The Penguin atlas of diasporas. GN 370 .C43 1995
- Global geopolitical flashpoints: an atlas of conflict. JC 319 .A52 2000
Stats - U.S.
Major Sources for Domestic U.S. Statistics
- Statistical Abstract (U.S. Census Bureau) (stats with cites)
- Proquest Statistical Datasets (data sets & graphs)
- Proquest Statistical (stats, charts & tables)
- Polling the Nations (public opinion stats)
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) (data sets)
- USA.gov > Data and Statistics (Find data and statistics by topic)
- Finding data & statistics (Subject Guide)
Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.
Stats - International
- United Nations Statistics Division (demongraphic stats)
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics (cultural stats)
- International Financial Statistics Online Service (IMF financial stats)
- World Development Indicators (economic stats)
- Economist Intelligence Unit (See country reports)
- Infonation Advanced (stats and graphs)
- OECD iLibrary (economic stats)
- Human Development Reports
- World Bank Data
- The World Factbook (CIA)
- World Christian Database (religious affiliation)
- World Religion Database (religious affiliation)
- Finding data & statistics (Subject Guide)
Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.


|
