Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
This service will borrow material not available at Notre Dame for you. It is free, but please do not wait to the last minute to request material. Articles can be sent electronically, but books, microfilm and audio/video materials must be shipped from lending libraries and picked up in Hesburgh Library.
Research by Subject
List of resources by subject area. Of special interest: History, U.S. and Canada, Africana Studies, Language and Literature, English
Research Consultations:
You can contact me directly: porter.2@nd.edu
or schedule a consultation through the form at Request a Research Consultation
or use the Ask a Librarian link from the Library home page
Citation Tools:
Chicago manual of style online, 15th edition
The complete version of this widely used style manual.
Citing Sources
Examples of types of citations from various style guides.
RefWorks
This is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables you to format your footnotes and bibliographies and store references in a personal database online.
BOOK & VISUALS
Books:
Library Catalog (Advanced Search)
Use Advanced Search mode to combine keywords and terms.
For ex. african american* and katrina
The * is a truncation symbol to allow for variations such as plurals other word endings.
WorldCat
Access to the content of most U.S and Canadian libraries’ holdings.
link provides quick access to ILL forms.
Center for Research Libraries
CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. These resources are then made available to member institutions cooperatively, through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
Google Book Search
Online access to full text of public domain books, "Limited preview" or "snippet view" or bibliographic information only for books not in the public domain. Primarily useful for locating chapters and parts of books.
Visuals:
Library Catalog (Advanced Search)
Use Advanced Search mode to combine keywords and formats to find DVDs
AP images 

Contains digital images of the Associated Press' current photos and a selection of pictures, including coverage of major news events photographed as early as the 1840s.
Television news archive
Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Selected online video content from CNN and NBC viewable with RealPlayer
WorldCat
Access to the content of most U.S and Canadian libraries’ holdings. You can limit your search to visual material.
link provides quick access to ILL forms
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic,minority and native press in the U.S.
Factiva
Successor to Dow Jones News Service, Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs.
LexisNexis academic
Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Full text of major American newspapers, including African-American newspapers
Accessible archives
Provides selected text from newspaper collections: Pennsylvania gazette 1728-1800; The Civil War: a newspaper perspective (Nov. 1860-Apr. 1865); African American newspapers: the 19th century; The Liberator (1831-1865).
Newspapers: Research Guide
ARTICLES:
Academic search premier (EBSCO)
A Large multidisciplinary database with much content available full-text.
America, history and life
Provides abstracts of scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
Expanded academic ASAP
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for 3,500+ scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines.
Lion, literature online
A fully searchable library of over 350,000 works of English and American literature, overseen by an academic Advisory Board. Lion includes full text of literary works, critical essays and entries from standard reference works, and links to relevant resources on the Web.
Literature resource center
Provides biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods
MLA international bibliography
International coverage of subjects that include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film.
Periodicals index online
Index to millions of articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770 or subsequently; scope is worldwide, covering major Western languages.
E-Journal collections:
Link to all eJournal Collections available through the Library. You can search individual titles in the collections or all titles simultaneously. Caveats: When searching full-text journals or collections construct your searches carefully and precisely in order to avoid too many irrelevant results. Also, the full-text journals are linked from indexes with the
symbol. Using an index with controlled vocabulary is often the preferred way to search.
Below is a list of collections particularly useful for the humanities and the social sciences:
JSTOR
Includes full-text of journals across disciplines. Titles included cover all issues from the beginning of publication, but does not cover most current years ( varies from 2 to 5 years).
Periodicals Archive Online (formerly: PCI Full Text)
Full text searchable journal collection of 350+ periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences
Project Muse
Current years full-text online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. Coverage varies with individual titles, but none go back further than 1995. Many titles are also included in
JSTOR