Getting Started
N.D. LIBRARY CATALOG
- .To search for books BY an author such as Edith Wharton, limit the search to “Author (Last name first)” or “Author (keyword).”
- To search for books ABOUT an author, limit the search to “Subject begins with” [and enter the subject author’s last name first] or “Subject keyword.”
- For primary sources go to the Advanced Search and limit a keyword search to a
- data of publication range; or limit to “Format” = Microforms; or “Location” = Hesburgh Special Collections [for rare books].
JOHNS HOPKINS GUIDE TO LITERARY THEORY AND CRITICISM
- An online source for essays in dictionary format about individual critics, theorists, and critical and theoretical schools and movements. Updated annually.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed. New York: Modern Language Assn. of America, 2009. Print. Reference Desk LB 2369 .G53 2009 “MLA Update”
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BOOKS AND ARTICLES ON THE MODERN LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES (MLAIB)
- Indexes approximately 2,000 journals as well as books and dissertations published worldwide since 1926 on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and critical theory.
Caveat: as a rule when searching for items about an author, enter the subject’s last name first; e.g. eliot, t s retrieves over 6,000 items whereas t s eliot retrieves 2,500.
Make use of the Advanced Search’s interface, which allows the combination of the connecting terms, “and” and “or.”
Make use of the “Search Tools” which include a thesaurus of terms that indexers use to create so-called “descriptors” (including subject headings).
ANNUAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE (ABELL)
- Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and critical editions of literary works published worldwide since 1920 pertaining to English language and literatures in English.
Overlap with MLAIB exists, but because ABELL is more narrowly focused you will want to search both; also, ABELL may include more books because it indexes individual book reviews while MLAIB indexes review essays.
You can do a combined search of ABELL and MLAIB in LION (Literature Online), but you lose the flexibility of MLAIB’s search interface and the availability of its thesaurus.
Caveat: you might want to de-select “Include journal full text in keyword search” and just do a citation search, because full-text searching can produce large numbers of irrelevant results. If you want to search the full text of some 250+ journals you might try proximity searching so your search terms appear near each other and within so many words; e.g. Bloomsbury near.10 imperial* retrieves eight relevant hits, whereas Bloomsbury and imperial* produces 159, most of which are not relevant.
Caveat: as with MLAIB, enter your subject author with the last name first.
Limited to four simultaneous users.
- Indexes and abstracts journals and books published since 1954 on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Includes book reviews.
Limited to six simultaneous users.
HUMANITIES INTERNATIONAL INDEX
- Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals [published since 1929] ... includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. ... includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
E.g., entering “women and violence and race retrieves 102 items.
WOMEN STUDIES ABSTRACTS
- Print. Hesburgh Reference [1st Floor] Index/Abstract HQ 1101 .W63 Non-Circulating.
This quarterly print index of journals began in 1972 and is still relevant, although it requires the old-fashioned method of looking up a topic in the cumulated annual index of each volume. Journals include Affilia, Frontiers, Signs, and several others.-
Full-text access to more than 1500 sources including some 150 periodicals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups and government and international agencies on a broad range of women's issues worldwide.
Limited to four simultaneous users.
Sample search: Full-text = marriage and Subject area = Asian American > 36
Proximity = near[n], e.g. near6
Full text of articles from newspapers and other periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S from ca. 1959 to date.
Comprehensive bibliographic index of information about Mexican-American topics (coverage from the 1960s to the present and selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s). Records added since 1992 include the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Contains the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.
Limited to five simultaneous users.
GENERAL PRIMARY SOURCES:
- Indexes over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published since 1770; scope is worldwide, including the major Western languages.
- Basically a keyword in title index, but also good for finding articles published by selected authors; e.g., a search on “addams jane” in the author box retrieves 49 articles published from 1886 to 1935 (the rest being by a different Jane Addams).
- Like the MLAIB this is a citation database and does not provide or search the full text of articles, but it is FindText enabled
Contains documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. On completion the database will include more than 150,000 pages of content by theorists ranging from Herbert Spencer through Marx and Engels to Jean Baudrillard and Michel Foucault.
Includes the full text of four works by Jane Addams.
This is one of many Alexander Street Press databases to which the library subscribes and the method of searching is rather different from others. For the Boolean operators (and, or, not) use the space key for “and” and use the vertical line key for “or” (without spaces between terms). [The vertical line can be produced on some keyboards by the double lines that appear above the back slash key.] E.g. “Search in Texts” = holy ghost|spirit
Proximity searching can be performed by limiting the “Search in texts” box to either “Single term or phrase” or “Phrase separated by [n] words” or “Proximity Search in:” [select either] Sentence or Paragraph.
NORTH AMERICAN WOMEN’S LETTERS AND DIARIES
Provides the full text of some 150,000 pages of letters and diaries of over 1,300 women writing from Colonial times to 1950. Writers reflect a variety of age groups, life stages, and ethnicities and many geographical regions. They are mostly minor or unknown writers, although five letters by Zora Neale Hurston are included.
This is another Alexander Street database; for search tips see Social Theory above.
When complete, this collection will include more than 1,500 plays written by women, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information dating from the eighteenth century to the present.
This is another Alexander Street database; for search tips see Social Theory above.
ETHNIC PRIMARY SOURCES:
When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. Black teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other leaders form the mainstay of this corpus.
This is another Alexander Street database; for search tips see Social Theory above.
E.g., typing “violence women” in the “Search in Text” box, typing 10 in the “Phrase separated by [n] words” box and selecting Gender = F retrieves 26 items, including excerpts by Nikki Giovanni, Angela Davis, and Audre Lorde.
Brings together more than 100,000 pages of literature and essays written by black women from Africa and the African Diaspora in electronic format for the first time. Facing sexism and racism at the same time, black women have needed to create their own identities and movements. This collection documents that effort from its earliest beginnings. Much of the documentation associated with this work is fugitive, lying in rare and hard to find texts, obscure typewritten photocopied journals, and the occasional anthology.
This is another Alexander Street database; for search tips see Social Theory above.
TWENTIETH CENTURY AFRICAN-AMERICAN POETRY
The full text of poetry written by the most important and influential African-American poets of the twentieth century, including the complete text of each poem with any integral textual images or illustrations. Part of the huge LION (Literature Online) database.
Limited to four concurrent users.
Contains approximately 48 plays and 13,000 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. When complete this database will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present. About 30% of the database is previously unpublished or rare materials.
This is another Alexander Street database; for search tips see Social Theory above.
This is a package that brings together and allows combined searching of some of the database above and others listed below.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore
Black Women Writers
Caribbean Literature
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
Latin American Women Writers
Latino Literature
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
South and Southeast Asian Literature

|
