GEND 10001: Introduction to Gender Studies

Cross Disciplinary

CROSS DISCIPLINARY RESOURCES

 

 

Books and other formats:

OneSearch be used to locate books, DVDs, CDs, journals, journal articles, electronic resources, microforms and many other types or formats of material. Journal articles are not  included in the ND Catalog and Catalog  Classic. WorldCat  contains materials of all types and formats in libraries in the United States  and many other countries.

OneSearch   includes all types of materials, including journal articles; will usually generate large sets of records that can be limited post-search.

ND Catalog    previously called CatalogPlus, and includes books and other materials from libraries in the region (does not include journal articles).

Catalog Classic, the oldest interface which has a few features not yet available in the other two.

American history in video
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Google Book Search
Online access to full text of public domain books, reproduced either from text provided by publishers or by selected university/large public libraries. "Limited preview" or "snippet view" provide bibliographic information only for books not in the public domain. 

WorldCat   Books and other material owned by nearly every major library in the US and many international libraries.

Articles:

America, history and life (EBSCO)
Provides abstracts of scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the  present.

 Academic search premier (EBSCO)
Multi-disciplinary full text database that also includes indexing and abstracts for articles from additional periodicals.

Expanded academic ASAP
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for 3,500+ scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines. 

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google's search engine that focuses on academic content.

Left index (EBSCO) Coverage: 1982-  Provides citations and abstracts, with some full text, to publications from leftist and radical media worldwide since 1982,

 Web of science multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. You can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. The information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list.

Electronic Journal Collections:

JSTOR    Full text of  journals going back to first issue; coverage does not inclyde current years.

Project Muse  Collection of current issues of journals.

For all electronic journal collections see: E-journal Collections

Newspapers and Journals:

America's historical newspapers
Full text of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

American periodicals series online Coverage: 1740-1900;  consists of searchable, digitized page images from more than 1,500 18th and 19th century American periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.

HarpWeek
Intended to provide scholarly access to historians of the 19th century, HARP provides access to the illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and advertisements. Coverage includes the Civil War Era (1857-1865), Reconstruction (1866-1877), and Gilded Age (1878-1912).

Nineteenth century U.S. newspapers   Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrationsretained.

Proquest Historical Newspapers  Full text of major American newspapers and a few English language foreign newspapers. Includes advertisements.

Vogue archive
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

See also:  Newspapers: Research Guide
Detailed guide on using newspapers available through the ND libraries for research.

Last Update: March 01, 2011 11:35