Facts
Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
- recent, authoritative general encyclopedia of peace, conflict, justice, etc.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
- access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
- Oxford reference online Premium
- access to dozens of Oxford University Press online reference tools
- Gale virtual reference library
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
- Reference Universe
- access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
- access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
- Hesburgh Library Reference Collection
- access to thousands of print and online reference tools in the Hesburgh Libraries
- access to thousands of print and online reference tools in the Hesburgh Libraries
- Wikipedia:
- Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions -- especially conflicts situations. Use it -- but use it with caution!
Stats
Here is a selection of statistical sources of potential value for Peace Studies research. Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by following the path "Reference Shelf | Data, statistics and survey results" or by going directly to Data, statistics and survey results.
- Top Choices
- United Nations Statistics Division (demongraphics)
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics (cultural)
- International financial statistics online service (financial)
- World development indicators (economic)
- Other Recommended Resources
- Infonation Advanced (graphs)
- Polling the nations (public opinion)
- Lexis/Nexis Statistical (charts)
- Source OECD (economic)
MAPS
- A to Z maps online (political, physical, outline & others)
- United Nations Cartographic Section (all regions but not all countries)
- All the Worlds Maps (detail and type vary)
- Atlapedia Online (regional)
- Blank & Outline Maps (outline only)
- Google Earth (no printing)
In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).


|
