<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/">
  <channel>
    <title>AFST 30606: Black Chicago Politics</title>
    <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/203-AFST30606</link>
    <description>Race and ethnicity in Chicago politics</description>
    <language>en-us</language>
    <item>
      <title>General Information</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;The resources listed on this course page are not inclusive, but meant as possible starting points for research.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Research Consultations:&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You can contact me directly: &lt;a href=&quot;mailto:porter.2@nd.edu&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;porter.2@nd.edu&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;or schedule a consultation through the form at&amp;nbsp; &lt;a href=&quot;https://www.library.nd.edu/instruction/forms/consultation/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Request a Research Consultation&lt;/a&gt; or use the &lt;a href=&quot;http://asklib.nd.edu/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Ask a Librarian&lt;/a&gt; link from the &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Library home page&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Finding resources:&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Library Homepage&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp; access to all types of library resources and services&amp;nbsp;available&amp;nbsp;from the Hesburgh Libraries.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;strong&gt; Note: &lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp;The Library homepage provides access to 3 versions of the catalog.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;OneSearch&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp;includes all types of materials, including journal articles; will usually generate large&amp;nbsp;sets of records&amp;nbsp;that can be limited post-search.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://onesearch.library.nd.edu:1701/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?dscnt=1&amp;amp;fromLogin=true&amp;amp;tab=nd_campus&amp;amp;dstmp=1344879180264&amp;amp;vid=NDU&amp;amp;fromLogin=true&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;ND Catalog&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp; previously called CatalogPlus, and includes books and other materials from libraries in the region (does not include journal articles).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;https://alephprod.library.nd.edu/F/?func=find-b-0&amp;amp;local_base=ndu01pub&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Catalog Classic&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;, &lt;/strong&gt;the oldest interface which has a few features not yet available in the other two&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/ddw/public/subject-all-dbs.cgi&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Databases by subject&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp; A quick way to get an overview of&amp;nbsp;the selection of electronic resources pertaining to the individual subjects or disciplines.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/ill/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Interlibrary Loan (ILL)&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br /&gt;This service will borrow material not available at Notre Dame for you.&amp;nbsp; It is free, but please do not wait to the last minute to request material. Articles can be sent electronically, but books, microfilm and audio/video materials must be shipped from lending libraries and picked up in Hesburgh Library.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Citation Tools:&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/chicagomanual&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Chicago manual of style online, 16th edition &lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp; &lt;/span&gt;The complete version of this widely used style manual.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://library.duke.edu/research/citing/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Citing Sources&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br /&gt;Examples of types of citations from various style guides.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/refworks&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;RefWorks&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;This is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables you to format your footnotes and bibliographies and store references in a personal database online.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>gporter@nd.edu (Margaret Porter)</author>
      <pubDate>Thu, 31 Jan 2013 10:20:28 -0500</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/203-AFST30606</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/203-AFST30606-29</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reference </title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Use reference sources as starting points in your research.&amp;nbsp; Bibliographies and references at the end of articles in reference material are particularly useful. These sources can also supply facts and statistics.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/chicagofacts&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Chicago fact finder&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;span&gt;Chicago Fact Finder is a searchable database containing Census information for Chicago, Cook County, and the six-county metropolitan &lt;span id=&quot;open4&quot; style=&quot;DISPLAY: none&quot;&gt;... &lt;span style=&quot;PADDING-BOTTOM: 2px; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; PADDING-LEFT: 2px; PADDING-RIGHT: 2px; COLOR: #444484; FONT-SIZE: 85%; CURSOR: pointer; TEXT-DECORATION: none; PADDING-TOP: 2px&quot;&gt;[ more ]&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;span id=&quot;summary_more4&quot;&gt;area. A unique additional feature is that it also provides detailed information about the people who live in each of Chicago's 77 community areas and in 59 towns and villages of suburban Cook County&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://cpl.lib.uic.edu/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Chicago Public Library&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;span&gt;The Chicago Public Library website, including branch library locations and hours, the catalog, and digital collections&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/49416/49417&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;CQ Press Electronic Library&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&amp;nbsp; &lt;span&gt;CQ Press Electronic Library (CQEL) is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public&lt;/span&gt; &lt;span id=&quot;summary_more4941649416&quot;&gt;policy, and current affairs. The suite includes the online version of the CQ Researcher, CQ Weekely, and the CQ Political Reference Suite.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/ddrs&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Declassified documents reference system &lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;span&gt;The database ranges from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available,&lt;/span&gt; &lt;span id=&quot;summary_more4307543075&quot;&gt;through the 1970s. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others. &lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Encyclopedia of Chicago&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;span&gt;Detailed articles and maps on Chicago's industries, people, culture, sports, surrounding cities, towns, politics and more.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;span&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/GVRL&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Gale Virtual Reference Library&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br /&gt;Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias in a wide range of subject areas&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div&gt;&lt;span&gt;.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div&gt;&lt;span&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
      <author>gporter@nd.edu (Margaret Porter)</author>
      <pubDate>Thu, 15 Sep 2011 14:20:30 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/203-AFST30606</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/203-AFST30606-1214</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Secondary Sources </title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Books:&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://catalog.library.nd.edu/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;ND Catalog&lt;/a&gt; &amp;ndash; Locate books held by the Hesburgh Libraries.&amp;nbsp;The&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu.proxy.library.nd.edu/eresources/findit/findit.cgi?doc_num=003068007&amp;amp;aleph_session=XXUBAED1MJCQ1I4RVHYCSA4JBGSTE6G4AY1UKVE2XJT9LJ1KST-03522&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;img id=&quot;findit_003068007-list&quot; src=&quot;https://alephprod-library-nd-edu.proxy.library.nd.edu:9443/exlibris/aleph/u20_1/alephe/www_f_eng/icon/findit_unselect_small.gif&quot; border=&quot;0&quot; alt=&quot;&quot; /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;link shows the location of the book. If you find one good book on your topic, be sure to browse the shelves nearby.&amp;nbsp; Use Advanced Search mode to combine keywords and terms for a focused&amp;nbsp; search. Ex.: subject keywords&amp;nbsp;&quot;chicago and politic*&quot;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;will retrieve books dealing with any form of political activity in Chicago. The &amp;ldquo;Limit to&amp;rdquo; feature lets you specify format such as &amp;ldquo;Visual&amp;rdquo;, which will retrieve DVDs available in Hesburgh Library's&amp;nbsp; Audio/Video Ctr.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://primo.library.nd.edu:1701/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?vid=NDU&amp;amp;fromLogin=true&amp;amp;fromLogin=true&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Catalog Plus&lt;/a&gt; &amp;ndash; Find books owned by libraries at Notre Dame (including the Law School Library), and other local colleges (St. Mary&amp;rsquo;s, Bethel, and Holy Cross). Offers faceted browsing for improved results. The Map link shows the location of the book.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://search.proquest.com.proxy.library.nd.edu/dissertations/advanced?accountid=12874&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Dissertations and theses, full text&amp;nbsp;&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp; &lt;span&gt;Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.&amp;nbsp; &lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;span&gt;Coverage: &lt;/span&gt;1861- (Indexing); 1980- (Abstracting dissertations), 1988- (Abstracting theses), 1997- (Full-text dissertations, where available).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/googlebook&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Google Book Search&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br /&gt;Online access to full text of public domain books, reproduced either from text provided by publishers or by selected university/large public libraries. &quot;Limited preview&quot; or &quot;snippet view&quot; or bibliographic information only for books not in the public domain.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/worldcat&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;WorldCat&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br /&gt;Access to the content of most U.S and Canadian libraries&amp;rsquo; holdings.&amp;nbsp; &lt;img src=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/course-pages/images/find-text.gif&quot; border=&quot;0&quot; alt=&quot;FindText Enabled&quot; width=&quot;52&quot; height=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&amp;nbsp;link provides quick access to&amp;nbsp; &lt;a href=&quot;https://nd.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/IND/logon.html&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;ILL&lt;/a&gt; forms.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Articles:&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/academicsearch&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Academic search premier (EBSCO)&lt;/a&gt; .&amp;nbsp; &lt;img src=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/course-pages/images/find-text.gif&quot; border=&quot;0&quot; alt=&quot;FindText Enabled&quot; width=&quot;52&quot; height=&quot;15&quot; /&gt; &lt;br /&gt;Multi-disciplinary full text database that also includes indexing and abstracts for articles from additional periodicals.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/americahistandlife&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;America, History and Life&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/course-pages/images/find-text.gif&quot; border=&quot;0&quot; alt=&quot;FindText Enabled&quot; width=&quot;52&quot; height=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&amp;nbsp;Covers journal and book literature on the history of the US and Canada from prehistoric times to the present;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/expandedacademic&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Expanded academic ASAP &lt;/a&gt;.&amp;nbsp; &lt;img src=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/course-pages/images/find-text.gif&quot; border=&quot;0&quot; alt=&quot;FindText Enabled&quot; width=&quot;52&quot; height=&quot;15&quot; /&gt; &lt;br /&gt;Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for 3,500+ scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/ipsa&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;International political science abstracts (EBSCO)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/course-pages/images/find-text.gif&quot; border=&quot;0&quot; alt=&quot;FindText Enabled&quot; width=&quot;52&quot; height=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;span&gt;Provides indexing and abstracts to articles on political science published in scholarly journals and yearbooks worldwide. Covers more &lt;span id=&quot;open1&quot; style=&quot;DISPLAY: none&quot;&gt;... &lt;span style=&quot;PADDING-BOTTOM: 2px; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; PADDING-LEFT: 2px; PADDING-RIGHT: 2px; COLOR: #444484; FONT-SIZE: 85%; CURSOR: pointer; TEXT-DECORATION: none; PADDING-TOP: 2px&quot; onclick=&quot;showMore(1)&quot;&gt;[ more ]&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;span id=&quot;summary_more1&quot;&gt;than 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present. &lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/polisciabstracts&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Worldwide political science abstracts&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/course-pages/images/find-text.gif&quot; border=&quot;0&quot; alt=&quot;FindText Enabled&quot; width=&quot;52&quot; height=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;span&gt;&quot;... the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI/Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, &lt;span id=&quot;open0&quot; style=&quot;DISPLAY: none&quot;&gt;... &lt;span style=&quot;PADDING-BOTTOM: 2px; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; PADDING-LEFT: 2px; PADDING-RIGHT: 2px; COLOR: #444484; FONT-SIZE: 85%; CURSOR: pointer; TEXT-DECORATION: none; PADDING-TOP: 2px&quot; onclick=&quot;showMore(0)&quot;&gt;[ more ]&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;span id=&quot;summary_more0&quot;&gt;1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;</description>
      <author>gporter@nd.edu (Margaret Porter)</author>
      <pubDate>Fri, 16 Sep 2011 15:40:15 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/203-AFST30606</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/203-AFST30606-1216</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Primary Sources </title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;A primary source is a document or other sort of evidence written or created during the time under study, or by one of the persons or organizations directly involved in the event.&amp;nbsp;It can be a textual document or an artifact. Some examples are : &lt;strong&gt;Diaries, journals, speeches, interviews, letters, memos, manuscripts, sermons, newspaper accounts, records of organizations or government bodies, photographs, paintings, drawings.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Locating Primary Sources: &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/archivesusa&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Archive finder&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; &lt;/span&gt;Archives almost never loan materials and rarely copy on request. This guide will help with planning for future research&lt;strong&gt;.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Library Catalog&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp; searching by a persons name often will turn up letters, speeches, diaries, interviews and autobiographical material.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/worldcat&quot;&gt;WorldCat &lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp; &lt;/span&gt;&lt;span&gt;Over 125 million bibliographic records of any type of material located in libraries worldwide.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;strong&gt;Newspapers:&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://search.proquest.com.proxy.library.nd.edu/chicagotribune/advanced?accountid=12874&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Chicago Tribune, 1985-&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://search.proquest.com.proxy.library.nd.edu/hnpchicagotribune/advanced?accountid=12874&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1987)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://search.proquest.com.proxy.library.nd.edu/hnpchicagodefender/advanced?accountid=12874&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/ethnicnewswatch&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Ethnic NewsWatch &lt;/a&gt;-&lt;br /&gt;Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.&amp;nbsp; Covers the &lt;em&gt;Chicago Defender&lt;/em&gt;, 1975-&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/eanewspapers&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;America's historical newspapers &lt;/a&gt;Full text of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published since1690; includies titles from all 50 states and many cities like Chicago.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/africanamernewspapers&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;African American newspapers, 1827-1998 &lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;Sub-set of America's Historical newspapers featuring 270 newspapers published in 36 states -- including rare and historically significant 19th-century titles as well as a number of Chicago newspapers.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/historicalnp&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;COLOR: #0066cc&quot;&gt;ProQuest historical newspapers&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&amp;nbsp; &lt;span&gt;Full text of major English-language newspapers, including African-American newspapers.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;See also:&amp;nbsp; &lt;a title=&quot;Guide to identifying and locating newspapers available to researchers at Notre Dame&quot; href=&quot;../../subject-guide/74-Newspapers-A-Research-Guide&quot;&gt;Newspapers: A Research Guide&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Documents, Speeches&amp;nbsp;and Manuscripts:&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/blackthought&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Black thought and culture&amp;nbsp;&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp; S&lt;/span&gt;&lt;span&gt;ource for the published works of numerous historically important black leaders. Along with well-known works, the collection features approximately 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive and never before published material.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/lncongressional&quot;&gt;ProQuest congressional &lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp; &lt;/span&gt;&lt;span&gt;Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present &lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span&gt;Vital&lt;/span&gt; &lt;span&gt;speeches&lt;/span&gt; &lt;span&gt;of&lt;/span&gt; &lt;span&gt;the&lt;/span&gt; &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;day&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;.&amp;nbsp; Search the Library catalgog for this journal which publishes speeches of importance. Online access link will get you to a &lt;img src=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/course-pages/images/find-text.gif&quot; border=&quot;0&quot; alt=&quot;find text icon&quot; width=&quot;52&quot; height=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&amp;nbsp;so you can search within the periodical.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;span&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
      <author>gporter@nd.edu (Margaret Porter)</author>
      <pubDate>Mon, 19 Sep 2011 12:22:44 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/203-AFST30606</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/203-AFST30606-1217</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>2011 Undergraduate Library Research Award</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;See details at &lt;a href=&quot;http://link.library.nd.edu/y4sh6&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;http://link.library.nd.edu/y4sh6&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>gporter@nd.edu (Margaret Porter)</author>
      <pubDate>Tue, 11 Oct 2011 16:59:53 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/203-AFST30606</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/203-AFST30606-768</guid>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>
