<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/">
  <channel>
    <title>IIPS 20501: International Relations</title>
    <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
    <description>Information resources for the study of international relations including &quot;several theoretical approaches to and empirical issues in the field of IR.&quot;</description>
    <language>en-us</language>
    <item>
      <title>Maps </title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;ONLINE&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/atozmaps&quot;&gt;A to Z maps online&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/strong&gt;(political, physical, outline &amp;amp; others)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/17089/17090&quot;&gt;United Nations Cartographic Section&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (all regions but not all countries)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/17069/17070&quot;&gt;All the Worlds Maps&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (detail and type vary)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/17071/17072&quot;&gt;Atlapedia Online&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (regional)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/17075/17076&quot;&gt;Blank &amp;amp; Outline Maps&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (outline only)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/38754/38755&quot;&gt;Google Earth&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (no printing)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;PRINT&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Examples of specialized atlases available in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection.&lt;strong&gt;&amp;nbsp; &lt;/strong&gt;The Libraries also have a collection of large, detailed maps published by various U.S. government agencies.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Historical dictionary of the Arab-Israeli conflict.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&amp;nbsp; DS 119.7 .K85 2006 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;The state of the Middle East: an atlas of conflict and resolution&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;.&amp;nbsp; G 2205 .S6 2008 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;The Routledge atlas of the Arab-Israeli conflict.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&amp;nbsp; G 2236 .S1 G52 2008&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;The Penguin atlas of diasporas.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&amp;nbsp; GN 370 .C43 1995&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Global geopolitical flashpoints: an atlas of conflict&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;.&amp;nbsp; JC 319 .A52 2000&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Tue, 16 Aug 2011 14:27:59 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1025</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Introduction to Peace Studies</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Peace Studies is a relatively new academic disicplines with its roots in post WWII Scandinavia and Indiana (yes, Indiana).&amp;nbsp; It has variously been described as a multidisiciplinary, cross-disciplinary or&amp;nbsp; transdisciplinary discipline.&amp;nbsp; At Notre Dame it draws upon the insights and resources of Political Science, Pyschology, Sociology, History, Theology/Religion, Anthropology, Economics, Philosophy and Law -- among others.&amp;nbsp; This guide introduces you to the main peace studies resources and to selected resources from these allied academic disciplines.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Mon, 22 Aug 2011 08:57:02 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1062</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Stats</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Statistics are often divided into to categories, data sets that have not yet been analysed and statistical tables, charts and graphs based on data sets.&amp;nbsp; Sometimes statistical tables will link to the original data sets but more often simply cite them.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/44633/44634&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;Statistical Abstract&lt;/em&gt; (U.S. Census Bureau)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;text-decoration: underline;&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/44633/44634&quot;&gt; &lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;(stats with cites)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/lnstatisticaldatasets&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Proquest Statistical Datasets&lt;/em&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;(data sets &amp;amp; graphs) &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/lnstatistical&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Proquest Statistical&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; &lt;/a&gt;(stats, charts &amp;amp; tables)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/pollingnations&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;Polling the Nations&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (public opinion stats)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/&quot;&gt;Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt; (data sets)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/44631/44632&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;United Nations Statistics Division&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (demongraphic stats)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/44629/44630&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;UNESCO Institute for Statistics&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (cultural stats)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/ifsonline&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;International Financial Statistics Online Service&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (IMF financial stats)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/wdi&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;World Development Indicators&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (economic stats)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/eiu&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;Economist  Intelligence Unit&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (See country reports) 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/17185/17186&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;Infonation Advanced&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (stats and graphs)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/sourceoecd&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;OECD iLibrary&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (economic stats)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://hdr.undp.org/en/humandev/&quot;&gt;Human Development  Reports&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt; &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://data.worldbank.org/&quot;&gt;World Bank Data&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;CIA The World Factbook&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;!--
&lt;li&gt;&lt;i&gt;&lt;b&gt;World Christian&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/i&gt; Database (religious affiliation)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;i&gt;&lt;b&gt;World Religion Database&lt;/b&gt;&lt;/i&gt; (religious affiliation)&lt;/li&gt;
--&gt; 
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;../../subject-guide/18-Finding-data-statistics&quot;&gt;Finding data &amp;amp; statistics&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (Subject Guide)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Additional resources may be found from the  Libraries homepage by&amp;nbsp;going to &lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/reference_shelf/data_statistics_and_survey_results&quot;&gt;Data,  statistics and survey results&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Fri, 31 Aug 2012 17:02:56 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1027</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Facts</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Reference tools provide generally agreed upon &quot;facts&quot; or common knowledge -- background information, the who, what, where and  when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include  subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs,  chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and  encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially  historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;ONLINE SOURCES&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.oxford-peace.com.proxy.library.nd.edu/?authstatuscode=202&quot;&gt;Oxford international encyclopedia of peace&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://catalogplus.library.nd.edu/primo_library/libweb/action/display.do?tabs=viewOnlineTab&amp;amp;gathStatTab=true&amp;amp;ct=display&amp;amp;fn=search&amp;amp;doc=dedupmrg39833157&amp;amp;indx=1&amp;amp;recIds=dedupmrg39833157&amp;amp;recIdxs=0&amp;amp;elementId=0&amp;amp;renderMode=poppedOut&amp;amp;displayMode=full&amp;amp;frbrVersion=&amp;amp;dscnt=2&amp;amp;fctN=facet_tlevel&amp;amp;fctV=online_resources&amp;amp;frbg=&amp;amp;tab=nd_campus&amp;amp;dstmp=1313517259090&amp;amp;srt=rank&amp;amp;mode=Basic&amp;amp;dum=true&amp;amp;fromLogin=true&amp;amp;vl(freeText0)=political%20handbook%20of%20the%20world&amp;amp;vid=NDU&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Political handbook of the world&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/europaworldyrbk&quot;&gt;Europa world&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/cqresearcher&quot;&gt;CQ Researcher &lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;(domestic U.S.)&lt;/span&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/cqresearcher&quot;&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/cqglobalresearch&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;CQ Global Researcher&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/cqglobalresearch&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt; &lt;/a&gt;(&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;international&lt;/span&gt;)&lt;/span&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/cqglobalresearch&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/britannica&quot;&gt;Encyclopaedia Britannica online&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.wikipedia.org/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Wikipedia&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/em&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the &quot;who, what, when   and where&quot; of any given issue -- subject to later verification.   Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be highly suspect when  it  comes to &quot;how and why&quot; questions especially those concerning intense  conflicts. Use it -- but use it with caution!&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Links to online referernce collections that may contain helpful sources depending on your topic.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/oxfordrefpremium&quot;&gt;Oxford reference online Premium&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/broreligion&quot;&gt;Blackwell reference online&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/GVRL&quot;&gt;Gale virtual reference library&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;PAPER SOURCES&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Selected examples of print reference sources.&amp;nbsp; All titles are located  in  the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library).&amp;nbsp; Browsing the reference collection using the examples listed below as starting points can be very effective.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Religion and violence: an encyclopedia of faith and conflict.&amp;nbsp; &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;BL 65 .V55 R45555 2011&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Encyclopedia of the stateless nations: ethnic and national groups.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&amp;nbsp; D 860 .M56 2002&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Conflict in Northern Ireland: an encyclopedia.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&amp;nbsp; DA 990 .U46 E44 1999 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Conflict in Afghanistan: a historical encyclopedia.&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp; DS 351 .C54 2003 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Conflict in Korea: an encyclopedia.&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp; DS 916 .H62 1999 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Encyclopedia of conflict resolution&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;.&amp;nbsp; HM 136 .B783 1997 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Encyclopedia of violence, peace, &amp;amp; conflict&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;.&amp;nbsp; HM 291 .E625 2008 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;The Statesman's Yearbook&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;.&amp;nbsp; JA51 .ST29&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Political Risk Yearbook&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;.&amp;nbsp; &lt;/strong&gt;(e.g. Vol. 8 Central &amp;amp; South Asia) JQ 98 .A1 P64&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Peace movement directory: North American organizations...&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp; JZ 5514 .B46 2001 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;World Encyclopedia of Peace.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&amp;nbsp; JZ 5533 .W67 1999&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Handbook of peace and conflict studies.&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp; JZ 5538 .H36 2007 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Encyclopaedia of war, peace and global security.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&amp;nbsp; JZ 5588 .E53 2005 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Historical dictionary of multinational peacekeeping.&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp; JZ 6374 .M38 2004 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Religion and violence: an encyclopedia of faith and conflict.&amp;nbsp; &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;BL 65 .V55 R45555 2011&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&amp;nbsp; &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Global directory of peace studies and conflict resolution programs.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&amp;nbsp; JZ 5534 .G58 &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;SIPRI yearbook: world armaments and disarmament.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&amp;nbsp; UA 10 .I55&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Sep 2012 12:31:37 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1022</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Finding Books, etc. at Notre Dame</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Books, etc. owned by Notre and area libraries will be found in these online catalogs.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a title=&quot;Catalog Plus&quot; href=&quot;http://library.nd.edu/&quot;&gt;Catalog Plus:&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;Allows searching for Hesburgh&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt; and&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; Law Library holdings simultaneously.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;Allows searching of selected area libraries simultaneously.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;Provides faceted searching (think Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Wal-mart)&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;Is quick and easy.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;Does not yet provide as complex searching options as ND Catalog Classic.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a title=&quot;ND Catalog&quot; href=&quot;http://library.nd.edu/&quot;&gt;ND Catalog Classic:&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Allows searching of Hesburgh Libraries holdings only.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Provides links to the Law Library catalog and other selected area libraries&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;In addition to simple searching, provides complex options.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The Center for Research Libraries is a library cooperative located in Chicago.&amp;nbsp; Notre Dame has been a member for many decades.&amp;nbsp; Its resouces are available to all members of the Notre Dame community but is most often used by faculty and graduate students due to the nature of its holdings.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://catalog.crl.edu/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Center for Research Libraries (CRL)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br /&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Contains large special collections of interest to Peace Studies including        
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;area studies&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;foreign dissertations&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;non-U.S. newspapers&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Loans its materials (including microfilm) quickly and for extended periods.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Thu, 06 Oct 2011 15:29:55 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1031</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Catalogs  (Books, Docs, Videos, Journals, etc.)</title>
      <description>&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Catalogs generally list complete items such as books, documents, journals and videos.&amp;nbsp; Until recently they did not tend to list detailed contents such as the articles in journals and magazine or the individual essays or chapters in books.&amp;nbsp; For articles use other databases.&amp;nbsp; See other tabs for more details.&amp;nbsp; This is changing as more an more books are being published electronically.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Thu, 26 Jan 2012 15:18:40 -0500</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1030</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Search Techniques</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Most people are familiar with &lt;strong&gt;keyword searching&lt;/strong&gt; (think Google). However, most library catalogs and commercial, subscription databases also provide a &lt;strong&gt;subject headings search&lt;/strong&gt; option. This approach can be extremely helpful in many cases. Give it a try.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;While the following search functions are almost universally available, their specific form will vary from database to database. The examples listed here are the most common forms. If one or more do not work in a given database, look for a &lt;strong&gt;Help, Information, Tips, etc.&lt;/strong&gt; tab or label somewhere on the home page. There are often found in the upper left or right of the screen and sometimes indicated by a &lt;strong&gt;? or I&lt;/strong&gt; symbol.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;* -- asterisk -- truncation &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;( ) &lt;/strong&gt;-- parentheses -- nesting or grouping of similar terms &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&quot; &quot; &lt;/strong&gt;-- quotation marks -- phrases &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;and, or, not &lt;/strong&gt;-- logical or boolean operators &lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;(Note: Google requires &quot;OR&quot; to be capitalized.) &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In addition to phrase searching with quotation marks, &lt;span&gt;many database offer proximity searching and other special features.&lt;/span&gt; This allows you to specify number of words that may appear between two search terms and their order. This feature can be especially helpful if you are searching in the full text of articles. For instance EBSCO databases use the following proximity operators.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;n#&lt;/strong&gt; -- where # = the number of words between 2 terms in any order. &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;w#&lt;/strong&gt; -- where # = the number of words between 2 terms in the order typed. &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Thu, 26 Jan 2012 15:20:46 -0500</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1115</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Finding Books, etc. Anywhere</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;No library could possibly buy every resource of potential interest to people in international peace and confict studies.&amp;nbsp; Notre Dames certainly attempts to make available materials relevant to the ongoing interests of Notre Dame faculty and students.&amp;nbsp; To identify items that we don't own, we provide serveral additional databases.&amp;nbsp; For example:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/worldcat&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;WorldCat&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp; &lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Contains records for items held by almost all libraries in the U.S. and Canada.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Contains records for items in many research libraries worldwide.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Has FindText links for Interlibrary Loan requests for items not owned by ND.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Note:&amp;nbsp; Give yourself a couple of weeks for delivery, i.e. plan ahead.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://books.google.com/&quot;&gt;Google Book Search&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Is a growing catalog of book. &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Provides full text for books in the public domain (out of copyright).&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Provides links to sources for books still in copyright.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;While WorldCat and Google Books show promise of becoming truly world  wide catalogs of books, they have not yet reached that goal. To expand  your retrieval try&amp;nbsp;using major library catalogs in appropriate  countries. While there is no universal listing, these two websites are  excellent.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/reference_shelf/libraries&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Lib-Web-Cats&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; (LIbrary Web Catalogs)&amp;nbsp;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/17370/17371&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Libweb&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; (Library Servers via WWW)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Mon, 30 Jan 2012 14:47:40 -0500</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1034</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>General and Multidisciplinary Databases</title>
      <description>&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/39325/39326&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;JSTOR&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;mix of major journals in most academic disciplines&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;complete coverage of any journal in the database&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/pais&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;P.A.I.S International (Public Affairs Information Service) (CSA)&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;mix of articles, reports, books and documents&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;addresses public policy issues&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;includes&amp;nbsp; Anthropology, Sociology, Economics and Political Science&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/academicsearch&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;mix of popular and scholarly sources on all subjects&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;look for &quot;Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals&quot; limit&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;complements &lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/expandedacademic&quot;&gt;Expanded Academic ASAP&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/expandedacademic&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Expanded Academic ASAP&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;mix of popular and scholarly sources all subjects&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;look for &quot;Limit Results:&amp;nbsp; to peer-reviewed publications&quot;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;complements &lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/academicsearch&quot;&gt;Academic Search Premier&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Mon, 05 Sep 2011 19:33:22 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1156</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Single Discipline Databases for IR</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;While many disciplines may be relevant to Peace Studies, the major indexes in Political Science and Religion are especially helpful.&amp;nbsp; This is particularly true in an introductory course that examines the just war theory in depth.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/polisciabstracts&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Worldwide Political Science Abstracts&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt; (CSA)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/ipsa&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;International Political Science Abstracts&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt; (EBSCO)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://findtext.library.nd.edu:8889/ndu%5Flocal?url%5Fver=Z39.88-2004&amp;amp;ctx%5Fver=Z39.88-2004&amp;amp;ctx%5Fenc=info:ofi/enc:UTF-8&amp;amp;rfr%5Fid=info:sid/sfxit.com:opac%5F856&amp;amp;url%5Fctx%5Ffmt=info:ofi/fmt:kev:mtx:ctx&amp;amp;sfx.ignore%5Fdate%5Fthreshold=1&amp;amp;rft.object%5Fid=954928489350&amp;amp;svc%5Fval%5Ffmt=info:ofi/fmt:kev:mtx:sch%5Fsvc&amp;amp;&quot;&gt;HeinOnline&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; &lt;strong&gt;(LAW)&lt;/strong&gt; - defaults to FindText for &quot;The International Lawyer&quot;                 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;select link for &quot;Hein Online Law Journal Library&quot;&lt;/span&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;select &quot;Collection Home&quot; in left column under &quot;Collection Resources&quot;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;select &quot;Search Tab&quot; &lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Oct 2011 10:17:26 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1283</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More Databases </title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;For additional resources you can go to the &lt;strong&gt;Course Pages and Research Guides&lt;/strong&gt; page, to the subject page for &lt;strong&gt;Peace Studies &lt;/strong&gt;or to the &lt;strong&gt;All Subjects&lt;/strong&gt; page that lists all of the academic departments and institutes at Notre Dame to select databases from another academic discipline.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;../..//&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Course Pages and Research Guides&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Lists web pages prepared for individual courses&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Lists web guides to subjects of interest to more than one course&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/subjects/peace_studies&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Peace Studie&lt;strong&gt;s &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Subject Page&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Lists almost all electronic resources for peace studies&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Lists selected print resources&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/subjects/political_science&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Political Science&lt;strong&gt; &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Subject Page&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Lists almost all electronic resources for peace studies&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Lists selected print resources&lt;strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/subjects&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;All Subject Pages&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Lists pages for all academic departments&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Lists pages for Institutes, Centers and other Units at Notre Dame&lt;strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Oct 2011 10:30:12 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1284</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Popular Sources Contemporary to the Event(s)</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Poular sources provide access to public opinon contemporary to events as expressed in or shaped by the mass media.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/readersguideretro&quot;&gt;Readers' guide retrospective&lt;/a&gt;&lt;span&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt; &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/42004/42005&quot;&gt;Periodicals Archive Online (formerly: PCI Full Text)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;span id=&quot;open99999999942004&quot;&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt; &lt;span id=&quot;summary_more99999999942004&quot; style=&quot;display: none;&quot;&gt;online). See Periodicals index online for more extensive indexing and links to selected full text articles. &lt;/span&gt; &lt;span id=&quot;close99999999942004&quot; style=&quot;display: none;&quot;&gt; &lt;span&gt;[less]&lt;/span&gt; &lt;/span&gt; &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt; &lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/pio&quot;&gt;Periodicals index online &lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt; See also &quot;&lt;strong&gt;News&lt;/strong&gt;.&quot; tab,&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;See also &quot;&lt;strong&gt;Catalog Classic&lt;/strong&gt;.&quot;       
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Search for subject headings containing &quot;sources&quot; and relevant keywords.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Limit search to items published during time period.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Use keywords peculiar to the time period.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Search for authors of the time period.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Tue, 20 Mar 2012 09:45:19 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1084</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Databases</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Single Subject Databases&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The most frequently relevant database for locating journal articles in Peace Studies is, not surprisingly, Peace Research Abstracts (PRA).&amp;nbsp; Given that Peace Studies is a multi- or inter- or trans-disciplinary discipline, you will also want to use other single subject databases most relevant to your particular topic.&amp;nbsp; Selected relevant subject databases for Peace Studies at Notre Dame are listed below.&amp;nbsp; Additional databases are available on each discipline's &quot;Subject Page&quot; and through the Libraries's home page by searching under the &quot;Databases&quot; tab.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Multi-Subject Databases&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Again, since Peace Studies involves so many discrete academic discipliens, multi-subject databases will of signigicant help. They cover fewer sources in any specific subject than single subject databases do. However, since they cross disciplinary boundaries and cover many or all subjects, they will often turn up otherwise hard to locate materials.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;!--
&lt;p&gt;See the &lt;b&gt;Peace Studies Searching Tips&lt;/b&gt; page for more details.&lt;/p&gt;
--&gt;&lt;!-- InstanceEndEditable --&gt;
&lt;div id=&quot;tab_two&quot; style=&quot;display: none;&quot;&gt;&lt;!-- InstanceBeginEditable name=&quot;tab_two_content&quot; --&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;BEST BETS&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/peaceresearch&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Peace Research Abstracts Journal (EBSCO)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- the only database devoted to peace and conflict studies&lt;br /&gt;--- includes most disciplines&lt;br /&gt;--- addresses interpersonal and inter-/intra- group and national conflict&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/pais&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;P.A.I.S International&lt;/strong&gt; (Public Affairs Information Service) (CSA)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- mix of articles, reports, books and documents&lt;br /&gt;--- public policy, social sciences prespective&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/ciao&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;CIAO: Columbia international affairs online&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- features timely working papers and policy briefs&lt;br /&gt;--- can be a gold mine if you're lucky&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.isn.ethz.ch/&quot;&gt;International Relations and Security Networdk (ISN)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- working paper, policy briefs, documents, etc.&lt;br /&gt;--- similar to CIAO &lt;br /&gt;--- produced by the Center for Security Studies and Conflict Research, Zurich, Switzerland&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;MORE&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/academicsearch&quot;&gt;Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- mix of popular and scholarly sources&lt;br /&gt;--- all subjects&lt;br /&gt;--- complements &lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/expandedacademic&quot;&gt;Expanded Academic ASAP&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/expandedacademic&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Expanded Academic ASAP&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- mix of popular and scholarly sources&lt;br /&gt;--- all subjects&lt;br /&gt;--- complements &lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/academicsearch&quot;&gt;Academic Search Premier&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/webofscience&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Web of Science&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- can be limited to &quot;Social Sciences&quot; and/or &quot;Arts and Humanities&quot; sections&lt;br /&gt;--- features citation tracking, i.e. one can track who cited whom&lt;br /&gt;--- strictly scholarly analysis&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/googlescholar&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Google Scholar&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- look for &quot;FindText&quot; links for items available in a database available at Notre Dame&lt;br /&gt;--- is an &quot;academic&quot; subset of the larger &quot;Google world&quot; &lt;!-- InstanceEndEditable --&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div id=&quot;tab_three&quot; style=&quot;display: none;&quot;&gt;&lt;!-- InstanceBeginEditable name=&quot;tab_three_content&quot; --&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;LAW&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://0-heinonline.org.innopac.law.nd.edu/HOL/Welcome&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;HeinOnline &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- made available by the Kresege Law School Library;&lt;br /&gt;--- includes hundreds of law journals including international and non-U.S. sources;&lt;br /&gt;--- defaults to &quot;Citation Navigation&quot; tab. You'll probably want to switch to &quot;Search&quot; tab. &lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/lnacademic&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Lexis/Nexis Academic &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- mostly law reviews;&lt;br /&gt;--- is a subset of the full L/N database;&lt;br /&gt;--- some international sources.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/westlaw&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Westlaw Campus Research&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- made available by the Kresege Law School Library;&lt;br /&gt;--- is a subset of the full Westlaw database;&lt;br /&gt;--- new campus resource.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Other legal databases&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- are available from 8:00-5:00, M-F in the &lt;/a&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://law.nd.edu/library-and-technology&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Kresge Law Library&lt;/strong&gt;;&lt;br /&gt;--- are available on their website at FIND &amp;gt; Electronic Resources &amp;gt; &lt;/a&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://law.nd.edu/library-and-technology/find/electronic-resources/foreign-and-international-electronic-resources&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Foreign / International;&lt;/strong&gt; or&lt;br /&gt;--- may be recommended by Patty Ogden, Research Librarian.&lt;br /&gt;------ 1111 Eck Hall of Law&lt;br /&gt;------ 574.631.5996&lt;br /&gt;------ Patti.J.Ogden.1@nd.edu &lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;POLITICAL SCIENCE / INTERNATIOINAL RELATIONS&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/polisciabstracts&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (CSA)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- covers over 1,700 journals from 1975 to date&lt;br /&gt;--- default basic search includes the complete records (e.g. citations) sometimes producing &quot;interesting&quot; results.&lt;br /&gt;--- consider using the advanced search feature to focus your results&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/ipsa&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;International Political Science Abstracts (EBSCO)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- covers over 1,000 journals from 1951 to date&lt;br /&gt;--- produced by the International Political Science Association&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;THEOLOGY / RELIGION&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/atlareligion&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- produced by the American Theological Library Association&lt;br /&gt;--- began with a strong ecumencial Christian emphasis but now includes world religions&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/cpli&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) (EBSCO)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- produced by the Catholic Library Association but coordinated with ATLA's Religion Database&lt;br /&gt;--- includes both scholarly and popular Catholic publications&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/rtabstracts&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Religious and theological abstracts&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- scholarly journals covering Christianity and other world religions.&lt;br /&gt;--- provides some English language abstracts of articles in other selected languages&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;PHIILOSOPHY&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;strong&gt;SIMULTANEOUS SEARCHING (Searching Several Databases at Once)&lt;/strong&gt; &lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;p&gt;To search several databases from different vendors or platforms,&lt;br /&gt;1) select the &quot;Articles&quot; tab on the Libraries homepage;&lt;br /&gt;2) select &quot;Advanced QuickSearch&quot; (to the left below the search box); and&lt;br /&gt;3) select the option you prefer.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;Please note: &lt;br /&gt;1) not all databases are available for QuickSearch and&lt;br /&gt;2) not all search techniques work in all QuickSearch databases.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;To search some or all EBSCO databases simultaneously,&lt;br /&gt;1) from the homepage of any EBSCO database&lt;br /&gt;2) select &quot;Choose Databases&quot; (near the top of the screen to the right of the EBSCO logo); &lt;br /&gt;3) select the boxes for each database; and&lt;br /&gt;4) select OK and search.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;!-- InstanceEndEditable --&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/philoindex&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Philosopher's index (EBSCO)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- covers approximatley 570 journals from 1940 to date&lt;br /&gt;--- more than 40 countries and many language&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div id=&quot;tab_four&quot; style=&quot;display: none;&quot;&gt;&lt;!-- InstanceBeginEditable name=&quot;tab_four_content&quot; --&gt;&lt;strong&gt;INTERNATIONAL&lt;/strong&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/accessun&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Access UN&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- indexes UN docs from 1946 to date&lt;br /&gt;--- often contains full text online, especially for older documents&lt;br /&gt;--- provides UNDOC number for UN microfiche (Hesburgh Library Lower Level)&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://library.duke.edu/research/subject/guides/igo_guide/index.html&quot;&gt;International Governmental Organizations&lt;/a&gt; (Duke University Libraries)&lt;br /&gt;--- provides links to IGO websites.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://library.duke.edu/research/subject/guides/ngo_guide/ngo_links/index.html&quot;&gt;NGO Research Guide&lt;/a&gt; (Duke University Libraries)&lt;br /&gt;--- provides links to NGO websites.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&quot;Googling&quot;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- &quot;Google&quot; the name of the NGO or IGO to locate its website.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;UNITED STATES&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;For information from and about the U.S. government, consult the &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/subjects/political_science/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Political Science&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; subject page;&lt;br /&gt;--- select the &quot;Reference&quot; tab; and &lt;br /&gt;--- scroll down to &quot;Government.&quot;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;!-- InstanceEndEditable --&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div id=&quot;tab_five&quot; style=&quot;display: none;&quot;&gt;&lt;!-- InstanceBeginEditable name=&quot;tab_five_content&quot; --&gt;&lt;strong&gt;CURRENT V. OLDER NEWS ACCOUNTS&lt;/strong&gt; (&quot;older&quot; = over a week old)&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It is relatively easy to obtain current new accounts using the Web. You can either go to a favorite news source directly (for instance by &quot;Googling&quot; the name of the source) or use a service such as Google News. Getting &quot;older&quot; accounts (just about anything over a week or so old) often involves paying a fee. The databases listed below contain archived news accounts and any assocaited subscription fees have already been paid.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/factiva&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Factiva (Dow Jones and Reuters)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- business perspective is strongest feature&lt;br /&gt;--- English language sources with some none English coverage&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/lnacademic&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Lexis/Nexis Academic&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- legal perspective is strongest feature &lt;br /&gt;--- English language sources with some none English coverage&lt;br /&gt;--- Law Library has a more robust version &lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/wnc&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;WNC (World News Connection)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- emphasizes non-English sources in translation from 1997&lt;br /&gt;--- includes print and broadcast media&lt;br /&gt;--- is a joint project of American University and the U.S. Department of State &lt;br /&gt;--- succeeds&lt;/a&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/fbis&quot;&gt; Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)&lt;/a&gt;, 1949 to 1996&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/westlaw&quot;&gt;Westlaw Campus Research&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- strong legal and business components&lt;br /&gt;--- similar to Lexis/Nexis Academic&lt;br /&gt;--- Law Library has a more robust version&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/ethnicnewswatch&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Ethnic News Watch&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;--- domestic news sources representing diaspora communities in the United States&lt;br /&gt;--- covers the ethnic, minority and native/indigenous press from 1959 &lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For additional news sources, see the &lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/find_articles/index.shtml#tab_news#tab_news&quot;&gt;&quot;Newpapers databases&quot;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;/strong&gt;page on the Libraries homepage.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;!-- InstanceEndEditable --&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Mon, 26 Mar 2012 12:21:12 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1036</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Working Papers, Policy Briefs, Dissertations, etc.</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;These databases contain &quot;unpublished&quot; resources (aka &quot;gray&quot; literature) that can be of great value but can also be difficult to locate.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/ciao&quot;&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;CIAO: Columbia international affairs online&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;Working papers, policy briefs, etc. on inter and intra state conflict. &lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.isn.ethz.ch/&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;International Relations and Security Networdk (ISN)&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Working papers, policy briefs, etc. on inter and intra state conflict. (Swiss)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/digitaldiss&quot;&gt;Dissertations and theses, full text &lt;br /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;Full text of dissertations -- if not restricted by author.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Tue, 28 Aug 2012 14:15:03 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1100</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Current News Sources</title>
      <description>&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/lnacademic&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;Lexis/Nexis Academic&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;legal and political emphasis &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;includes radio and television news transcripts&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;includes major non-USA sources&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;select &quot;News&quot; &amp;gt; &quot;All News&quot; &amp;gt; &quot;Major World Publications&quot; &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/factiva&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;Factiva &lt;br /&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;business emphasis&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;joint venture of Dow Jones and Reuters&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;includes the Wall Street Journal&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;includes major non-USA sources&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;select &quot;Source&quot; and/or &quot;Region&quot;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/wnc&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;World News Connection&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Non-U.S. &amp;amp; Non-English sources&lt;strong&gt; &lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;translated into English&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Some English language sources&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Covers 1996 to date&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;See &lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/fbis&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt; for earlier coverage&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/ethnicnewswatch&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Ethnic NewsWatch&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;sources from ethnic communities within the USA&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/tvnewsarchive&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Television News Archive&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;1968-, ABC, CBS, NBC&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;1995-, &lt;/span&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;CNN&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;2004-, Fox&amp;nbsp; News&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/newspapersource&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Newspaper source&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; (EBSCO)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/span&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;major national and regional US sources and international papers&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;English language&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://news.google.com/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Google News&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;great for breaking new from standard sources&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;English translations of non-English sources &lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.google.com/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Google&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;helpful for non-standard/mainstream media &lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;especially good for point of view/advocacy sources&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;updates can be delayed from a couple of weeks to a month or more&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Sep 2012 10:37:06 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1046</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Historical News Sources</title>
      <description>&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;../../subject-guide/74-Newspapers-A-Research-Guide&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Newspapers:&amp;nbsp; A Research Guide&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;A comprehensive guide to newspapers held by Notre Dame&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Arranged by current, contemporary and historical&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/find_articles/index.shtml#tab_news&quot;&gt;Research Tools &amp;gt; Find: Articles | Journals | Newspapers&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;A selective guide to major newpapers held by Notre Dame&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Arranged by current and historical&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Includes a link to &quot;All News Sources&quot;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://catalog.library.nd.edu/&quot;&gt;ND Catalog &amp;gt; &quot;More&quot; &amp;gt; &quot;Periodicals | Newspapers&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Provides searches for specific newspapers held by Notre Dame&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Search options include format, location, title and &quot;Catholic&quot;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://catalog.crl.edu/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Center for Research Libraries (CRL)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Has back files of non-U.S. newspapers&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Will loan originals and microfilmed copies of substantial runs&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Responds quickly to requests&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Allows extended loan periods&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/keesingworldnews&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Keesings World News Archive&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;British&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;News digests since 1931&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/fbis&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Non-U.S. &amp;amp; Non-English sources&lt;strong&gt; &lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;translated into English&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Some English language sources&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Will cover 1941-1996 when completed&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;For later coverage see &lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/wnc&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;World News Connection&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Thu, 07 Feb 2013 09:59:15 -0500</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1047</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>NGOs</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;An excellent guide to locating NGOs and their documents can be found at:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://guides.lib.umich.edu/ngo&quot;&gt;University of Michigan Libraries Research Guide:&amp;nbsp; NGOs&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;http://guides.lib.umich.edu/ngo&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Another means of accessing NGO publications is to &quot;Google&quot; their name (i.e., search for the name of the group enclosed in parentheses, e.g.,&lt;strong&gt; &quot;human rights watch&quot; &lt;/strong&gt;or &lt;strong&gt;&quot;amnesty international&quot;&lt;/strong&gt;) and then use the navigation or search system of their web site.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;Reports and analysis from NGOs are often available free of charge from their websites since part of their mission is often to disseminate vital information to the general public.&amp;nbsp; In many cases we have older publications in paper or microfilm.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For example:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Amnesty International Country Reports&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Online at &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.amnesty.org/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;http://www.amnesty.org/&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;1990-1991 to date&lt;strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Microforms [Lower Level] Serial Microfiche Collection (Microfiche S91)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Section A: Country Dossiers, 1975-1986&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Section A: Country Dossiers, 1988-1993&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Section A: Country Dossiers, 1998-2009&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Section B: Publications, 1962-1986&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Section B: Publications, 1988-1992&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Section B: Publications, 1997-2009&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 Sep 2011 20:27:11 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1271</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Non U.S Gov. Docs</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;The following webpage contains several regional guides to non-U.S. governments and their&amp;nbsp; publications.&lt;strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://guides.lib.umich.edu/cat.php?cid=1471&quot;&gt;University of Michigan Library &lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;http://guides.lib.umich.edu/cat.php?cid=1471&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;Alterately &lt;/span&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&quot;Googling&quot;&lt;/strong&gt; the official or common name of the country and a topic or agency name and limiting your search to the .gov domain and the country code using the &quot;Advanced Search&quot;  option should&amp;nbsp; usually provide a link to official publications.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For example a search for&lt;strong&gt; &amp;lt; (&quot;united kingdom&quot; OR British) and foreign and site: .gov, .uk &amp;gt; &lt;/strong&gt;retreives &lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.fco.gov.uk/&quot;&gt;British Foreign  Commonwealth Office (FCO)  Home&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; at &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.fco.gov.uk/en&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;http://www.fco.gov.uk/en&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; as your first hit.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A list of Internet country codes is available at Internet Assigned Number Authroity (IANA) &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.iana.org/domains/root/db/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&quot;Root Zone Database&quot;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; page at &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.iana.org/domains/root/db/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;http://www.iana.org/domains/root/db/&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; .&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In addition to governemnt documents increasingly being made available on the Web, Notre Dame has several online and print collections of documents that may be found by searching &lt;a href=&quot;http://library.nd.edu/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Catalog Plus&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; o&lt;strong&gt;r &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://alephprod.library.nd.edu/F/?func=find-b-0&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Catalog Classic (ND Catalog)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; or by using the &lt;a href=&quot;http://library.nd.edu/#tab_dat&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Databases&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; tab on the Libraries homepage.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sample Collections&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/arabisraelrelation&quot;&gt;Arab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/parlipapers&quot;&gt;House of Commons parliamentary papers &lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/northernireland&quot;&gt;Northern Ireland : a divided community 1921-1972 : cabinet papers of the Stormont administration&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 Sep 2011 20:27:12 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1273</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>United Nations</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;United Nations documents may be located online and on microfiche using &lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/accessun&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Access UN&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; and in paper using the &lt;a href=&quot;http://library.nd.edu/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Catalog Plus &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;or&lt;a href=&quot;http://alephprod.library.nd.edu/F/?func=find-b-0&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt; Catalog Classic (ND Catalog)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;.&lt;strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/accessun&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Access UN&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;strong&gt; &lt;br /&gt; &lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Indexes UN documents from 1946 to date&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Contains the fulltest of many documents&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Provides UN documents number for documents in the Hesburgh Library Microtext Collection (Lower Level)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Additional documents may located or identified at the UN and affiliate organization websites.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.un.org/&quot; target=&quot;rbottom&quot;&gt;United                       Nations (UN)&lt;/a&gt; &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.fao.org/&quot; target=&quot;rbottom&quot;&gt;Food and                       Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.icj-cij.org/&quot; target=&quot;rbottom&quot;&gt;International                       Court of Justice (ICJ)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.ilo.org/&quot; target=&quot;rbottom&quot;&gt;International                       Labour Organization (ILO)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.unicef.org/&quot; target=&quot;rbottom&quot;&gt;United                       Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.unesco.org/&quot; target=&quot;rbottom&quot;&gt;United                       Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization                       (UNESCO)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.unhcr.org/&quot; target=&quot;rbottom&quot;&gt;United                       Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, Office of the                       (UNHCR)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.wto.org/&quot; target=&quot;rbottom&quot;&gt;World Trade                       Organization (WTO)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.who.int/&quot; target=&quot;rbottom&quot;&gt;World Health                       Organization (WHO)&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;See &lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.unsystem.org/&quot;&gt;Alphabetic Index of Websites of the United Nations System of Organizations&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; for additional organizations.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 Sep 2011 20:27:12 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1275</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>IGOs</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A helpful directory listing IGOs can be found in::&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Open Directory&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Path:&amp;nbsp; &lt;strong&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.dmoz.org/Society/Government/Multilateral/Regional/&quot;&gt;Open Directory &amp;gt; Society &amp;gt; Government &amp;gt; Mulltilateral &amp;gt; Regional&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;http://www.dmoz.org/Society/Government/Multilateral/Regional/&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Another means of accessing IGO publications is to &quot;Google&quot; their name  (i.e., search for the name of the group enclosed in parentheses, e.g.,&lt;strong&gt; &quot;european union&quot; &lt;/strong&gt;and then use the navigation or search system of their web  site.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;Reports and analysis from IGOs are often available free of charge  from their websites.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Fri, 30 Sep 2011 20:27:12 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1272</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>U.S. Gov. Docs</title>
      <description>&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.usa.gov/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;USA.gov&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Docs from all branches of U.S. government&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;State. local and tribal docs.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/lncongressional&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;ProQuest Congressional&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;Congressional branch docs&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;span class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;Digitized &quot;Serial Set&quot;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span class=&quot;style1&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://thomas.loc.gov/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Thomas&lt;/em&gt; (Library of Congress)&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Congressional docs&lt;strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/43761/43762&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Catalog of U.S. Government Publications&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Executive branch docs&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/gpoaccess&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;GPO Access&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Executive, legislative and judicial branch docs&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Only publications of the Government Printing Office (GPO)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/natlsecurity&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Digital National Security Archive&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Previously classified executive branch docs&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/ddrs&quot; target=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Declassified Documents Reference System&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; 
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Previously classified executive branch docs&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/resources/49089/49090&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;Foreign Relations of the United States&lt;/em&gt; &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;(Dept. of State)        
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Online from 1968&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;For pre- 1969 see Hesbugh General Collection &lt;span&gt;JX 233 .A3 &lt;/span&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Sep 2012 11:20:03 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1050</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Tracking Research by Tracking Citations</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Increasingly academic databases are including the ability to track citations forward and backward in time to discover who is citing whom including:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;links to&amp;nbsp;works &lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;cited in &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/span&gt;a given reference&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;links to works that &lt;span style=&quot;color: #ff0000;&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;have cited &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt;a&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;color: #000000;&quot;&gt; &lt;/span&gt;given reference&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;see&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/webofscience&quot;&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt; Web of Science&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;see &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/instruction/citation_workshop0810.shtml&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&quot;Who's Citing Whom? Fall '10 Faculty Workshop&quot;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Sat, 20 Aug 2011 22:09:17 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1056</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>RefWorks</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/refworks&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;RefWorks&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables you to:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Insert formatted references into your paper&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Format your footnotes and bibliographies&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Create a personal database online&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Store references which are accessible from any computer linked to the Internet&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Collect references from your favorite article indexes&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Organize your research &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Search a wide variety of article databases and import references&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Sort and organize those references into folders &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Web Access from anywhere&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Share references with others&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Sat, 20 Aug 2011 22:30:56 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1057</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>FindText and FindIt</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;FindText&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;FindText&lt;/strong&gt; is a software program that links together our catalog and most of our databases including WorldCat.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt; If there is a record for an item in a database but full text is not available onlikne in that database, &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;selecting the FindText link will search other databases to locate online full text elsewhere. &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;If full text is not available online, &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;FindText then searches our catalog to locate paper or microrfilm at Notre Dame. &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;If the text is not available at Notre Dame, &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;a link to the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) sign in page will be displayed.&amp;nbsp; &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Selecting that link will fill in the appropriate ILL form.&amp;nbsp; &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;A single &quot;click&quot; will then request the item.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The &lt;strong&gt;FindText&lt;/strong&gt; Link in WorldCat take you directly to the Interlibary Loan sign in page from which you can request the item in question without having to fill in the form manually.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Note:&amp;nbsp; &lt;strong&gt;FindIt&lt;/strong&gt; is a feature of Catalog Classic (ND Catalog).linking catalog records to maps of the Hesburgh Libraries, WorldCat, and area libraries.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Mon, 22 Aug 2011 09:43:25 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1065</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Interlibrary Loan (ILL)</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;The Interlibrary Loan service is available to all members of the Notre Dame community.&amp;nbsp; If we don't own or have access to an item you need, we can usually get it for you.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;If it is a book or document, we can usually borrow it.&amp;nbsp; &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;If it is a journal, magazine or newspaper article, we can usually get a copy of it:   
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;a pdf by email (the default) or &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;paper photocopy via the postal service if you choose.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;There is no charge for the service.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;They average loan period for books is two weeks.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;To place a request:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;go to the&lt;a href=&quot;https://nd.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/IND/logon.html&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt; Interlibrary Loan &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;link on the Libraries homepage for the ILL form (requires ND NetID &amp;amp; Password) or &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;use the&lt;strong&gt; FindText&lt;/strong&gt; link in your database results list.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Please note:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;All requests must be entered using the online form (sorry, no phone requests)&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;The first time you use the form you will need to fill out a profile.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;Be sure to indicate you pickup location. &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;You may revise this profile at anytime.&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For more details, go to&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.library.nd.edu/ill/&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt; More on ILL&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt;.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Please note that most libraries &lt;strong&gt;will not &lt;/strong&gt;loan the following items though we can always try.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;whole volumes of periodicals &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;reference works &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;rare or valuable materials &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;in some instances, audio-visual materials &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;fragile or bulky items &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;material on reserve or in heavy demand at the lending institution &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;li&gt;in many instances, dissertations &lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Wed, 21 Sep 2011 11:20:26 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1239</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Style Manuals</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;The &lt;a href=&quot;../../subject-guide/81-e-Reference-Shelf?tab=832&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Citing Sources&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; page offers links to guides for the most frequently used  citation systems. These citation systems are available in RefWorks for  the automatic creation of bibliographies. However, it's always essential  to check automated output. So, even if you use RefWorks, reference to  citation guides is always necessary.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>J.D.Archer.1@nd.edu (Doug Archer)</author>
      <pubDate>Thu, 02 Feb 2012 11:57:04 -0500</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/216-IIPS20501-1058</guid>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>
