<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/">
  <channel>
    <title>PSYCH 43362: Understanding Eating Disorders</title>
    <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/73-PSYCH43362</link>
    <description>This page is designed to help locate information on eating disorders.</description>
    <language>en-us</language>
    <item>
      <title>Print sources</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;PRINT SOURCES&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders&lt;/strong&gt; -  RC 552 .E18 C37 2006 - Reference Collection, 1st floor, Hesburgh  Library. This source covers the common types of eating disorders and the  problems associated with them.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society&lt;/strong&gt; - HQ 1115 .E43 2001 - Reference Collection, 1st floor, Hesburgh  Library. Includes a chapter on eating disorders and disordered eating.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Eating Disorders Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health  Information about  Anorexia Nervosa, Bulimia, Binge Eating, Compulsive  Exercise, Female  Athlete Triad, and Other Eating Disorders... - &lt;/strong&gt;RC  552 .E18 E287 2007 - Reference Collection, 1st floor, Hesburgh Library.  Includes information on risk factors, prevention and treatment.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>csmith@nd.edu (Cheri Smith)</author>
      <pubDate>Tue, 17 Aug 2010 15:00:04 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/73-PSYCH43362</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/73-PSYCH43362-394</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Background Information</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Before starting a library research project, it is useful to find background information on your topic. Reference sources can help you identify keywords and major researchers in an area.&amp;nbsp; They can also direct you to relevant books an articles on a topic.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; &lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Online Encyclopedias:&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a title=&quot;GVRL&quot; href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/GVRL&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Gale Virtual Reference Library&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/a&gt; - This online resource provides online access to full text articles  from dozens of encyclopedias.&amp;nbsp; A search for eating disorders, or  bulimia, or anorexia will locate many short entries.&amp;nbsp; For example, here  is the entry for &lt;a title=&quot;eating disorders and advertising&quot; href=&quot;http://go.galegroup.com.proxy.library.nd.edu/ps/retrieve.do?sgHitCountType=None&amp;amp;sort=RELEVANCE&amp;amp;inPS=true&amp;amp;prodId=GVRL&amp;amp;userGroupName=nd_ref&amp;amp;tabID=T003&amp;amp;searchId=R6&amp;amp;resultListType=RESULT_LIST&amp;amp;contentSegment=&amp;amp;searchType=BasicSearchForm&amp;amp;currentPosition=10&amp;amp;contentSet=GALE|CX3470400180&amp;amp;&amp;amp;docId=GALE|CX3470400180&amp;amp;docType=GALE&amp;amp;role=&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;Eating Disorders and Food Advertising&lt;/a&gt;.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>csmith@nd.edu (Cheri Smith)</author>
      <pubDate>Tue, 17 Aug 2010 15:00:24 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/73-PSYCH43362</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/73-PSYCH43362-393</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Databases </title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;a title=&quot;PsycINFO&quot; href=&quot;http://eresources.library.nd.edu/databases/psycinfo&quot; target=&quot;_blank&quot;&gt;&lt;span style=&quot;text-decoration: underline;&quot;&gt;PsycINFO&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt; is the premier database for doing research in psychology.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The thesaurus, located under the &quot;Search Tools&quot; tab, makes it easy to find the right terms, and limit your searches.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img title=&quot;psycinfo thesaurus&quot; src=&quot;http://www.nd.edu/~csmith/thesaurus.gif&quot; alt=&quot;Thesaurus&quot; width=&quot;442&quot; height=&quot;143&quot; /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A regular keyword search for the term &quot;anorexia&quot; will produce a result list of more than 20,000 items, while a thesaurus search for the same term will produce a list of less than 8,000 items.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <author>csmith@nd.edu (Cheri Smith)</author>
      <pubDate>Tue, 17 Aug 2010 17:44:56 -0400</pubDate>
      <link>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/73-PSYCH43362</link>
      <guid>http://guides.library.nd.edu/course-guide/73-PSYCH43362-395</guid>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>
