IIPS 30804: Youth and Political Violence

Peace Studies Librarian

  • J. Douglas (Doug) Archer
  • photo of Doug Archer, Peace Studies Librarian

  • Office Location: 117A Hesburgh Library | KKIC 318 Hesburgh Center
  • Contact Info:
    574-631-6656 | 574-631-8534

About this Guide

Library resources for the study of the effects of war and violent conflict on children, youth and adolescents.

Facts

Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

ONLINE

PRINT

Selected examples of print reference sources.  All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library).

 

Read more

Maps

PRINT

Examples of specialized atlases available in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection.

ONLINE

Read more

STATS

Read more

Catalogs for Books, Docs, Videos, Journals, etc.

While WorldCat and Google Books show promise of becoming truly world wide catalogs of books, they have not yet reached that goal. To expand your retrieval try using major library catalogs in appropriate countries. While, there is no universal listing, these two websites are excellent.

Lib-Web-Cats (LIbrary Web Catalogs)
Libweb (Library Servers via WWW)

Search Techniques

Most people are familiar with keyword searching (think Google). However, most library catalogs and commercial, subscription databases also provide a subject headings search option. This approach can be extremely helpful in many cases. Give it a try.

While the following search functions are almost universally available, their specific form will vary from database to database. The examples listed here are the most common forms. If one or more do not work in a given database, look for a Help, Information, Tips, etc. tab or label somewhere on the home page. There are often found in the upper left or right of the screen and sometimes indicated by a ? or I symbol.

In addition to phrase searching with quotation marks, many database offer proximity searching and other special features. This allows you to specify number of words that may appear between two search terms and their order. This feature can be especially helpful if you are searching in the full text of articles. For instance EBSCO databases use the following proximity operators.

Databases

Single Subject Databases

The most frequently relevant database for locating journal articles in Peace Studies is, not surprisingly, Peace Research Abstracts (PRA).  Given that Peace Studies is a multi- or inter- or trans-disciplinary discipline, you will also want to use other single subject databases most relevant to your particular topic.  Selected relevant subject databases for Peace Studies at Notre Dame are listed below.  Additional databases are available on each discipline's "Subject Page" and through the Libraries's home page by searching under the "Databases" tab.

Multi-Subject Databases

Again, since Peace Studies involves so many discrete academic discipliens, multi-subject databases will of signigicant help. They cover fewer sources in any specific subject than single subject databases do. However, since they cross disciplinary boundaries and cover many or all subjects, they will often turn up otherwise hard to locate materials.

THE Peace Studies Database

Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO)

Read more

Social Science Databases

Read more

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

Read more

Working Papers, Policy Briefs, Dissertations, etc.

Read more

Popular Sources Contemporary to the Event(s)

Poular sources provide access to public opinon contemporary to events as expressed in or shaped by the mass media.

Differentiationg among Scholarly, Professional and Popular Articles

NEWS SOURCES

Current News Sources

Historical News Sources

 

Read more

U.S. Gov. Docs

Non U.S Gov. Docs

The following webpage contains several regional guides to non-U.S. governments and their  publications.

Alterately "Googling" the official or common name of the country and a topic or agency name and limiting your search to the .gov domain and the country code using the "Advanced Search" option should  usually provide a link to official publications. 

For example a search for < ("united kingdom" OR British) and foreign and site: .gov, .uk > retreives British Foreign Commonwealth Office (FCO) Home at http://www.fco.gov.uk/en as your first hit.

A list of Internet country codes is available at Internet Assigned Number Authroity (IANA) "Root Zone Database" page at http://www.iana.org/domains/root/db/ .

In addition to governemnt documents increasingly being made available on the Web, Notre Dame has several online and print collections of documents that may be found by searching Catalog Plus or Catalog Classic (ND Catalog) or by using the Databases tab on the Libraries homepage.

Sample Collections

United Nations

United Nations documents may be located online and on microfiche using Access UN and in paper using the Catalog Plus or Catalog Classic (ND Catalog).

Additional documents may located or identified at the UN and affiliate organization websites.

See Alphabetic Index of Websites of the United Nations System of Organizations for additional organizations.

IGOs

A helpful directory listing IGOs can be found in::

Open Directory

Another means of accessing IGO publications is to "Google" their name (i.e., search for the name of the group enclosed in parentheses, e.g., "european union" and then use the navigation or search system of their web site.  Reports and analysis from IGOs are often available free of charge from their websites.

NGOs

An excellent guide to locating NGOs and their documents can be found at:

Another means of accessing NGO publications is to "Google" their name (i.e., search for the name of the group enclosed in parentheses, e.g., "human rights watch" or "amnesty international") and then use the navigation or search system of their web site.  Reports and analysis from NGOs are often available free of charge from their websites since part of their mission is often to disseminate vital information to the general public.  In many cases we have older publications in paper or microfilm.

For example:

Amnesty International Country Reports

CITATIONS

Tracking

Increasingly academic databases are including the ability to track citations forward and backward in time including:

RefWorks

 is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables you to:

Style Manuals

This page offers links to guides for the most frequently used citation systems. These citation systems are available in RefWorks for the automatic creation of bibliographies. However, it's always essential to check automated output. So, even if you use RefWorks, reference to citation guides is always necessary.

FindText

FindText is behind the scenes software that links most of our databases to each other.   A simple click on a FindText image, Use_FindText_to_find_this_item , initiates a search of all of our FindText enabled databases and our catalog to determine if we have a full text copy of the item that you've selected, first online and, if it's not available online, in print or microfrom in our collections.  If no copy is found locally, a link to our Interlibrary Loan service appears.

To take advantafe of this feature, do not enable the "full text" only option available in many databases. 

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that provides books, mivrofilms, videos and copies of articles that we either don't on or that are missing from our collections. Notre Dame has most of the core peace studies materials.  However, it cannot possibly buy every study of every real or potential conflict.  Therefore, it is quite likely that you may need to use ILL.

Related Guides

Email Guide Owner
Subcribe to RSS RSS Feed
add to bookmark Bookmark This

Hesburgh Libraries logo

University of Notre Dame | Hesburgh Libraries

221 Hesburgh Library | Notre Dame, IN 46556

Tel: 574.631.6258 | Fax: 574.631.6772

Website feedback | HesNet Lock | Mobile version

University of Notre Dame logo

Go To Full Version