School of Architecture - Creating an Annotated Bibliography

Architecture Librarians

  • Jennifer Parker and Viveca Pattison Robichaud
  • Office Location: 117 Bond Hall
  • Contact Info:
    574.631.6654

  • jparker9@nd.edu
  • vivecarobichaud@nd.edu

About this Guide

This page will serve as a guide for creating annotated bibliographies based on critically assessing the relevance of readings for architecture students.

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, etc. that includes a brief summary or description (annotation) of each reading and discusses its relevance to the current project or assignment.  Annotations are descriptive, yet succinct, and should show a critical understanding of the authors main points along with the readers assessment of the content provided.

For example, an article on Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater could be read and analyzed for its usefulness in articulating preservation practices for historic homes.   Or, a book on the history of Rome, could be noted for its discussion of the urban planning of the city and used to argue the readers decision for the placement of a new building.

Basically the annotated bibliography shows that you have read and understood the selected readings and have applied what you have learned from them to your current project.   

Annotations should be succinct, not more than 150 words, and not just summarize the work but show that you have learned from it and applied it to your project. 

To create an annotated bibliography follow these steps:

  1. Set up an account in Refworks (and keep a separate Refworks window open while researching)
  2. Search the Rome Library Catalog and the Avery Index for resources
  3. Analyze your readings
  4. Create the bibliography

Find Sources

To find sources search the Rome Library Catalog and the Avery Index:

The Rome Library Catalog provides access to 3000+ located in the Rome Architecture Reference Library. It is primarily made up of books. It does NOT include articles - for those go to the Avery Index.

Searching the Catalog

Keyword is the easiest and most flexible way to search the library catalog. It searches words in all fields of the catalog record: title, author, publisher, notes, etc.  If you have the name of an architect, that is your first keyword. 

Word searching combines words using connectors such as AND , OR , and AND NOT. Use the * as a wild card.

Search:

Keyword frank lloyd wright AND fallingwater

Importing citations from the Rome Library Catalog:

  1. Mark the records
  2. Click on Email/Save/Export
  3. Click on the Export tab
  4. Export to Refworks, press Go

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, urban planning, and landscape architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated daily. It is the most important database for every aspect of Architecture. There is no need to ever use the term 'architecture' in your searches.

Searching Avery:

Enter your keywords as 'anywhere' and press search.  If you are searching an architect use the last name of the architec and the city the building is in. 

Importing citations from Avery:

  1. Mark the records
  2. Click on the Refworks icon
  3. Select 'Use Marked Records'
  4. Click on 'Export to Refworks'

Analyzing your Sources

Analyzing sources involves critically assessing your sources for validity, content, and usefullness for your particular project.  Analysis can be summaries and/or evaluations of a particular reading.

Setting up a Refworks Account

Refworks - RefWorks is a web-based tool that allows users to create personalized databases of citations from which you can create bibliographies and format papers in hundreds of different citation styles in seconds. ND students, staff and faculty can create a free RefWorks account that will allow access to their personal database from anywhere with an Internet connection. For help with using Refworks visit Citing References at ND.

**Make sure your pop-up blockers are turned off**

Creating an Account

RefWorks is free for Notre Dame students, faculty, and staff. You can have as many accounts as you like and there’s no size limitation for an account (server space or number of records). You can also create a class account. For example, you may create an "English_101" RefWorks account and share the "English_101" username and password with your students. See the Sharing References information listed lower in this page for account set up recommendations. Sign up for an individual account here.

When creating an account, please use your ND netid as your Log-in Name. Create a NEW password. DO NOT use the same password you use for other Notre Dame services such as e-mail.

Off Campus Access

Log into RefWorks by clicking the Log into RefWorks login link. You may be asked for your Notre Dame NetID and ND password. Once at the Refworks login page, type in your RefWorks Log-in Name and RefWorks password.

You can also access RefWorks directly by using the url, http://www.refworks.com.proxy.library.nd.edu, from off-campus. If you choose this method, you will need Notre Dame's Group Code. The Group Code was included in the email you received when you first signed up for RefWorks. Click here to obtain Notre Dame's Group Code.

 

Related Subject Guides

Related Course Guides

comment
Subscribe to RSS RSS Feed
add to bookmark Bookmark This

Hesburgh Libraries logo

University of Notre Dame | Hesburgh Libraries

221 Hesburgh Library | Notre Dame, IN 46556

Tel: 574.631.6258 | Fax: 574.631.6772

Website feedback | HesNet Lock | Mobile version

University of Notre Dame logo

Go To Full Version