e-Reference Shelf
About this Guide
A selected list of e-Reference Resources.
Search All (Reference Universe)
Selected Subject Encyclopedias
For more encyclopedias, go to subject pages.
Theology/Religion:
Literature:
Science:
History:
Social Sciences:
Arts:
Multidisciplinary Encyclopedias
These sources will provide full text entries online:
These search tools can help you locate encyclopedias in both print and online formats:
English Language Dictionaries
Bilingual Dictionaries
French-English/English-French:
German-English/English German:
Irish-English/English-Irish:
Italian-English/English-Italian:
Latin-English/English-Latin:
Spanish-English/English-Spanish:
Thesaurus
Translators
Abbreviations
Quotations
Grammar
Biographies - General
Biographies - Subject Specific
Theology/Religion
- Acta Sanctorum Database.
Collection of texts on the lives of the saints from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the sixteenth century.
- Cardinals of the Holy Roman Church.
. Biographies of the 20th century cardinals and of the events and documents concerning the origin of the Roman cardinalate ... [more] and its historic evolution.
Sciences
Arts & Humanities
Political Science
Biographies - By Geographic Area
Genealogy
- Ancestry Library Edition
Searchable genealogical information on billions of names across thousands of census and related collections.
- Biography and genealogy master index.
Indexes hundreds of biographical sources covering individuals, living and dead, from every field of activity worldwide.
- BlackPast.org.
. Provides reference materials on six centuries of African American history. Includes an online encyclopedia of hundreds of famous and lesser known figures in African America.
lesser known figures in African America, full text primary documents and major speeches of black activists and leaders from the 18th century to the present. Links to hundreds of websites covering the history of African Americans, including major black museums and archival research centers in the U.S. and Canada. [less]
- Counties in time.
Provides a sample of records held in the National Archives of Ireland for each of Ireland's 32 counties covering the period from late 16th century to mid-20th century.
Ellis Island.
The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation (SOLEIF) web site for searching immigration records from Ellis Island’s archives.
- Family Search.
. An important source for genealogy research maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.
- Genealogy Home Page.
An all-in-one resource for genealogy topics.
- Geneaology.com.
Online resource for genealogy searches.
- Legacy.com (Obituaries).
Current obituaries from over 1000 newspapers.
- World vital records.
Provides genealogy databases and family history networking tools. Includes U.S. content, plus international data like the United Kingdom ... [more] censuses, birth, marriage, and death records, Genealogical Publishing Company, Archive CD Books Australia, the International Newspaper Collection, Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild, and more.
MLA Style
Used for: Literature, Liberal Arts, Humanities
Library Copy: Hesburgh Library Reference Desk LB 2369 .G53 2009. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Printed 7th ed., 2009. (other copies)
Quick Guides:
Formatting Tools
Software to easily import or add citations. Create and store bibliographies automatically in chosen style format.
Free
basic online citation managers, with limited functionality:
Other Guides for Citing Sources:
Other suggested sites? Contact us
APA Style
Used for: Sciences, Social Sciences.
Library copy: Hesburgh Library Reference Desk BF 76.7 .P83 2010 Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Printed 6th ed., 2010 (other copies)
Quick guides:
BibTeX
Chicago Manual of Style
Used for: Arts, History, Literature, Sciences
Electronic Access: Chicago Manual of Style 
Library copy: Hesburgh Library Reference Desk Z 253. U69 2010. Chicago Manual of Style. Printed 16th ed., 2010 (other copies)
Quick guides:
Turabian
Used for: Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences.
Library Copy: Hesburgh Library Reference Desk LB 2369 .T8 1996 Turabian, Kate. A manual for writers of term papers, theses, and dissertations. Printed 6th ed., 1996 (other copies)
Quick Guides:
ASA Style Guide
Used for: Sociology
Library Copy: Not available at this time.
Quick Guides:
AAA: American Anthropological Association
Used for: Anthropology
Library copy: Not available at this time
Quick Guides:
AAA Style Guide American Anthropological Association, 2009
ACS: American Chemical Society
Used for: Chemistry
Library Copy: Chem/Physics [231 Nieuwland] General Collection
QD 8.5 .A25 2006 The ACS Style Guide. Printed 3rd. ed., 2006 (other copies)
Quick guides:
Turnitin.com : For ND Faculty
-
Investigating Possible Plagiarism
In the Fall of 2002, the University joined Turnitin.com to provide assistance to faculty checking possible plagiarism from the internet. However, due to the very limited ways in which Turnitin has been used over the past seven years, the University has decided to drop its institutional subscription and to provide individual licenses on an as-needed basis. Faculty members can get these individual subscriptions of Turnitin.com at the university’s expense.
Other highly effective alternative means of detecting plagiarism include Google (simply run a search on suspect passages) and WCopyfind, a freeware program available for download at the following site: http://plagiarism.phys.virginia.edu/Wsoftware.html
For assistance purchasing an individual license to Turnitin.com, please contact Jeanne Bowen, Officer Assistant in the Provost’s Office.
Office (jbowen1@nd.edu; 631–5716).
CSE: Council of Science Editors
Used for: Natural sciences, including Biology, Geology, Chemistry, Mathematics, and Physics
Library copy: Hesburgh Library Reference Collection T 11 .S386 2006 Scientific style and format. Printed 7th ed., 2006
Quick guides:
Book Reviews
Article databases that include book reviews
Film Reviews
Tax Information
Federal Tax Forms and Publications
- Online Forms: Select and download multiple Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Forms and Publications.
- Paper Forms: IRS Paper forms and publications are no longer available in the Hesburgh Libraries. All tax forms are available from the IRS office in South Bend, Indiana located at 100 E. Wayne Street. This office is open Monday-Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. They can be contacted by phone at (574) 236-8149.
- Forms by Phone: Forms and publications are also available by phone: 1-800-TAX-FORM.
- Electronic Filing: The IRS e-file program offers quick, easy, and accurate alternatives to paper returns.
Indiana Tax Forms and Publications
- Online Forms: Select and download Indiana Department of Revenue muliple forms and publications.
- Paper Forms: Paper forms are no longer available at the Hesburgh Libraries.
- Email: Forms and publications can by requested by sending an email to the Indiana Department of Revenue at pfrequest@dor.state.in.us.
- Fax: The Tax Fax system allows taxpayers and preparers to dial a fax machine and request a publication or form by number. The Tax Fax number is 1-317-233-2329.
- Electronic Filing: Link to Indiana filing and payment methods.
Other State Tax Forms and Publications
Tax Assistance Programs
Calculators, Converters and Currency
Photographs and Images
Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more. [less]
Directories
- Alumni directory / University of Notre Dame
Coverage: 2001Official directory of Notre Dame graduates.
- Business and company resource center
Coverage: 1980- A wide variety of global business information, including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, and more.
- Conduit 11850: Telephone Directory Inquiries
Online search facility for telephone numbers in Ireland.
- Directory of American firms operating in foreign countries
Directory information on American companies with substantial investment in overseas operations.
- Directory of Foreign firms operating in the United States
Directory information on foreign companies with substantial investment in American operations.
- Dun & Bradstreet's Million dollar database
Provides information on U.S. public and private businesses (and their executives) with sales of at least one million dollars or 20+.
- Foreign government resources on the Web
A mega site covering all kinds of information related to foreign governments, NGOs and IGOs, worldwide.
- Foundations & Grantmakers
Foundations and grantmakers by name.
- Medical Schools
- Peterson's Grad Channel
Graduate schools and programs by name, location, or program.
- Scholarly Societies Project
World-wide scholarly societies by name or abbreviation.
- Serials directory.
Popular serial publications.
- Switchboard
Search for individual and business phone numbers. Includes a reverse function.
- Thomas Register
Companies and products manufactured in North America. Search by product name, company or brand name.
- U.S. Postal Service Zip Codes
- White Pages
Search for persons or businesses
- Yahoo Postal Information
Zip codes
and international serial titles, including newspapers; data from more than 100,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry. [less]
How do I find?
Maps and GIS
-
- National Atlas of the United States


Designed to provide a reliable summary of national-scale geographical information.
-
A-Z Maps Online contains 4,000+ maps of continents, countries, and states as well as political, population, climate, and other thematic maps
- Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970 includes more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
- Geodata.gov


U.S Maps & Dates, your one stop for federal state and local geographic data.
- Google Earth


Free high resolution mapping software with satellite imagery. Download required
- Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world map-by-map directory



Provides information about every place or feature in the Barrington Atlas, including references to ancient testimony or modern studies. ... [more] Usage info: Licensed for one concurrent user. Access info: The directory, in PDF format, accompanies the Barrington atlas (located in the Reference Atlas section, call number G 1033 .B3 2000). [less]
- GIS Atlas for Indiana


Online atlas providing information on demographics, hydrology, elevation, geology, mining and much more for the state of Indiana.
- Map collections, 1500-2004


Library of Congress map collections. Part of the American Memory project.
- Maps at Hesburgh Libraries provides information on maps at Hesburgh libraries and web resources for maps.
- University of Colorado Boulder Map Library links to online resources
- University of Michigan Map & Geography Library links to digital map collections and geographic information.
Related Subject Guides
Related Course Guides
Go To Full Version