Library Services
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
This service will borrow material not available at Notre Dame for you. It is free, but please do not wait to the last minute to request material. Articles can be sent electronically, but books, microfilm and audio/video materials must be shipped from lending libraries and picked up in Hesburgh Library.
Document Delivery (Doc Del) delivers books and article photocopies from the Hesburgh Libraries to faculty offices or other designated locations.
Research by Subject
List of resources by subject area. Of special interest: American Studies , Art, Art History and Design ,History, U.S. and Canada, Gender Studies, Africana Studies,
Citation Tools:
Chicago manual of style online, 15th edition
The complete version of this widely used style manual.
Citing Sources
Examples of types of citations from various style guides.
RefWorks
This is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables you to format your footnotes and bibliographies and store references in a personal database online.
Who's Citing Whom? A guide to advanced citation searching.
Introduction
Interdisciplinary resources dealing with the African continent are available in Hesburgh Libraries in a variety of formats: print and electronic monographs, microfilmed and digitized archival resources, electronic databases, print and electronic bibliographic guides and films.
Material can be located by using the advanced search mode of OneSearch or Catalog Classic, selecting geographic locations as "subject" and limiting to type of material.
Hesburgh Libraries' membership in the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) guarantees access to all material regardless of format held by CRL. A topic guide for African Studies material at CRL has been created by staff.
WorldCat can be used to locate material in libraries and archives worldwide
Copac National, Academic, and Specialist Library Catalogue Provides free access to the merged online catalogues of major University, Specialist, and National Libraries in the UK and Ireland, including the British Library.
There are a number of U.S. Libraries with useful guides to African Studies collections and materials (Note: some resources listed are accessible only to people affiliated with the university, while many are freely accessible to anyone). Selected list:
- Stanford University Libraries;
- Northwestern University Library;
- Columbia University Library
- Yale University Library

|
