Recommended Resources
These sources are the best places to start looking for data and statistics.
ICPSR (ND-only)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Index to International Statistics (IIS)
Thematic Collections @ ICPSR (ND-only)
Over the years, ICPSR has collaborated with a number of funders, including U.S. statistical agencies and foundations, to create archives organized around specific topics.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (ND-only)
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.
American FactFinder
Find fast facts from census data
Statista
Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
SourceOECD (ND-only)
This is a good place to go to find economic data. If you find something on the free web that's put out by OECD and you want to get full access, you have to go to SourceOECD. Better interface is coming soon!
World Development Indicators Online
The World Development Indicators (WDI) 2009 is the statistical benchmark that helps measure the progress of development. The WDI provides a comprehensive overview of development drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partners.
LexisNexis® Statistical Insight (ND-only)
Tables selected from hundreds of government and business reports, from 1999 to the present.
The Association of Religion Data Archives
The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA.
General Social Survey
The General Social Survey (GSS) conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations.
Current Population Survey (CPS)
The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The survey has been conducted for more than 50 years.
SimplyMap (ND-only)
Great mapping tool for census & other data. ND-only. You have to create a personal workspace to log in, but it doesn't have to be your NetID/password.
Social Explorer (ND-only)
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present.
Polling the Nations (ND-only)
Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 14,000+ surveys conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.
Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library (ND-only)
The Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) provides you with a collection of robust data archives from more than 600 premier datasets and over 275,000 variables.
IPUMS
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series
United Nations Statistics Division
Main page links to economics, demographic & social, etc.
FedStats
FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject
BLS data by topic, etc.
STATS Indiana: Data Everyone Can Use
Statistics about the state of Indiana: economics, agriculture, housing, education, employment, poverty, etc. A well-sourced resource from the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business.


|
