Tracking Research by Tracking Citations
Increasingly academic databases are including the ability to track citations forward and backward in time to discover who is citing whom:
- Provide links to works cited in a given reference.
- Provide links to works that have cited a given reference.
- See "Who's Citing Whom?" Research Guide for details.
RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables you to:
- Insert formatted references into your paper
- Format your footnotes and bibliographies
- Create a personal database online
- Store references which are accessible from any computer linked to the Internet
- Collect references from your favorite article indexes
- Organize your research
- Search a wide variety of article databases and import references
- Sort and organize those references into folders
- Web Access from anywhere
- Share references with others
Style Manuals
The Citing Sources page offers links to guides for the most frequently used citation systems. These citation systems are available in RefWorks for the automatic creation of bibliographies. However, it's always essential to check automated output. So, even if you use RefWorks, reference to citation guides is always necessary.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
The Interlibrary Loan service is available to all members of the Notre Dame community. If we don't own or have access to an item you need, we can usually get it for you.
- If it is a book or document, we can usually borrow it.
- If it is a journal, magazine or newspaper article, we can usually get a copy of it:
- a pdf by email (the default) or
- paper photocopy via the postal service if you choose.
- There is no charge for the service.
- They average loan period for books is two weeks.
To place a request:
- go to the Interlibrary Loan link on the Libraries homepage for the ILL form (requires ND NetID & Password) or
- use the FindText link in your database results list.
Please note:
- All requests must be entered using the online form (sorry, no phone requests)
- The first time you use the form you will need to fill out a profile.
- Be sure to indicate you pickup location.
- For undergraduate and graduate students, choose your favorite library (Hesburgh or Branch).
- For faculty indicate your home department or institute at which you want to pick up ILLs.
- You may revise this profile at anytime.
For more details, go to More on ILL.
Please note that most libraries will not loan the following items though we can always try.
- whole volumes of periodicals
- reference works
- rare or valuable materials
- in some instances, audio-visual materials
- fragile or bulky items
- material on reserve or in heavy demand at the lending institution
- in many instances, dissertations
Document Delivery
The Hesburgh Libraries will deliver books from the Hesburgh Libraries to designated delivery locations for Faculty, Graduate Students and Staff -- with the exception of non-paper formats (videocassette, CDs, etc.), in non-circulating collections, and Reserve items. Faculty, Staff and Graduate Students may also request photocopies of articles. Document Deliver for books is now available to undergraduates.
Delivery of Books
- Kroc Faculty, Fellows and Staff in Arts & Letters: Your books are sent to the departmental office that you select.
- If your main office is in the Hesburgh Center, select Kroc.
- If your main office is in your department, select the department (e.g., History, Theology, etc.)
- Kroc Graduate Students: Your books will be available for pickup and checkout on the holding shelves just outside the Hesburgh Library Circulation area.
- Others: See instructions on the Document Delivery page.
Delivery of Articles
- Everyone: electronic copies of articles are delivered via the web unless you indicate a preference for paper copies.
- Kroc Faculty, Fellows and Staff in Arts & Letters: paper copies are sent to the departmental office that you select.
-
- If your main office is in the Hesburgh Center, select Kroc.
- If your main office is in your department, select the department (e.g., History, Theology, etc.
- Kroc Graduate Students: paper copies are sent to the holding shelves just outside the Hesburgh Library Circulation area.
To Make Requests:
- From Catalog Plus, select Deliver (Faculty/Staff/Graduate).
- From Catalog Classic (ND Catalog), select Find It and then [Faculty/Staff/Graduate] Deliver it to me.
- From most other databases, select FindText and then Document Delivery.
- From the ILL/Document Delivery Request Form
- Log onto Interlibrary loan and document delivery site with your NetID and password.
- The first two forms are “Document Delivery Article” and “Document Delivery Book.”
- Select the appropriate form, fill out the necessary information, and submit.
FindText and FindIt
FindText
FindText is a software program that links together our catalog and most of our databases including WorldCat.
- If there is a record for an item in a database but full text is not available onlikne in that database,
- selecting the FindText link will search other databases to locate online full text elsewhere.
- If full text is not available online,
- FindText then searches our catalog to locate paper or microrfilm at Notre Dame.
- If the text is not available at Notre Dame,
- a link to the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) sign in page will be displayed.
- Selecting that link will fill in the appropriate ILL form.
- A single "click" will then request the item.
The FindText Link in WorldCat take you directly to the Interlibary Loan sign in page from which you can request the item in question without having to fill in the form manually.
Note: FindIt is a feature of Catalog Classic (ND Catalog).linking catalog records to maps of the Hesburgh Libraries, WorldCat, and area libraries.
Copyright
Many questions arise every year concerning photocopying and scanning by students and faculty. Since this is a legal question, it is impossible for a lay person (non-attorney) to give meaningful advice beyond stating some of the basic principles behind copyright.
This page, therefore, does not provide legal advice. For legal advice one must contact an attorney.
According to the United States Constitution (Article 1, Section 8) copyright exists "To promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries." Congress codified this constitutional right into law -- the latest major revision being the Digital Millenium Copright Act of 1998.
The fundamental principle: Items in the public domain may be copied while items still under copyright may not be copied without the permission of the rights holder.
In referencing the following websites, it would be helpful to keep three vary different scenarios in mind since context can be very important in determining the legality, appropriateness, or risk of copying all or part of a particular item. They are:
- Copying for personal, private use.
- Copying for classroom use. This may fall under the "fair use" doctrine if several conditions are met.
- Copying for distribution. Warning, this can include any copying that is shared beyond "fair use" in the classroom including posting a work to the web in whole or in part. Distribution is the key whether one intends to profit from that distribution or not.
Helpful Websites
- Standford University Copyright and Fair Use - http://fairuse.stanford.edu/
- UNC Charlotte "The Essential Copyright" - http://copyright.uncc.edu/
- University of Maryland "Copyright and Fair Use" -
http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/copyright.cfm - Know Your Copy Rights - http://www.knowyourcopyrights.org/about/peggyhoon.shtml
- U.S. Copyright Office - http://www.copyright.gov/


|
