POLS 13181: Social Science University Seminar

Facts

Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

---- Online

Latinos/Latinas or Politics

General Reference

  • Encyclopaedia Britannica online
    • access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
  • Oxford reference online Premium
    • access to dozens of Oxford University Press online reference tools
  • Gale virtual reference library
    • access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
  • Reference Universe
    • access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
  • Wikipedia:
    • Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions especially conflicts situations. Use it but use it with caution!

---- Print

Selected examples of print reference sources.  All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library)

  • Encyclopedia of the stateless nations D 860 .M56 2002
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the U. S. E 184 .S75 O97 2005
  • Enciclopedia hispanica AE 61 .E52 1994
  • Dictionary of Hispanic biography CT 1343 .D53 1996
  • Encyclopedia of minorities in American politics E 184 .A1 E574 2000
  • Chronology of Hispanic-American history E 184 .S75 C49 1995
  • Encyclopedia Latina E 184 .S75 E587 2005
  • Latino chronology : chronologies of the American mosaic E 184 .S75 F543 2007
  • The Hispanic American almanac E 184 .S75 H557 2003
  • The Hispanic databook E 184 .S75 H567 2004
  • Latinas in the United States : a historical encyclopedia  E 184 .S75 L35 2006
  • The Latino encyclopedia  E 184 .S75 L357 1996
  • Biographical dictionary of Hispanic Americans E 184 .S75 M49 2001
  • Latinoamericana : enciclopedia contemporanea da America Latina... F 1406 .L375 2006
  • The DMA ... Hispanic market report HC 110 .C6 D53

STATS

MAPS

In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).

Last Update: March 15, 2011 14:47 | Tagged with: Latino Latina politics Political Science