IIPS 40731: World Christianity

Facts

Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

---- Online

---- Print

Selected examples of print reference sources.  All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library)

  • International Christian Literature Documentarion Project, BR 117 .I584 I993
  • A Chronology of World Christianity, BR 145.3 ,B69 2007
  • World Christian Encyclopedia, 2nd ed, BR 157 .W67 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Missions and Missioniaries, BV 2040 .E48 2007
  • Dictionary of Mission, BV 240 .L4813 1997
  • Dictionary of the Ecumenical Movement, BX 6.3 .D53 2002

Stats

Here is a selection of statistical sources of potential value for World Christianity.  Statistics for religion(s) are notoriously difficult to locate.  Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by following the path "Reference Shelf | Data, statistics and survey results" or by going directly to Data, statistics and survey results.

Religious Statistics

  • World Christian Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., Ref. BR 157 .W67 2001
  • Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
  • Annuario Pontificio per l'Anno ..., Ref. BX 845 .An78
  • Religious Cultures of the World: a Statistical Reference, Ref. BL 85 .P325 1997
  • Yearbook (World Council of Churches), General Collection BX 6 .W77 Y437

Other Sources

Maps

Maps are essential for placing issues in context. Finding the best scale and type (physical, political, topographic, etc.) for a given project can be difficult. A ot Z Maps is probably the easiest to use of the online options.

Print

  • Atlas of Global Christianity, Ref. Oversize BR 479 .A855 2009
  • The Atlas of Religion, Ref. G 1046 .E4 O2 2007
  • Atlas of the World’s Religions, Ref. G 1046 .E4 A7 2007
  • Historical Atlas of Religions, Ref. BL 80.3 .F2 2002
  • Socio-Economic Atlas of India, Ref.Atlas Oversize Cases G 2281 .G1 S6 2001

Online

Last Update: February 01, 2012 14:19 | Tagged with: World Christianity Catholic Protestant Orthodox independent secular religions