IIPS 50604: Islamic Ethics of War & Peace

Facts

Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

ONLINE

  • Wikipedia
    • Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect when it comes to "how and why" questions especially those involving conflict situations. Use it but use it with caution!

PAPER

Selected examples of print reference sources.  All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library).

  • An Encyclopedia of war and ethics,  B 105 .W3 E53 1996
  • Islamic philosophy A-Z,   B 741 .G76 2007
  • Merriam-Webster's encyclopedia of world religions,  BL 31 .M47 1999
  • The Oxford dictionary of world religions,  BL 31 .O9 1997
  • A New dictionary of religions, BL 31 .P48 1995
  • Religion past & present: encyclopedia of theology and religion, 2007-.  BL 31 .R413 2007
  • Religion and violence: an encyclopedia of faith and conflict.  BL 65 .V55 R45555 2011
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam,  BP 40 .E63 2005
  • Guide to Islamist movements.  BP 40 .G85 2010
  • A concise encyclopedia of Islam.  BP 40 .N49 2002
  • The Oxford dictionary of Islam.  BP 40 .O95 2003
  • Historical dictionary of Islam.  BP 50 .A33 2009
  • Encyclopaedia Islamica-.  BP 193.5 .D3513 2008
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world.  DS 35.53 .O96 2009
  • Muslim peoples: a world ethnographic survey.  DS 35.625 .A1 M87 1984
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam three. DS 37 .E523

Maps

Maps are essential for placing issues in context. Finding the best scale and type (physical, political, topographic, etc.) for a given project can be difficult. A ot Z Maps is probably the easiest to use of the online options.

Print

  • Historical Atlas of Religions, Ref. BL 80.3 .F2 2002
  • Atlas of Global Christianity, Ref. Oversize BR 479 .A855 2009
  • Atlas of the World’s Religions, Ref. G 1046 .E4 A7 2007
  • The Atlas of Religion, Ref. G 1046 .E4 O2 2007
  • Atlas of Islam 1800-2000. Ref. G 1786 .S1 B5 2010
  • An Historical atlas of Islam. Ref. Oversize G 1786 .S1 H6 2002
  • Historical atlas of the Islamic world.  Ref. G 1786 .S1 N5 2003
  • Historical atlas of Islam.  Ref. G 1786 .S1 R9 2004
  • Atlas of the Middle East.  Ref. G 2205 .N34 2003

Online

Stats

Here is a selection of statistical sources of potential value for World Christianity.  Statistics for religion(s) are notoriously difficult to locate.  Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by following the path "Reference Shelf | Data, statistics and survey results" or by going directly to Data, statistics and survey results.

Religious Statistics

  • Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
  • World Christian Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., Ref. BR 157 .W67 2001
  • Religious Cultures of the World: a Statistical Reference, Ref. BL 85 .P325 1997
  • Yearbook (World Council of Churches), General Collection BX 6 .W77 Y437
  • Annuario Pontificio per l'Anno ..., Ref. BX 845 .An78
  • World Relgions Database -- on order, coming soon

Other Sources

Last Update: January 31, 2013 11:17 | Tagged with: Islam Islamic Muslim War Ethical peace ethics