IIPS 20901: Gender Roles and Violence (SOC 20810)

Facts

Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

ONLINE

  • Wikipedia
    • Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect when it comes to "how and why" questions especially those involving conflict situations. Use it but use it with caution!

PAPER

Selected examples of print reference sources.  All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library).

  • An Encyclopedia of war and ethics,  B 105 .W3 E53 1996
  • Encyclopedia of women and gender. HQ 1115 .E43 2001
  • Encyclopedia of gender and society. HQ 1115 .E54 2009
  • Routledge international encyclopedia of women. HQ 1115 .R69 2000
  • Women's studies encyclopedia. HQ 1115 .W645 1999
  • Political and historical encyclopedia of women. HQ 1236.5 .E85 E52 2003
  • Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict. HM 291 .E625 2008
  • Social issues in America : an encyclopedia. HN 57 .S624 2006
  • Encyclopedia of gangs. HV 6439 .U5 E53 2008
  • Encyclopedia of juvenile violence. HV 9104 .E59 2007
  • World at risk: a global issues sourcebook. JZ 1242 .W67 2002
  • Handbook of peace and conflict studies. JZ 5538 .H36 2007

 

MAPS

In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).

  • The Penguin atlas of women in the world. Hesburgh Library Reference Collection G 1046 .E1 S4 2009
  • Atlas of gender and development. Hesburgh Library General Collection HQ 1237.5 .D44 A85 2010

STATS

Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.

  • Statistical handbook on violence in America. Hesburgh Library Reference Collection HN 90 .V5 S833 1996
  • The world's women...: trends and statistics. Hesburgh Library Reference Collection HQ 1154 .W952
Last Update: February 21, 2013 11:59 | Tagged with: gender violence domestic abuse school shootings gang warfare video games ethnic conflict