BIOS 31312: General Ecology Laboratory

Find Articles

 

You can search for articles of interest using a variety of search engines. These search engines provide records for the articles, with an abstract and Notre Dame's FindText icon.Image for FindText icon

The FindText icon links either to the fulltext if ND subscribes to the journal, or to ND's interlibrary loan (ILL) form so you can request the article.  Requested articles normally arrive within two business days.  See this page for more information about FindText.

Here are three search engines useful for ecology:

Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)
Web of Science Quick Reference Card

"Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals from as far back as 1900 to the present in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool."

Academic Search Premier
Searching

"This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals," including newspapers and magazines.   This a good place to start when you don't know where to begin.

Google Scholar
Advance Scholar Search Tips

"Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles."  Not the most thorough search engine, but it does offer a quick start.  Look for the FindText @ Notre Dame link, rather than the usual FindText icon.

Last Update: February 21, 2013 08:51