IRST 40111: The Irish Hunger Strikes

Northern Ireland Images

Posters, photographs and wall murals from Northern Ireland have been collected and documented in a number of places. 

Troubled images
A database containing over 3,000 annotated posters and images on the Northern Ireland conflict, from the Linen Hall Library's Northern Ireland Political Collection. This collection includes essays and voice recordings.   (Available through Library.)
Murals of Northern Ireland
A collection of images of murals from Northern Ireland, principally West Belfast, Republican and Loyalist, painted during the Troubles, and photographed by Tony Crowley. The collection is published by Scripps College: Humanities Department, 1997.  Images and copyright belong to Tony Crowley.
Read more

Northern Ireland Resources

Other Northern Ireland Resources

 

Cain

CAIN ( Conflict Archive on the INternet), a large web site based in the University of Ulster, provides a wide range of information, source material and links on the Northern Ireland conflict and politics in the region from 1968 to the present. The site also contains some general information on Northern Ireland society.


Troubled Images

Over 3,000 posters and images on the Northern Ireland conflict, drawn from the Linen Hall Library's Northern Ireland Political Collection.

Northern Ireland: A Divided Community

A digitized and indexed set of Cabinet Conclusions and related memoranda from the Stormont Government from 1921 to 1972. The database is supplemented by a number of essays on Northern Ireland which provide links to the relevant cabinet papers.

The Stormont Papers: From Partition to Direct Rule: 50 Years of Northern Ireland Parliamentary Papers Online

The Stormont Papers consist of 84 volumes printed from the start of the Northern Irish Parliament in 1921 to the end of Home Rule in 1972. They consist of verbatim reports of the debates at the Stormont Parliament within the (first) period of Home Rule in Northern Ireland.

Northern Ireland Major Resources

CAIN: Conflict Archive on the INternet

CAIN logo designed by Graham Toms

This website, hosted at the University of Ulster, comprises invaluable resources for the study of the Northern Ireland Troubles and of the Peace Process.  It includes links to documents, databases, bibliographies etc., on every aspect of the Northern Ireland Conflict. 

The Cain Bibliography, Key Events, and Key Issues, provide a solid overview of events and publications, and "Last Updated" notes are helpfully included.  Key documents such as The Agreement Reached in Multi-Party Negotiations are provided in full text.

The Northern Ireland Political Literature Collection on Microfilm:

Northern Ireland political literature. Phase one, Periodicals, 1966-1989, is a collection of over 3,000 microfiche, of issues of 924 periodicals published during the period 1966 to 1989.  The comprise part of the Northern Ireland Political Collection of the Linen Hall Library in Belfast.

The microfiche collection is in the Lower Level, Hesburgh Libraries, (Drawers: Microfiche G3) and may be used in conjunction with a print guide, on the Microform Guides shelf in the Lower Level.  The periodicals are also catalogued individually so may be searched in the Library Catalogue.

 

 

Northern Ireland Resources

Cain
CAIN ( Conflict Archive on the INternet), a large web site based in the University of Ulster, provides a wide range of information, source material and links on the Northern Ireland conflict and politics in the region from 1968 to the present. The site also contains some general information on Northern Ireland society.

Northern Ireland Political Literature
This is a large collection of newspapers and magazines in microfiche, covering many of the conflict years.  They are in the Library Lower Lever microfiche drawers, at Microfiche G3.  Ask for assistance at the Lower Level desk.


Troubled Images
Over 3,000 posters and images on the Northern Ireland conflict, drawn from the Linen Hall Library's Northern Ireland Political Collection.

Read more
Last Update: September 08, 2011 14:37 | Tagged with: Northern Ireland Hunger Strikes Bobby Sands