MARK 20100: Principles of Marketing (Bradford)

Consumer Behavior

 

The following resources are good for finding out information about consumer behavior in general.  Important tips for success with the databases:

  • There is a strong chance that you will not be able to find data about your specific city in the reports.  It will not be an optimal use of your time to do a search for the name of the city. 
  • You will be able to identify general characteristics about various consumer groups.  See specific examples below.

 

Mintel Oxygen

[*Note: You will need to create a profile (one-time) to use this database. Use your ND e-mail address. DO NOT use your NetID password]

 

  • One way to navigate the database, besides keyword searching it, is to browse the reports.  Look in the Mintel Reports: USA section to see what reports are available.  Check out the 'Lifestyles' reports and the 'Retailing and Apparel' reports.  Example:

    • American Lifestyles 2013 - US - April 2013
    • Budget Shopper - US - June 2012

 

MarketResearch.com Academic

 

  • Provides thousands of full-text market research reports. Target is covered in several reports.  Examples:
    • The Supercenter Grocery Shopper: U.S. Consumer Patterns at Walmart, Target, Meijer, and Fred Meyer (March 2013) 
    • Home Organization in the U.S., 2nd Edition (November 2011)

 

Passport GMID

To look at information about urban consumers and shopping in general:

  • Start typing the word 'urban' in the search box, upper right corner
  • Select 'Urban' and click the magnifying glass
  • Filter results on the left (e.g., 'by Geography'-- select US)

  

ProQuest Statistical Datasets

   PQ
  • A Web-based research tool that provides fast and easy access to more than 5.3 billion data points from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy-to-use interface.
  • With this dynamic new tool, you can scan the contents of the collection, select subjects and variables of interest, and view your data in side-by-side tables and charts.
  • The product is completely interactive and results are instantaneous.
  • From 'Browse By Subject'
    • EASI Market Planner
      • Consumer Spending Analytics
        • Market by Race
      • Consumer Expenditures - Food          
        • Potato chips, nuts, and other snacks   

Sports Business Research Network

   SBRN
  •  Features full-text article searching of over 80 popular magazines and newspapers, including many sports-specific publications.
  • Also features research, reports, and statistics on sports-related consumer products and markets from authoritative and reputable organizations.

Last Update: January 22, 2014 13:25