Data & Statistics
SURVEYS & POLLS
- Afrobarometer is "an African-led series of national public attitude surveys on democracy and governance in Africa."
BACKGROUND INFORMATION ON COUNTRIES
- Europa World Online provides detailed country profiles and basic statistical information on area, population, finance, and more.
- Europa World Year Book (2008) is available in print in the Reference collection on the 1st floor of Hesburgh Library under the call number JA 51 .E89.
- FAOSTAT provides data relating to food and agriculture from approximately 200 countries. The data goes back to the 1960's.
- UNdata presents FAO data using a slightly different interface.
- UNcomtrade allows you to access current data on imports and exports .
- Foreign trade statistics for Africa. Series B: Trade by commodity. HF 3871 .U58 Ser.B - 2nd floor, Hesburgh Library. (1963 and 1969 data only)
- Foreign trade statistics for Africa. Series A: Direction of trade. HF 3871 .U58 Ser. A - 2nd floor, Hesburgh Library. (1963 and 1969 data only)
- Situation and outlook series. Africa and the Middle East international agriculture and trade reports. A 93.29/2-6 - Lower Level, Hesburgh Library. A lengthy report including economic data.
Reference tools provide generally agreed upon "facts" or common knowledge -- background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.
- Political Handbook of the World
- Europa World
- World Fact Book (CIA)
- Economist Intelligence Unit (see country reports)
- The Economist Country Briefings
- BBC News Country Profiles
- CQ Researcher
- Encyclopaedia Britannica online
- Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be highly suspect when it comes to "how and why" questions especially those concerning intense conflicts. Use it -- but use it with caution!
Links to online referernce collections that may contain helpful sources depending on your topic.
Selected examples of print reference sources. All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library). Browsing the reference collection using the examples listed below as starting points can be very effective.
- Encyclopedia of the stateless nations: ethnic and national groups... D 860 .M56 2002
- Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict. HM 291 .E625 2008
- The Statesman's Yearbook. JA51 .ST29
- Political Risk Yearbook: Vol. 4, Sub-Saharan Africa. JQ 1871 .A1 P64
- Encyclopaedia of war, peace and global security. JZ 5588 .E53 2005
- Europa World Year Book. JA 51 .E89 (see also online version Europa world)
- [CIA] World Fact Book. Documents Center, SuDoc (Lower Level Hesburgh) - PREX 3.15:
- (see also online version World Fact Book)
- A to Z maps online (political, physical, outline & others)
- United Nations Cartographic Section (all regions but not all countries)
- All the Worlds Maps (detail and type vary)
- Atlapedia Online (regional)
- Blank & Outline Maps (outline only)
- Google Earth (no printing)
- Global geopolitical flashpoints: an atlas of conflict. JC 319 .A52 2000
- World Bank Atlas / Atlas of Global Development. G 1046 .G1 I5
- The atlas of Africa. Atlas Oversize Cases G 2445 .N4
- The new atlas of African history. G 2446 .S1 F73 1991
- Historical atlas of Africa. Atlas Oversize Cases G 2446 .S1 H5 1985
- ONCs (Operational Navigation Charts - small scale with worldwide coverage)
- "Google" "Operational Navigation Charts" and select vendor OR
- Consult the Libraries map collection
In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).