THEO 40827: Comparative Spiritualities (THEO 60845)

Facts

Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

---- Online

  • Encyclopaedia Britannica online
    • access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
  • Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd ed.
    • Features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam. Volumes 1-12
    • Contains articles, figures, drawings, genealogical tables, maps, and fully-searchable biographies.
  • Digital dictionary of Buddhism
    • A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources
  • Oxford reference online Premium
    • access to dozens of Oxford University Press online reference tools
    • select dictionaries & companions from "Subject Reference > Philosophy & Religion"
    • for example,
      • The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
      • A Dictionary of Hinduism
      • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
  • Blackwell reference online. Religion
    • select religious tradition from middle column
    • select Blackwell "Companions" from right column
    • for example,
      • A New Handbook of Living Religions
      • A New Dictionary of Religions
      • The Blackwell Companion to the Study of Religion
      • The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism
      • The Blackwell Companion to Protestantism
      • The Blackwell Companion to Hinduism
  • Gale virtual reference library
  • Wikipedia:
    • Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions especially conflicts situations. Use it but use it with caution!

---- Print

Selected examples of print reference sources.  All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library)

  • Merriam-Webster's encyclopedia of world religions,  BL 31 .M47 1999
  • The Oxford dictionary of world religions,  BL 31 .O9 1997
  • A New dictionary of religions, BL 31 .P48 1995
  • Religion past & present: encyclopedia of theology and religion, 2007-.  BL 31 .R413 2007
  • Sourcebook of the world's religions.   BL 82 .S58 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Irish spirituality.  BL 980 .I7 J47 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Hinduism, Ref. BL 1105 .E53 2008
  • The Encyclopedia of Eastern philosophy and religion : Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen.  BL 1005 .L4813 1989
  • The Hindus: Encyclopaedia of Hinduism, Ref. BL 1107 .H56 200
  • Encyclopaedia of Indian mysticism.  BL 2015 .M9 E63 1999
  • The Kabbalah handbook : a concise encyclopedia...  BM 723 .S247 2007
  • Historical dictionary of Islam.  BP 50 .A33 2009
  • The Buddhists : encyclopaedia of Buddhism.  BQ 128 .B83 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Buddhism.  BQ 128 .E53 2008
  • The Shambhala dictionary of Buddhism and Zen.  BQ 130 .L492513 1991
  • Buddhist dictionary : manual of Buddhist terms and doctrines.  BQ 130 .N9 2004
  • Christian spirituality: the essential guide...  BR 117 .C48 1988
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world.  DS 35.53 .O96 2009
  • Encyclopedia of India, Ref. DS 405 .E556 2006
  • Iconographic dictionary of the Indian religions : Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism.  DS 503 .S77 vol. 5
  • The new Westminster dictionary of Christian spirituality.  BV 4488 .N49 2005
  • The New dictionary of Catholic spirituality.  BX 2350.65 .N49 1993
  • Quotations for the soul.  PN 6084 .R3 Q68 1997


Maps

Print

  • Historical Atlas of Religions, Ref. BL 80.3 .F2 2002
  • Atlas of Global Christianity, Ref. Oversize BR 479 .A855 2009
  • The Atlas of Religion, Ref. G 1046 .E4 O2 2007
  • Atlas of the World’s Religions, Ref. G 1046 .E4 A7 2007
  • Historical atlas of Islam.  Ref. G 1786 .S1 R9 2004

Online

Last Update: September 30, 2013 09:47 | Tagged with: spirituality prayer mysticism religious experience world religions