POLS 33002: Sophomore Seminar: NGOs in International Relations

FACTS

Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

ONLINE

  • Wikipedia:
    • Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions especially conflicts situations. Use it but use it with caution!

PAPER

Examples of reference tools available in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).

  • Encyclopedia of international development HD 82 .E547 2005
  • The International year book and statesmen's who's who.  JA 51 .E89
  • The Times guide to world organisations.  JX 1995 .O94 1996
  • International organizations : a dictionary and directory.  JZ 4838 .S344 2005
  • International organizations and implementation  JZ 4839 .I58 2008
  • International information directory (Congressional Quarterly).  Z 4838 .I58
  • Political risk yearbook Volume titles and calls numbers vary by region

MAPS

ONLINE

PAPER

  • The Penguin atlas of women in the world.   G 1046 .E1 S4 2009
  • Atlas of gender and development.   HQ 1237.5 .D44 A85 2010
  • Global geopolitical flashpoints: an atlas of conflict.  JC 319 .A52 2000
  • World Bank Atlas / Atlas of Global Development.  G 1046 .G1 I5
  • ONCs (Operational Navigation Charts - small scale with worldwide coverage)
    • "Google" "Operational Navigation Charts" and select vendor

In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).

STATS

Last Update: February 26, 2014 11:39