AFST 20613: African American Politics

Secondary Sources

Books:

ND Catalog (Catalog Classic)  Locate books held by the Hesburgh Libraries. The   link shows the location of the book. If you find one good book on your topic, be sure to browse the shelves nearby.  Use Advanced Search mode to combine keywords and terms for a focused  search.

Catalog Plus – Find books owned by libraries at Notre Dame (including the Law School Library), and other local colleges (St. Mary’s, Bethel, and Holy Cross). Offers faceted browsing for improved results. The Map link shows the location of the book.

Dissertations and theses, full text   Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.  Coverage: 1861- (Indexing); 1980- (Abstracting dissertations), 1988- (Abstracting theses), 1997- (Full-text dissertations, where available).

Google Book Search
Online access to full text of public domain books, reproduced either from text provided by publishers or by selected university/large public libraries. "Limited preview" or "snippet view" or bibliographic information only for books not in the public domain.

WorldCat
Access to the content of most U.S and Canadian libraries’ holdings.  FindText Enabled link provides quick access to  ILL forms.

 Articles:

Academic search premier (EBSCO)FindText Enabled
Multi-disciplinary full text database that also includes indexing and abstracts for articles from additional periodicals.

America, History and Life   FindText Enabled Covers journal and book literature on the history of the US and Canada from prehistoric times to the present;

Expanded academic ASAP FindText Enabled
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for 3,500+ scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines.

International political science abstracts (EBSCO)FindText Enabled
Provides indexing and abstracts to articles on political science published in scholarly journals and yearbooks worldwide. Covers more than 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present

ProQuest political science  Full-text access to selected journal literature of political science and international relations

Worldwide political science abstracts (ProQuest)   The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

E-Journal collections:
Links to all eJournal Collections available through the Library.  You can search individual titles in the collections or all titles simultaneously. Caveats: When searching full-text journals or collections construct your searches carefully and precisely in order to avoid too many irrelevant results. Also, the full-text journals are linked from indexes with the FindText Enabled symbol. Using an index with controlled vocabulary is often the preferred way to search.

Below is a list of collections particularly useful for the humanities and the social sciences:

JSTOR  
Includes full-text of journals across disciplines. Titles included cover all issues from the beginning of publication, but does not cover most current years ( varies from 2 to 5 years).

History Cooperative  
Primarily current years of American  history journals; older issues frequently included in JSTOR 

Periodicals Archive Online (formerly: PCI Full Text)   Full text searchable journal collection of 350+ periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences

Project Muse  
Current  years full-text online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.  Coverage varies with individual titles, but none go back further than 1995. Many titles are also included in JSTOR 

Last Update: August 29, 2012 15:26