IIPS 43101: Senior Seminar: Catholic Peacebuilding

Introduction to Peace Studies & Catholic Peacebuilding

Peace Studies is a relatively new academic disicpline with its roots in post WWII Scandinavia and Indiana (yes, Indiana).  It has variously been described as a multidisiciplinary, cross-disciplinary or  transdisciplinary discipline.  At Notre Dame it draws upon the insights and resources of Political Science, Pyschology, Sociology, History, Theology/Religion, Anthropology, Economics, Philosophy and Law -- among others.  This guide introduces you to the main peace studies resources and to selected resources from these allied academic disciplines.

Catholic peacebuilding is both ancient and modern.  Depending on the specific project any or all of the disciplines of peace studies may be relevant.

Facts

Reference tools provide generally agreed upon "facts" or common knowledge -- background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

ONLINE SOURCES

Links to online referernce collections that may contain helpful sources depending on your topic.

PAPER SOURCES

Selected examples of print reference sources.  All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library).  Browsing the reference collection using the examples listed below as starting points can be very effective.

  • Religion and violence: an encyclopedia of faith and conflict.  BL 65 .V55 R45555 2011
  • Encyclopedia of the stateless nations: ethnic and national groups.  D 860 .M56 2002
  • Conflict in Northern Ireland: an encyclopedia.  DA 990 .U46 E44 1999
  • Conflict in Afghanistan: a historical encyclopedia.  DS 351 .C54 2003
  • Conflict in Korea: an encyclopedia.  DS 916 .H62 1999
  • Encyclopedia of conflict resolution.  HM 136 .B783 1997
  • Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict.  HM 291 .E625 2008
  • The Statesman's Yearbook.  JA51 .ST29
  • Political Risk Yearbook(e.g. Vol. 8 Central & South Asia) JQ 98 .A1 P64
  • Peace movement directory: North American organizations...  JZ 5514 .B46 2001
  • World Encyclopedia of Peace.  JZ 5533 .W67 1999
  • Handbook of peace and conflict studies.  JZ 5538 .H36 2007
  • Encyclopaedia of war, peace and global security.  JZ 5588 .E53 2005
  • Historical dictionary of multinational peacekeeping.  JZ 6374 .M38 2004
  • Religion and violence: an encyclopedia of faith and conflict.  BL 65 .V55 R45555 2011 
  • Global directory of peace studies and conflict resolution programs.  JZ 5534 .G58
  • SIPRI yearbook: world armaments and disarmament.  UA 10 .I55

Maps

ONLINE

PRINT

Examples of specialized atlases available in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (unless otherwise noted).  The Libraries also have a collection of large, detailed maps published by various U.S. government agencies.

  • Atlas hierarchicus : descriptio geographica et statistica...  Hesburgh Library 12th Floor Theology Reference Collection (Oversize) (G 1046 .E4 A6 2010 )
  • Historical dictionary of the Arab-Israeli conflict.  DS 119.7 .K85 2006
  • The state of the Middle East: an atlas of conflict and resolution.  G 2205 .S6 2008
  • The Penguin atlas of diasporas.  GN 370 .C43 1995
  • Global geopolitical flashpoints: an atlas of conflict.  JC 319 .A52 2000

Stats

Statistics are often divided into to categories, data sets that have not yet been analysed and statistical tables, charts and graphs based on data sets.  Sometimes statistical tables will link to the original data sets but more often simply cite them.

Read more
Last Update: February 26, 2013 17:35