IIPS 40903: International Migration & Human Rights

Facts

Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

---- Online

  • Wikipedia:
    • Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions especially conflicts situations. Use it but use it with caution!

---- Print

Selected examples of print reference sources.  All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library)

  • Encyclopedia of the stateless nations D 860 .M56 2002
  • The Penguin atlas of diasporas GN 370 .C43 1995
  • Encyclopedia of modern ethnic conflicts GN 496 .E56 2003
  • Encyclopedia of modern separatist movements HM 716 .H48 2000
  • Historical dictionary of refugee and disaster relief organizations HV 640 .G66 2000
  • The state of the world's refugees, 2000 HV 640 .S675 2000b
  • Historical dictionary of human rights and humanitarian organizations JC 571 .G655 1997
  • Encyclopedia of human rights issues since 1945 JC 571 .L2747 1999
  • International encyclopedia of human rights : freedoms, abuses, and remedies JC 571 .M3243 2000
  • Immigration and asylum: from 1900 to the present JV 6012 .I56 2005
  • Encyclopedia of diasporas JV 6225 .E53 2005
  • Poverty, gender and migration JV 6347 .P68 2006
  • Facts about American immigration JV 6465 .B73 2001
  • Encyclopedia of American immigration JV 6465 .E53 2001
  • The handbook of international migration JV 6465 .H25 1999
  • World at risk: a global issues sourcebook. JZ 1242 .W67 200
  • Human rights in the United States: a dictionary and documents KF 4747.5 .C37 2000

MAPS

In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).

Stats

Here is a selection of statistical sources of potential value for Peace Studies research and Anthropology.  Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by following the path "Reference Shelf | Data, statistics and survey results" or by going directly to Data, statistics and survey results.

Last Update: February 26, 2013 17:35