HIST 43251: Violence in Medieval and Early-Modern European History

General Information

  Research Consultations:

  • Julie Tanaka
    Western European History Librarian and Curator, Special Collections
    102 Hesburgh Library 
    jtanaka1@nd.edu
    phone: 631-7845

  • Marina Smyth 
    Medieval Studies Librarian
    714 Hesburgh Library
    msmyth@nd.edu
    phone: 631-7420

You may also schedule a consultation through the form at  Request a Research Consultation
or use the Ask a Librarian link from the Library Homepage.

Finding resources:

Library Homepage 
Access to all types of library resources and services available from the Hesburgh Libraries.   Note:  The Library homepage provides access to 3 versions of the catalog.

OneSearch  
Includes all types of materials, including journal articles; will usually generate large sets of records that can be limited post-search.

ND Catalog  
Previously called CatalogPlus, and includes books and other materials from libraries in the region (does not include journal articles).

Catalog Classic 
The oldest interface which has a few features not yet available in the other two.

Databases by subject 
A quick way to get an overview of the selection of electronic resources pertaining to the individual subjects or disciplines.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
This service will borrow material not available at Notre Dame for you.  It is free, but please do not wait to the last minute to request material. Articles can be sent electronically, but books, microfilm and audio/video materials must be shipped from lending libraries and picked up in Hesburgh Library.

Citation Tools:

Chicago Manual of Style Online, 16th edition  
The complete version of this widely used style manual.

Citing Sources
Examples of types of citations from various style guides.

RefWorks
This is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables you to format your footnotes and bibliographies and store references in a personal database online.

Last Update: January 25, 2013 08:59