BIOS 60599: Global Health Capstone Seminar

Get Background Information

Before Your Start

You may find this worksheet useful as you work through the research process.  You may also want to consult this library guide on global health.

Reference Information

In the course of your research, you may encounter topics that are unfamiliar to you.  Reading a little about these topics in an general reference or encyclopedia is a great way to get a good overview.

Here are three highly recommended resources:

Annual Review of Public Health
"The Annual Review of Public Health, in publication since 1980, covers significant developments in the field of Public Health, including key developments in epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, issues related to social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice."

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (Wiley-Blackwell)
"The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) features over 4,600 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences. It is an essential read for life scientists and a valued resource for undergraduates, graduate students and researchers. ELS articles are written by leaders in the field to provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage of each subject area."  Introductory articles are indicated by one diamond, intermediate articles by two diamonds, and advanced articles by three diamonds.

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
"Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. It is an authoritative reference [i.e., it could be cited in a research paper] written for a general audience."

Last Update: September 03, 2013 16:18 | Tagged with: global health Eck Institute research graduate students biology health