IIPS 33906: Education and Development in a Global Era (ESS 33605)

Facts

Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

Education, Globalization and Development

  • PRINT
    • Globalization and security:  an encyclopedia.. HESB Ref. D 763 .M47 G56 2009
    • Encyclopedia of applied developmental science.  HESB Ref. HQ 767.84 .E52 2005
    • Encyclopedia of education and human development.  HESB Ref. LB 15 .E473 2005
    • The Statesman's Yearbook.  HESB REF JA51 .ST29
    • Political Risk Yearbook(e.g. Vol. 8 Central & South Asia) HESB REFJQ 98 .A1 P64

General Sources

  • Encyclopaedia Britannica online
    • access to the most reputable online general encyclopedia
  • Oxford reference online Premium
    • access to dozens of Oxford University Press online reference tools
  • Gale virtual reference library
    • access to dozens of Gale online reference tools
    • e.g., Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education, 2009
  • Reference Universe
    • access to hundreds of print and online reference tools from various publishers
  • Wikipedia:
    • Wikipedia can be a great quick help in identifying the "who, what, when and where" of any given issue especially relating to popular culture -- subject to later verification. Librarians use it all the time. However, it can be very suspect about "how and why" questions especially conflicts situations. Use it but use it with caution!

Stats - International

Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.

Stats - U.S.

Major Sources for Domestic U.S. Statistics

Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.

MAPS

In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).

Last Update: February 20, 2013 20:34 | Tagged with: education globalization development