ENGL 43308: Romantic Revolutions: British Literature and Culture 1790-1830

Primary Sources: Collections

EIGHTEENTH CENTURY COLLECTIONS ONLINE (ECCO)

***PROXIMITY SEARCHING*** Full-text searching for a combination of keywords works better with a “proximity operator” rather than a “Boolean operator” (and, or, or not). In many databases such as this one the proximity operator is a form of “near” or “with”. In ECCO near is abbreviated as “n.” Numbers can be added after a period to indicate within so many words, e.g. “reading n5 newspaper” retrieves portions of text where the word “reading” appears within five words of the word “newspaper” in any order.

 17TH-18TH CENTURY BURNEY COLLECTION NEWSPAPERS

Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Includes more than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages. 

For proximity searching use w or n plus a number, e.g. n10.

EIGHTEENTH-CENTURY JOURNALS

Sub-titled “A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1815,” this full-text database is composed not of “journals” per se but newspapers and magazines drawn from the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London, and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III). According to the publisher, "The titles chosen for this project have been screened carefully against EEBO, Early English Newspapers and ECCO so that there is minimal overlap with these projects."

>A helpful interface provides windows for search terms connected by Boolean operators with the option of “Proximity” and a box for entering “value”, i.e. within how many words of each other the terms are to be; e.g. women and seduc* and Proximity = 6 > 10.

BRITISH PERIODICALS ONLINE

Contains the full text of almost 500 periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries.

>Proximity searching: near/[n]

>May want to re-sort by oldest first instead of relevance (latter retrieves lots of indices).  

PERIODICALS INDEX ONLINE

[N.B. this serves as either a primary or a secondary source.]

Indexes over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published from 1665 to 1995; scope is worldwide, including the major Western languages.

Basically a keyword in title index, but also good for finding articles published by selected authors; e.g., a search on “addams jane” in the author box retrieves 49 articles published from 1886 to 1935 (the rest being by a different Jane Addams).

Like the MLAIB this is a citation database and does not provide or search the full text of articles, but it is FindText enabled.

BRITISH AND IRISH WOMEN’S LETTERS AND DIARIES

This collection of personal writings brings together the voices of some 500 women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales recorded from the sixteenth to the twentieth centuries. Includes approximately 100,000 pages of primary materials of which 4,000 are manuscript; the large majority are from published books and periodicals.

This is one of many Alexander Street Press databases to which the library subscribes and the method of searching is rather different from others.

For the Boolean operators (and, or, not) use the space key for “and” and use the vertical line key for “or” (without spaces between terms). [The vertical line can be produced on some keyboards by the double lines that appear above the back slash key.] E.g. “Search in Texts” = holy ghost|spirit.

Proximity searching can be performed by limiting the “Search in texts” box to either “Single term or phrase” or “Phrase separated by [n] words” or “Proximity Search in:” [select either] Sentence or Paragraph.

IRISH WOMEN POETS OF THE ROMANTIC PERIOD

See directions for BRITISH AND IRISH WOMEN’S LETTERS AND DIARIES.

SCOTTISH WOMEN POETS OF THE ROMANTIC PERIOD

See directions for BRITISH AND IRISH WOMEN’S LETTERS AND DIARIES.

TIMES DIGITAL ARCHIVE, 1785-1985

>Try limiting a keyword search to “Text” and to the date range, 1790 – 1800

ELECTRONIC ENLIGHTENMENT

Provides 59,489 letters and documents of over 7,000 individuals of forty-five nationalities from the early seventeenth to the mid-nineteenth centuries. 

ROMANTICISM REDEFINED

A searchable collection of Romantic-era literature of canonical and previously unrecognized writers from Britain, the British Empire, and North America, with focus on the period between 1800 and 1830. Contains numerous sets by Pickering & Chatto reprinting English texts published from the 1770s to 1830s. Also, includes full text of the journal, The Wordsworth Circle (1970- ).

 

Last Update: March 27, 2014 11:59