ANTH 35210: Health, Healing, and Culture

FACTS

Reference tools provide background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

ONLINE

PAPER

Examples of reference tools available in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).

  • The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures F 1218.6 .O95 2001
  • Encyclopedia of anthropology GN 11 .E63 2006
  • Encyclopedia of international development HD 82 .E547 2005
  • The Times guide to world organisations.  JX 1995 .O94 1996
  • International organizations : a dictionary and directory.  JZ 4838 .S344 2005
  • International organizations and implementation  JZ 4839 .I58 2008
  • International information directory (Congressional Quarterly).  Z 4838 .I58

MAPS

ONLINE

PAPER

  • Global geopolitical flashpoints: an atlas of conflict.  JC 319 .A52 2000
  • World atlas of epidemic diseases.  Gen. Coll. Oversize G 1046 .E51 C57 2004
  • World Bank Atlas / Atlas of Global Development.  G 1046 .G1 I5
  • A world of insecurity: anthropological perspectives on human security.  Gen. Coll. HM 671 .W67 2010

In addition there is a large collection of current and historical atlases in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection (first floor -- non-circulating).

Stats

Last Update: February 03, 2013 20:46