ENGL 40336: GSC 4505 Seduction and the 1790s Novel

Primary Sources

PRIMARY SOURCES: FICTION AND NON-FICTION CONTEMPORARY TO THE PERIOD

Microforms/Microfilms (e.g. advice manuals):

  • Go to Advanced Search in the library’s catalog, limit the format to “microforms” and type in a keyword search
  • E.g. 18th century and women and education, which retrieves: > Women, education, and literature [microform]. The papers of Maria Edgeworth, 1768-1849. [See guide.]
  • E.g. 18th century and sex*, which retrieves
  •  > The New lady’s magazine, or, Polite and entertaining companion for the fair sex [microform]. London : A. Hogg, 1786-
  • See also: “Women, Morality & Advice Literature: Manuscripts and Rare Printed Works of Hannah More (1745-1833) and Her Circle from the Clark Library, Los Angeles.” 49 reels. Microfilm G845. Printed guide.

Rare Books:

  • To find early printed books owned by Notre Dame, go to “Advanced Search,” limit location to “Hesburgh Special Collections,” and type in a keyword search:
  • e.g. seduc*, which retrieves
  • > A report of the trial on an action for damages, brought by the Reverend Charles Massy against the most noble, the Marquis of Headfort, for criminal conversation with plantiff’s [sic] wife : damages laid at £.40,000 / taken in short-hand by an eminent barrister. 1804. [PROBLEM: it’s a bit too late for the period.]

Circulating collectionConduct Literature for Women, 1770-1830. London;Brookfield, VT:Pickering & Chatto,2005. 6 vol. BJ 1609 .C68 2005. Print.

 

SESSION II: Primary Sources: Historical Non-Fiction

EIGHTEENTH CENTURY COLLECTIONS ONLINE (ECCO)

  • Contains the complete text of over 138,000 works published on British territory or in English language from 1701 to 1800.
  • This is just to alert you to this massive source; we will spend more time with it in the second library session.
  • You can limit a search to just the citation information or do a full-text search of every word on every page of the entire database; and limit your search to the date range, 1790-1800.
  • ***PROXIMITY SEARCHING*** Full-text searching for a combination of keywords works better with a “proximity operator” rather than a “Boolean operator” (and, or, or not). In many databases such as this one the proximity operator is a form of “near”. In ECCO it’s abbreviated as “n.” Numbers can be added to indicate within so many words, e.g. reading n5 newspaper [retrieves portions of text where the word “reading” appears within five words of the word “newspaper” in any order].

    E.g., “Entire document” = ladies n6 llangollen > 3 (last one is relevant)

    E.g., “Entire document” and women n6 seduc* and 1790-1800 > 189 [see Elegant Tales...]

17TH-18TH CENTURY BURNEY COLLECTION NEWSPAPERS

Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Includes more than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages. 

For proximity searching use  w or n plus a number, e.g. n10.

Searches can be “nested,” i.e. you can combine the Boolean operators “and” and “or” in the same search with parentheses (but not with proximity operators)

EIGHTEENTH-CENTURY JOURNALS

Sub-titled “A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1815,” this full-text database is composed not of “journals” per se but newspapers and magazines drawn from the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London, and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III). According to the publisher, "The titles chosen for this project have been screened carefully against EEBO, Early English Newspapers and ECCO so that there is minimal overlap with these projects."

>A helpful interface provides windows for search terms connected by Boolean operators with the option of “Proximity” and a box for entering “value”, i.e. within how many words of each other the terms are to be; e.g. women and seduc* and Proximity = 6 > 10 [See The Press]

>Default operator is “and”; for phrase, use quotation marks

>Help screen is cogent and useful

>In the results a brief annotation describes the scope of the source periodical

BRITISH PERIODICALS ONLINE

Contains the full text of 460 periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries drawn from the UMI microfilm collections including “Early British Periodicals,” “English Literary Periodicals” and “British Periodicals in the Creative Arts.”

>Select “Article Search” and then choose “Citation, abstract, full-text” to search both citations and the full text of all the articles; or be more precise by limiting your search to “Citation, abstract” or just “Citations” or “Article title keyword.”

>To view abstracts, click on “View/Hide full text excerpt” near the bottom of the citation

>The default operator is “and”; e.g.,  bram stoker = bram and stoker > 269

>To search a phrase use quotation marks; e.g. “bram stoker” > 235

>For proximity full-text searching use “fby” or “near” with a period and a number to indicate within how many words the terms are to be; e.g. stoker near.6 dracula

>May want to re-sort by oldest first instead of relevance (latter retrieves lots of indices).  

PERIODICALS INDEX ONLINE [N.B. Could be either primary or secondary source]

Indexes over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published from 1665 to 1995; scope is worldwide, including the major Western languages.

Basically a keyword in title index, but also good for finding articles published by selected authors; e.g., a search on “addams jane” in the author box retrieves 49 articles published from 1886 to 1935 (the rest being by a different Jane Addams).

Like the MLAIB this is a citation database and does not provide or search the full text of articles, but it is FindText enabled.

BRITISH AND IRISH WOMEN’S LETTERS AND DIARIES

This collection of personal writings brings together the voices of some 500 women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales recorded from the sixteenth to the twentieth centuries. Includes approximately 100,000 pages of primary materials of which 4,000 are manuscript; the large majority are from published books and periodicals.

This is one of many Alexander Street Press databases to which the library subscribes and the method of searching is rather different from others.

For the Boolean operators (and, or, not) use the space key for “and” and use the vertical line key for “or” (without spaces between terms). [The vertical line can be produced on some keyboards by the double lines that appear above the back slash key.] E.g. “Search in Texts” = holy ghost|spirit

Proximity searching can be performed by limiting the “Search in texts” box to either “Single term or phrase” or “Phrase separated by [n] words” or “Proximity Search in:” [select either] Sentence or Paragraph.

9/09: “Featured Search: Prisons: Browse all letters and diaries written by British and Irish women from prison, including the correspondence of Mary, Queen of Scots.”

SOCIAL THEORY

Contains documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. On completion the database will include more than 150,000 pages of content by theorists ranging from Herbert Spencer through Marx and Engels to Jean Baudrillard and Michel Foucault.

Includes the full text of four works by Jane Addams.

This is one of many Alexander Street Press databases to which the library subscribes and the method of searching is rather different from others. For the Boolean operators (and, or, not) use the space key for “and” and use the vertical line key for “or” (without spaces between terms). [The vertical line can be produced on some keyboards by the double lines that appear above the back slash key.] E.g. “Search in Texts” = holy ghost|spirit

Proximity searching can be performed by limiting the “Search in texts” box to either “Single term or phrase” or “Phrase separated by [n] words” or “Proximity Search in:” [select either] Sentence or Paragraph.

BRITISH HISTORY ONLINE

British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.” http://www.british-history.ac.uk/Default.aspx (Viewed 9/18/09)

 

Tarlton Law Library: Jamail Center for Legal Research: http://tarlton.law.utexas.edu/lpop/etext/newgate4/content4.htm

 

MUSEUM WEB SITES

Many museums provide substantial online exhibits that both display their treasures and evaluate them contextually.

E.g., “Discovering the world in the 18th century” at the British Museum.

 

 

 

 

Last Update: March 10, 2011 15:31