ENGL 90318: Reading Revolutions: Studies in the Eighteenth Century

Secondary Sources

MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BOOKS AND ARTICLES ON THE MODERN LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES (MLAIB)

Indexes approximately 2,000 journals as well as books and dissertations published worldwide since 1926 on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and critical theory.

Make use of the Advanced Search’s interface, which allows the combination of the connecting terms, “and” and “or.”

Make use of the link to “Thesaurus” which lists the terms that indexers use to create subject headings or “descriptor” terms.


ANNUAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
(ABELL)

Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and critical editions of literary works published worldwide since 1920 pertaining to English language and literatures in English.

Overlaps with MLAIB, but because ABELL is more narrowly focused you will want to search both; also, ABELL may include more books because it indexes individual book reviews while MLAIB only indexes review essays.

You can do a combined search of ABELL and MLAIB in LION (Literature Online), but you lose the flexibility of MLAIB’s search interface and the availability of its thesaurus.

Caveat: enter your subject author with the last name first.

Caveat: you might want to de-select “Include journal full text in keyword search” and just do a citation search, because full-text searching can produce large numbers of irrelevant results.

If you want to search the full text of some 250+ journals you might try proximity searching so your search terms appear near each other and within so many words; e.g. Bloomsbury near.10 imperial* retrieves eight relevant hits, whereas Bloomsbury and imperial* produces 159, most of which are not relevant.

Limited to four simultaneous users.


HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS

Indexes and abstracts scholarly articles, books, and essays published from 1886 to date on European and world history from 1450 to the present. Excludes the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life.
Limited to six simultaneous users.


PHILOSOPHER’S INDEX

Indexes and abstracts journal articles and books (including reviews) published since 1940 in “the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion." [EBSCO Publishing]

 

Last Update: January 27, 2012 11:23