PSYCH 43362: Understanding Eating Disorders

Print sources

PRINT SOURCES

The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders - RC 552 .E18 C37 2006 - Reference Collection, 1st floor, Hesburgh Library. This source covers the common types of eating disorders and the problems associated with them.

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society - HQ 1115 .E43 2001 - Reference Collection, 1st floor, Hesburgh Library. Includes a chapter on eating disorders and disordered eating.

Eating Disorders Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information about Anorexia Nervosa, Bulimia, Binge Eating, Compulsive Exercise, Female Athlete Triad, and Other Eating Disorders... - RC 552 .E18 E287 2007 - Reference Collection, 1st floor, Hesburgh Library. Includes information on risk factors, prevention and treatment.

 

Background Information

Before starting a library research project, it is useful to find background information on your topic. Reference sources can help you identify keywords and major researchers in an area.  They can also direct you to relevant books an articles on a topic.  

Online Encyclopedias:

Gale Virtual Reference Library - This online resource provides online access to full text articles from dozens of encyclopedias.  A search for eating disorders, or bulimia, or anorexia will locate many short entries.  For example, here is the entry for Eating Disorders and Food Advertising.

Last Update: February 28, 2011 09:39 | Tagged with: psychology eating disorders