ARCH 21111: 2nd Year Studio: Design 1

Article Databases

Architecture Databases:

For the most recent information on your topic, look for journal articles. These can be found in the periodical databases covering your subject.  Article databases are often great places to find references to images - especially for elevations, plans, sections, and drawings.  For additional databases see the Libraries' list of databases by subject

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, urban planning, and landscape architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated daily. It is the most important database for every aspect of Architecture. There is no need to ever use the term 'architecture' in your searches.

**Avery now allows you to include the type of images you want in your search**

Art Full Text & Art Retrospective - Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins from around the world, in many languages. Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Subjects indexed cover a wide range in the fine arts, architecture, and the decorative arts. Some of the articles are available full text.

How to Find Journal Articles

The majority of article databases for architecture do not contain full-text articles.  You have to find the article in other databases, in print, or via InterLibraryLoan. 

Most databases contain this icon

Clicking on the will take you to this page:

Click on the ND Libraries Catalog to get the Call Number for the journal:

Write down the call number for the journal.  Take that, along with the citation information, and you can locate your article on the shelves. 

Last Update: August 23, 2012 15:50 | Tagged with: architecture