Datasets & Statistics

This Page No Longer Maintained

The Datasets & Statistics guide has moved to a new location. Please update your bookmarks accordingly.

Data by Subject

Jump to a topic:
Archives & General | Crime | Demography | Economics | Education | Health | History | Latino Studies | Public Opinion & Politics

Archives and Multi-disciplinary

Association of Religion Data Archives, The

The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA.

Data.gov

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.

FedStats

FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.

ICPSR Web Site (ND-only)

An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

Journal Citation Reports (ND-only)

Resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide, showing the relationship between citing and cited journals.

LexisNexis® Statistical Insight (ND-only)

Tables selected from hundreds of government and business reports, from 1999 to the present.

National Archives, The - Access to Archival Databases

Information on the US, wars, businesses, people, places, etc. back to 1800.

NORC Datasets

Currently the Data Enclave contains data from five data producers: the Annie E. Casey Foundation, the National Science Foundation, the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, the Department of Commerce’s NIST-TIP, and the USDA’s Economic Research Service – National Agricultural Statistics Service.

Pew Research Center

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library (ND-only)

The Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) provides you with a collection of robust data archives from more than 600 premier datasets and over 275,000 variables.

Thematic Collections @ ICPSR

Over the years, ICPSR has collaborated with a number of funders, including U.S. statistical agencies and foundations, to create archives organized around specific topics .

UNESCO Institute for Statistics: UNESCO Institute for Statistics (3.14)

Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, culture and communication.


United Nations Statistics Division

Main page links to economics, demographic & social, etc.

Zanran

A free website for finding data and statistics.

Crime

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)

To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to Federal, State, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (ND-only)

Demography

American FactFinder

Find fast facts from census data

Bureau of Labor Statistics Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject

BLS data by topic, etc.

Census Bureau Home Page

US Census Bureau

Childstats.gov

The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, or the Forum, is a working group of Federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families. The Forum has partners from 22 Federal agencies as well as partners in private research organizations.

China statistical data compilation (ND-only)

Provides comprehensive statistics on China since 1949, at both the national and provincial levels, for some 300 indicators. Available on CD-Rom at the Hesburgh Library Reserve Book room on a three-day loan.

CSO - Central Statistics Office Ireland

Current Population Survey (CPS) Main Page

The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The survey has been conducted for more than 50 years.


Eurostat Home

European statistics from the European Union.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Datapedia of the United States (ND-only)

A factbook containing data on several hundred indicators of social, economic, political, and cultural developments in United States history. Graphs and other aids summarize significant historical patterns or crucial shifts in key subject areas. Data series cover United States history from 1790 to 2003 and include select data projections through 2050.

General Social Survey

The General Social Survey (GSS) conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online (ND-only)

The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.

Indiana Workforce Development - Hoosiers by the Numbers Home

International Social Survey Programme

The ISSP is a continuing annual programme of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics important for social science research.

IPUMS

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series

Latin American Databank (ND-only)

The Latin American Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms.

LexisNexis® Statistical Insight (ND-only)

Tables selected from hundreds of government and business reports, from 1999 to the present.

MPI | Immigration Data Hub

Get instant access to the latest immigration statistics, maps, and numbers for the United States and other countries.

National Archives, The - Access to Archival Databases

Information on the US, wars, businesses, people, places, etc. back to 1800.

National Archives: Census of Ireland 1911

The household returns and ancillary records for the censuses of Ireland of 1901 and 1911, which are in the custody of the National Archives of Ireland, represent an extremely valuable part of the Irish national heritage.

Neighborhood change database. (ND-only)

Census NCDB.

Panel Study of Income Dynamics

The Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID), begun in 1968, is a longitudinal study of a representative sample of U.S. individuals (men, women, and children) and the family units in which they reside.

Pew Hispanic Center

Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation.

Pew Research Center

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Pew Research Center's Internet & American Life Project

The Pew Internet & American Life Project is one of seven projects that make up the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan, nonprofit "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

SimplyMap (ND-only)

Great mapping tool for census & other data. ND-only. You have to create a personal workspace to log in, but it doesn't have to be your NetID/password.

Social Explorer (ND-only)

Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

STATS Indiana: Data Everyone Can Use

Statistics about the state of Indiana: economics, agriculture, housing, education, employment, poverty, etc. A well-sourced resource from the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business

Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)

The main objective of SIPP is to provide accurate and comprehensive information about the income and program participation of individuals and households in the United States, and about the principal determinants of income and program participation.

United Nations Statistics Division

Main page links to economics, demographic & social, etc.

USA Counties

USA Counties features over 6,500 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources.

Economics

Economic Data - Hesburgh Library Research Guide

An evolving list of data sources relevant to research in economics maintained by the Economics Librarian.

Education

Center for Measuring University Performance, The

The Center for Measuring University Performance is a research enterprise focused on the competitive national context for major research universities.

IDOE: Indiana K-12 Education Data

Data for Indiana's educational system, k-12.

Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System, The

The primary source for data on colleges, universities, and technical and vocational postsecondary institutions in the United States

International Archive of Education Data

The Archive acquires, processes, documents, and disseminates data collected by national, state or provincial, local, and private organizations, pertaining to all levels of education in countries for which data can be made available.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Health

Add Health — UNC Carolina Population Center

The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health (Add Health) is a longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year.

BRFSS- CDC's Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the world's largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984.

Research Data Center at the Center for Disease Control


Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library
(ND-only)

The Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) provides you with a collection of robust data archives from more than 600 premier datasets and over 275,000 variables.


WHO | Data and statistics

World Health Organization

History

American Civil War Research Database, The (ND-only)

The American Civil War Research Database™ is the definitive online resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War.

China statistical data compilation (ND-only)

Provides comprehensive statistics on China since 1949, at both the national and provincial levels, for some 300 indicators. Available on CD-Rom at the Hesburgh Library Reserve Book room on a three-day loan.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online (ND-only)

The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.

National Archives - Access to Archival Databases

Information on the US, wars, businesses, people, places, etc. back to 1800.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database is the culmination of several decades of independent and collaborative research by scholars drawing upon data in libraries and archives around the Atlantic world.

Latino Studies & Latin America

Latin American Databank (ND-only)

The Latin American Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms.

MPI | Immigration Data Hub

Get instant access to the latest immigration statistics, maps, and numbers for the United States and other countries.

Pew Hispanic Center

Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation.

Public Opinion & Politics

American National Election Studies

The American National Election Studies (ANES) produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes. Central to this mission is the active involvement of the ANES research community in all phases of the project.

Center for Information & Research on Civic Learning & Engagement (CIRCLE)

Non-partisan organization doing research on youth voting, civic education, etc.

Chicago Council on Global Affairs, The

The Chicago Council undertakes a large-scale public opinion study every 1-2 years that compares American and international public opinion on a wide-range of important international issues.

CPOLL Databank of Canadian Public Opinion Prototype (ND-only)

The Roper Center at the University of Connecticut and the University of Toronto, supported in part by a grant from the Canadian Embassy, have partnered to launch a pilot project to make Canadian opinion data more easily accessible to researchers around the globe. The CPOLL prototype of this project is now available for exploration and comment from the research community.

Data Archive - Pew Research Center for the People & the Press

This page contains links to the Center's survey data which are currently available on the web. Survey data are released five months after the reports are issued and are posted on the web as quickly as possible.

European Commission Public Opinion

Since 1973, the European Commission has been monitoring the evolution of public opinion in the Member States, thus helping the preparation of texts, decision-making and the evaluation of its work.
Surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc.

Gallup Brain (ND-only)

Gallup Brain is a searchable, living record of more than 70 years of public opinion. Inside, you'll find answers to hundreds of thousands of questions, and responses from millions of people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935.

Japanese Data Archive Home Page (ND-only)

Japanese opinion data from the Roper Center

OnPolitics (washingtonpost.com)

A collection of news articles and analysis pieces written about Washington Post polls.

Pew Research Center's Internet & American Life Project

The Pew Internet & American Life Project is one of seven projects that make up the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan, nonprofit "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Polling the Nations (ND-only)

Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 14,000+ surveys conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

PollingReport.com

An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (ND-only)

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.

U.S. Election Atlas

This atlas includes some free (and some for-purchase) data on US presidential elections from 1796 to 2012.

 

This Page No Longer Maintained

The Datasets & Statistics guide has moved to a new location. Please update your bookmarks accordingly.

International Data Sources

Jump to a topic:
Africa | Asia | Latin America | Europe | Ireland | Other/Inter-Regional

Africa

AfriPop

Detailed and freely-available population distribution maps for the whole of Africa.

Asia

AsiaPop

Detailed population distribution maps for Asia.

China Data Online (ND-Only)

China statistical data compilation (ND-only)

Provides comprehensive statistics on China since 1949, at both the national and provincial levels, for some 300 indicators. Available on CD-Rom at the Hesburgh Library Reserve Book room on a three-day loan.

Japanese Data Archive Home Page (ND-only)

Japanese opinion data from the Roper Center

Latin America

Latin American Databank (ND-only)

The Latin American Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms. 

Europe

European Commission on Public Opinion

Since 1973, the European Commission has been monitoring the evolution of public opinion in the Member States, thus helping the preparation of texts, decision-making and the evaluation of its work.
Surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc.

Eurostat Home

European statistics from the European Union.

Ireland

CSO - Central Statistics Office Ireland

Irish Social Science Data Archive

National Archives: Census of Ireland 1911

The household returns and ancillary records for the censuses of Ireland of 1901 and 1911, which are in the custody of the National Archives of Ireland, represent an extremely valuable part of the Irish national heritage.

Northern Ireland Neighborhood Information Service

Other Regions & Inter-Regional

Center for International Data at UC Davis

The U.S. and world trade data is made available through grants from the National Science Foundation to the National Bureau of Economic Research.

CPOLL Databank of Canadian Public Opinion Prototype (ND-only)

The Roper Center at the University of Connecticut and the University of Toronto, supported in part by a grant from the Canadian Embassy, have partnered to launch a pilot project to make Canadian opinion data more easily accessible to researchers around the globe. The CPOLL prototype of this project is now available for exploration and comment from the research community.

Donnees Ouvertes

Quebec's central website for provincial data.

International Monetary Fund - Data and Statistics (ND-only)

IMF's International Financial Statistics

International Monetary Fund Data Mapper

Mapping variables with IMF data.

International Social Survey Programme

The ISSP is a continuing annual program of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics important for social science research.

IPUMS

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series

MPI | Immigration Data Hub

Get instant access to the latest immigration statistics, maps, and numbers for the United States and other countries.

Polling the Nations (ND-only)

Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 14,000+ surveys conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

SourceOECD (ND-only)

If you find something on the web that's put out by OECD and you want to get full access, you have to go to SourceOECD.

UN Comtrade

United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database contains more than 1 billion trade records starting from 1962.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics: UNESCO Institute for Statistics (3.14)

Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, culture and communication.

United Nations Statistics Division

 

USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade Database

The USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public full-time and free of charge. 

WHO | Data and statistics

 

World Development Indicators Online

The World Development Indicators (WDI) 2009 is the statistical benchmark that helps measure the progress of development. The WDI provides a comprehensive overview of development drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partners.

This Page No Longer Maintained

The Datasets & Statistics guide has moved to a new location. Please update your bookmarks accordingly.

US Government Sources

Data from US Government departments.

Government Information

Hesburgh Library's guide on sources of government information.

American FactFinder

Find fast facts from census data

BRFSS- CDC's Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the world's largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984.

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)

To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to Federal, State, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject

BLS data by topic, etc.

Census Bureau Home Page

US Census Bureau

Childstats.gov

The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, or the Forum, is a working group of Federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families. The Forum has partners from 22 Federal agencies as well as partners in private research organizations.

Current Population Survey (CPS)

The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The survey has been conducted for more than 50 years.

Data.gov

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.

Economic Census

Economic Census of the United States

FedStats

FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.

FRB: Economic Research & Data

Data from the Federal Reserve

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Research Data Center at the Center for Disease Control

Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)

The main objective of SIPP is to provide accurate and comprehensive information about the income and program participation of individuals and households in the United States, and about the principal determinants of income and program participation.

The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System - Home Page

The primary source for data on colleges, universities, and technical and vocational postsecondary institutions in the United States

The National Archives - Access to Archival Databases

Information on the US, wars, businesses, people, places, etc. back to 1800.

TradeStats Express™

Get the latest annual and quarterly trade data with TradeStats Express.
Retrieve, visualize, analyze, print and download your customized output.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) - bea.gov Home Page

BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration.

USA Counties

USA Counties features over 6,500 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources. 

USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade Database

The USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public full-time and free of charge. 

This Page No Longer Maintained

The Datasets & Statistics guide has moved to a new location. Please update your bookmarks accordingly.

Related Subject Guides

Related Course Guides

Subscribe to RSS RSS Feed
add to bookmark Bookmark This

Hesburgh Libraries logo

University of Notre Dame | Hesburgh Libraries

221 Hesburgh Library | Notre Dame, IN 46556

Tel: 574.631.6258 | Fax: 574.631.6772

Website feedback | Mobile version

University of Notre Dame logo

Go To Full Version